Netgear R7500v2 support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 52, 53, 54  Next
Author Message
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
tanilolli wrote:
I'm having trouble flashing to DD-WRT. After flashing, the router reboots but the power light stays solid orange. I've only been able to get it back with a 30/30/30 reset and uploading the stock firmware over tftp.

It seems like it's not resetting the nvram because when I reflashed the stock firmware, my settings were in tact. I also tried doing a factory reset before flashing the second time and it didn't work.

I'm using hardware I received in a Netgear beta test before the R7500v2 was released. Maybe it's having some compatibility issues, but it works fine with the latest Netgear firmware. The router looks identical to the release version.


Beta units are never supported, they have different ids, thus current build will not detect it and therefore create the wrong flash layout.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Sponsor
noodle04
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 14:54    Post subject: Working (with some minor issues) Reply with quote
Hi <Kong>,

Thank you very much. I was following this thread for pretty long time and waiting for it. It's finally here, thank you.

I flashed it on my R7500v2, all fundamental features working pretty well. Some minor issue, not sure how to report bug.

For example: under "services", if modify dnsmasq options (Didn't try others), after click on "save", web ui not working anymore. I can still connect to router by ssh.

Also questions:
R7500v2 ship with an eSATA port, does dd-wrt support it?
Is this version has built-in transmission BT client?

Thanks

Noodle
sprite23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just purchased an R7500v2 however I keep bricking it when I try to flash DD-WRT.

I downloaded R7500v2-factory-to-ddwrt.img, when I try to flash it using the Netgear firmware, it reboots and the power light is solid orange and it does not assign an IP.

I tftp the factory firmware which gets it going again, I've tried using a different computer, redownloading the file, different web browser and even trying to tftp R7500v2-factory-to-ddwrt.img directly onto the router with the same results. Help please?
sprite23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to add to my last post, I also tried factory-to-ddwrt.img found here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/08-16-2016-r30432/netgear-r7500v2/ and the same thing happens.

I tried OpenWRT and interestingly enough, that worked fine. I tried to flash DD-WRT from OpenWRT but it wouldn't allow me to do that.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
sprite23 wrote:
Just to add to my last post, I also tried factory-to-ddwrt.img found here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/08-16-2016-r30432/netgear-r7500v2/ and the same thing happens.

I tried OpenWRT and interestingly enough, that worked fine. I tried to flash DD-WRT from OpenWRT but it wouldn't allow me to do that.


What do you mean? Openwrt has no support for the v2, neither LEDE nor Openwrt, they recently added R7800 support, which was mostly copied and pasted from my code. Are you sure you have a V2 and not V1.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
sprite23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
sprite23 wrote:
Just to add to my last post, I also tried factory-to-ddwrt.img found here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/08-16-2016-r30432/netgear-r7500v2/ and the same thing happens.

I tried OpenWRT and interestingly enough, that worked fine. I tried to flash DD-WRT from OpenWRT but it wouldn't allow me to do that.


What do you mean? Openwrt has no support for the v2, neither LEDE nor Openwrt, they recently added R7800 support, which was mostly copied and pasted from my code. Are you sure you have a V2 and not V1.


Here is the OpenWRT I tried
https://www.myopenrouter.com/download/openwrt-firmware-r7500v2

Yes, I am 100% sure it's a v2, the box reads it, the original firmware page says so on the top left and it reads v2 on the bottom of the router on the label. I also used the v2 firmware from Netgear's page to unbrick the router using tftp.
sprite23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
If additional proof is needed, here are pictures of the box and router. I just ordered it from Amazon yesterday and received it today.
cybrnook
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 280

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
sprite23 wrote:
Just to add to my last post, I also tried factory-to-ddwrt.img found here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/08-16-2016-r30432/netgear-r7500v2/ and the same thing happens.

I tried OpenWRT and interestingly enough, that worked fine. I tried to flash DD-WRT from OpenWRT but it wouldn't allow me to do that.


What do you mean? Openwrt has no support for the v2, neither LEDE nor Openwrt, they recently added R7800 support, which was mostly copied and pasted from my code. Are you sure you have a V2 and not V1.


Technically Laughing there seems to be some patches available to add support for v2, but does not seem to be wildly adopted.

Thread I opened a while ago, check the bottom of the thread:
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=62069

and the patches:
https://patchwork.ozlabs.org/project/openwrt/list/?submitter=68617
noodle04
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:50    Post subject: USB not working Reply with quote
Just flashed latest dd-wrt (build 30432), attached USB driver, but not recognize. lsmod shows usb module been loaded.

Any idea?
jplee3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Very cool! Was waiting for this - I may wait until things stabilize a bit more before making the jump to DDWRT. Things have been 'stable' so far on the Netgear firmware but I'm *sorely* missing the access control/FW rules flexibility that DDWRT has to offer.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 19:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
sprite23 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
sprite23 wrote:
Just to add to my last post, I also tried factory-to-ddwrt.img found here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/08-16-2016-r30432/netgear-r7500v2/ and the same thing happens.

I tried OpenWRT and interestingly enough, that worked fine. I tried to flash DD-WRT from OpenWRT but it wouldn't allow me to do that.


What do you mean? Openwrt has no support for the v2, neither LEDE nor Openwrt, they recently added R7800 support, which was mostly copied and pasted from my code. Are you sure you have a V2 and not V1.


Here is the OpenWRT I tried
https://www.myopenrouter.com/download/openwrt-firmware-r7500v2

Yes, I am 100% sure it's a v2, the box reads it, the original firmware page says so on the top left and it reads v2 on the bottom of the router on the label. I also used the v2 firmware from Netgear's page to unbrick the router using tftp.


Netgear oem firmware is openwrt based + closed source. This build is oem but with luci. Thus comes with the same size and magics in flash und if it contains a broken block in certain area it won't matter to this or netgear fw. With a real openwrt you will most likely run into the same problem as with dd-wrt.

But as mentioned before only through serial it will be possible to identify and if you are lucky fix it, by cleaning the flash through a few commands.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 23:19    Post subject: Re: USB not working Reply with quote
noodle04 wrote:
Just flashed latest dd-wrt (build 30432), attached USB driver, but not recognize. lsmod shows usb module been loaded.

Any idea?


Is fixed in next build.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Gandalv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:27    Post subject: Re: USB not working Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
noodle04 wrote:
Just flashed latest dd-wrt (build 30432), attached USB driver, but not recognize. lsmod shows usb module been loaded.

Any idea?


Is fixed in next build.


Are we supposed to install the .bin file after the .img file? Thanks
D-Prime
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 16:14    Post subject: Re: USB not working Reply with quote
Gandalv wrote:
Are we supposed to install the .bin file after the .img file? Thanks


R7500v2-factory-to-ddwrt.img first, then install ddwrt-netgear-R7500v2.bin. Says so in the Readme.

This is what I did and everything I use in dd-wrt has been working fine for over a week now. My wifi speeds have stabilized after a couple days. I'm attributing this to adjusting to the best wireless settings for my house and letting them settle in. I pay for 150Mbps and I'm getting ~190Mbps wired, ~175Mbps wireless with basic speed tests.

Thanks, Kong and everyone.
GypRosetti
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 16:07    Post subject: FW Updates Reply with quote
This FW has been working great for me. Just one question: What is the best way to stay up to date on new releases? I just checked kong's link and there is a new file 'ddwrt-netgear-R7500v2.bin' from today (8/23) but no release notes or version number.
I installed it and it is v3.0-r30465M kongat (08/23/16). So I guess I bookmark that folder and look for files with newer dates? Or are the release notes published somewhere? Thanks!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 52, 53, 54  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 54
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum