Netgear R7500v2 support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 50, 51, 52, 53, 54  Next
Author Message
traek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
franmar20 wrote:
Hi im new to this think of dd-wrt and i have some questions.

1- do i need an specific netgear version in order to flash my router.

2- any of you have a tutorial to see the installation process.

TY

1- nope, Netgear leaves this open. This isn't a hack for their router that will get locked out. They've designed their routers to be open source firmware-friendly. I'm a fan.

2- Here's your [basic] tutorial:

  1. Switch to dd-wrt

    1. Download the following firmware here. Save this somewhere handy (like your Desktop). NOTE: This firmware will change you from stock Netgear firmware to dd-wrt. You'll still want to get a newer version of dd-wrt to run on. More on that shortly.
    2. Go to the R7500v2's web configuration page (stock firmware can get you there by going to http://www.routerlogin.net/ or http://192.168.1.1 assuming defaults)
    3. Click on the Advanced tab
    4. Go to Administration > Firmware Upgrade
    5. Click the Browse button and navigate to where you downloaded R7500v2-factory-to-ddwrt.img and select OK (or whatever your browser uses for selection).
    6. Click Upload. After this completes after 2-3 minutes, your R7500v2 will reboot and you will be on an initial version of dd-wrt. Welcome! But wait, there's more...

  2. Go to your dd-wrt configuration screen (again, that's going to be http://192.168.1.1). NOTE: if your stock firmware was configured for a different subnet than the default, you may have to change your computer's IP address accordingly. No, this tutorial isn't that thorough.
  3. You will need to select an initial username and password. You can do the whole 'admin'/'password' thing like Netgear or you can not be a chump and do something half-way secure. Your call.
  4. Before configuring anything else, you'll want to get a stable, more recent build of dd-wrt for your R7500v2. There are a few good places but I always recommend myopenrouter.com for people new to open source firmware using Netgear hardware. As of this post, this is the version I'm using: DD-WRT Kong Mod for NETGEAR R7500v2 (2018-02-15)(BIN). Download the file there or myopenrouter.com (registration required) and again, put it in a handy location.
  5. Same as before, you flash the router in the web configuration page:

    1. Click on the Administration tab
    2. Click on the Firmware Upgrade sub-tab
    3. Click Choose File and navigate to your new firmware version (if you chose my version, the file is named ddwrt-netgear-R7500v2.bin or it's ddwrt-netgear-R7500v2_2018-2-15.bin if you got it from myopenrouter.com).
    4. Click on the blue Upgrade button at the bottom and follow the prompts.

  6. After the upgrade is complete, now is the time to start setting up your router, configure your wireless network, etc. There are other tutorials for that.

Hopefully that helps you get to dd-wrt quickly and safely. There's a way to revert, too, if you don't like it but we'll leave that for another tutorial, too.
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do not use myopenrouter to get firmware, ever. Get it straight from Kong here http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/
For the first time flash use r7500v2 factory to dd-wrt file. That's all you need to do. When a new build is released you can then upgrade it using the r7500v2 .bin file.
If you are feeling adventurous, you can try the file in the test folder.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
franmar20
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 18:49    Post subject: TY Reply with quote
Thank you sooooo much traek & Malachi
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dumb question: what telnet/ssh command to list the partitions layout of the flash storage? 36020M
_________________
R7500v2 - 38150M
RT-AC68U - stock

Wifi settings:
ac/n-ng-mixed, noise immunity, short preamble (2.4g), short gi, rts/cts+threshold, ack timing 1350, hfsc-fq_codel
*spectrum cable 100/10Mbps ipv4

QoS sauce:
htb vs hfsc: https://gist.github.com/eqhmcow/939373
fq_codel: https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc8290
pie: https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc8033

*Things I shared here is for reference only, ie. it works for me does not mean it will work for you. And yes apparently such disclaimer is needed around here
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here's the 35900M build for those need it
_________________
R7500v2 - 38150M
RT-AC68U - stock

Wifi settings:
ac/n-ng-mixed, noise immunity, short preamble (2.4g), short gi, rts/cts+threshold, ack timing 1350, hfsc-fq_codel
*spectrum cable 100/10Mbps ipv4

QoS sauce:
htb vs hfsc: https://gist.github.com/eqhmcow/939373
fq_codel: https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc8290
pie: https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc8033

*Things I shared here is for reference only, ie. it works for me does not mean it will work for you. And yes apparently such disclaimer is needed around here
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Might I ask Jerry, do you like r36175m better than r35900m on your r7500 v2? Looking for stability first and performance second.
_________________
Netgear R7800(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1300

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 13:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
husky55 wrote:
Might I ask Jerry, do you like r36175m better than r35900m on your r7500 v2? Looking for stability first and performance second.


Yep best build to date for me. Also found disabled single and multi user beamforming both bands made it even better. HFSC/PIE or FQ_CODEL works well.

_________________
R7500v2 - 38150M
RT-AC68U - stock

Wifi settings:
ac/n-ng-mixed, noise immunity, short preamble (2.4g), short gi, rts/cts+threshold, ack timing 1350, hfsc-fq_codel
*spectrum cable 100/10Mbps ipv4

QoS sauce:
htb vs hfsc: https://gist.github.com/eqhmcow/939373
fq_codel: https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc8290
pie: https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc8033

*Things I shared here is for reference only, ie. it works for me does not mean it will work for you. And yes apparently such disclaimer is needed around here
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Much appreciated. IPv6 also works no need to run script. NAS also works.
_________________
Netgear R7800(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
consorts
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Sep 2017
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
husky55 wrote:
do you like r36175m better than r35900m on your r7500 v2?


this comment is super confusing...

r34900m is the last 2/14/18 kong build
https://www.myopenrouter.com/download/dd-wrt-kong-mod-netgear-r7500v2-2018-02-15bin
r36168 is a dd-wrt beta from june
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/
r36242 is a dd-wrt beta from july

so where the heck are you getting r36175m from?!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

i'm here because i just tried the latest beta build
r36410m from july 29 and hoped that was a good idea.
i discovered when i manually enter all the settings
i used on my old wrt1200ac.v2 to a r7500.v2 that
i could not get on the internet even though my isp dhcp
had assigned the router a new wan IP&Gateway IP.
now i have to start over and test each setting in hopes
i find what setting linksys likes while netgear does not.
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 13:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
r34900 is Kong's last fully stable build, dated 2/15/18. In the main Kong download directory, there's also a "Test" directory when you can find his latest test build, many of which are quite stable. The latest is r36375, dated 7/23/18.

consorts wrote:
husky55 wrote:
do you like r36175m better than r35900m on your r7500 v2?


this comment is super confusing...

r34900m is the last 2/14/18 kong build
https://www.myopenrouter.com/download/dd-wrt-kong-mod-netgear-r7500v2-2018-02-15bin
r36168 is a dd-wrt beta from june
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/
r36242 is a dd-wrt beta from july

so where the heck are you getting r36175m from?!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

i'm here because i just tried the latest beta build
r36410m from july 29 and hoped that was a good idea.
i discovered when i manually enter all the settings
i used on my old wrt1200ac.v2 to a r7500.v2 that
i could not get on the internet even though my isp dhcp
had assigned the router a new wan IP&Gateway IP.
now i have to start over and test each setting in hopes
i find what setting linksys likes while netgear does not.

_________________
Routing:.......Asus RT-AX88U (Asuswrt-Merlin 384.14)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & GS605_V4, TrendNet TEG-S82G & TEG-S50G
consorts
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Sep 2017
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
htismaqe wrote:
"Test" directory when you can find his latest test build, many of which are quite stable. The latest is r36375, dated 7/23/18.


it's probably a waste of time to "test", but i'll bite...

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test/

i'm already having too many issues with the betas.
htismaqe
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Nov 2015
Posts: 471

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
consorts wrote:
htismaqe wrote:
"Test" directory when you can find his latest test build, many of which are quite stable. The latest is r36375, dated 7/23/18.


it's probably a waste of time to "test", but i'll bite...

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/Test/

i'm already having too many issues with the betas.


Kong's "test" builds and Brainslayer's "beta" builds are very different.

Kong develops on devices he actually owns and he does his own testing. He's not just churning out new, generic builds. For the most part, Kong's "test" builds are very stable. I've been on the latest Kong test since I bought my R7800 (I've upgraded twice, so 3 revisions so far) and had zero issues.

_________________
Routing:.......Asus RT-AX88U (Asuswrt-Merlin 384.14)
Switching:....Netgear GS608_V3 & GS605_V4, TrendNet TEG-S82G & TEG-S50G
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1409

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 23:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been trying to get any other router I have to act as repeater bridge to the 7500v2. Tried several builds on the 7500. Nothing made it play nice.
So I connected Buffalo to it lan>wan and set 6200/6250 as repeater bridge to Buf. This seems to be working well with 36375 installed on 7500v2.
Not exactly the way I wanted to do it but it's working. Have a good week!

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Tips-DD-WRT

Forum Guide Lines (Please read!)----How to get help the right way
husky55
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Madison, CT, US

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 13:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Repeater bridge and main router work best when they have the same chipsets and firmware. If you have a pair of 7500v2 you could run them in a wds set up which will take advantage of mimo of the 7500v2 features and improve on the wifi speed.
_________________
Netgear R7800(2) WDS, Asus RT-AC68R (2)
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1409

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
husky55 wrote:
Repeater bridge and main router work best when they have the same chipsets and firmware.

I thought that could be the case although the 6200BC works fine connected to the Buffalo atheros. I also assume the IPQ8064 is a long way removed from the Atheros AR7161. I am still investigating the remotest possibility it could be due to user error Confused

_________________
STUBBY DoT install guide----Tips-DD-WRT

Forum Guide Lines (Please read!)----How to get help the right way
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 50, 51, 52, 53, 54  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 51 of 54
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum