DIR-890L Guide

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
xdresser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 16:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update on the kong firmware.
I moved back to Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30016M std (06/24/16)
due to OpenVPN not working with the 890L. I found another thread on here about OpenVPN not working after this version and that was indeed my problem. Now my VPN, which is privateinternetaccess, works good.
Hopefully that will help someone else because I spent countless hours trying to get my VPN to work, and it was the firmware all along.
Sponsor
thiefzidane1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
xdresser wrote:
Update on the kong firmware.
I moved back to Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r30016M std (06/24/16)
due to OpenVPN not working with the 890L. I found another thread on here about OpenVPN not working after this version and that was indeed my problem. Now my VPN, which is privateinternetaccess, works good.
Hopefully that will help someone else because I spent countless hours trying to get my VPN to work, and it was the firmware all along.


I registered with this site just to say THANK YOU! I bought this router earlier this week, and was having nothing but issues with all the other recommended builds I found. Using DD-WRT v3.0-r30016M std (06/24/16) and the wifi configuration suggested by OP (sew3521), my network is working like a dream.

I guess I should mention that my problems were outside the VPN issue, though I haven't worked on that yet. It was more related to my ssid's disappearing randomly, bad wifi signal, and random disconnects.

However, all is good now, and I'm finally going to take the shrink wrap off the casing, as I am not going to return it. Again, thank you! Smile
sew3521
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Bridgeton MO

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just updated the 3rd post.
DO NOT INSTALL 08-03-2017-r33006
It will make your router unresponsive. The only way I was able to fix this was restoring the router using the steps in post 2.

Also: I do not get alerts when a question is asked here. If you need to reach me shoot me a PM.

_________________
I'm a pro with Cisco IOS however I'm still a novice here. I will gladly help with the DIR-890L
shayne85
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried Kong's builds on the DIR-890?

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/Supported%20Models
Ah-Pin-Kor
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
shayne85 wrote:
Has anyone tried Kong's builds on the DIR-890?

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/Supported%20Models

There are a few reports for this model in the individual build threads. Use the build in the TEST subdirectory if you want to test the latest build. The outer June 11 build doesn't have SFE yet.

_________________

Netgear R7800 kongpro 19.07 20190919 || Netgear R7000 36070M kongac (Client Bridge=5GHz, AP=2.4GHz with bridged VAP)
Linksys WRT32X davidc502 OpenWrt || Linksys WRT1200ACv1 Gargoyle 1.11.x
Linksys WRT1900ACSv2 dd-wrt 39956
jdasader
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Trying to setup VLAN's on this device, but the physical/software port mapping is throwing me for a loop. I currently have one computer plugged into physical port 2 on the back of the device, and I have my modem connected to the WAN port. However, on the VLAN page, ports 1 and 4 show to be connected. So it looks like physical port = software port is 1=W, 2=1, 3=2, 4=3, W=4; at least according to the GUI. However, running the nvram show | grep port.*vlans shows ports 0-5. So without going any further into the weeds here, does anyone know how these ports are mapped, and what the various eth ports correspond to?
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 15:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
jdasader wrote:
Trying to setup VLAN's on this device, but the physical/software port mapping is throwing me for a loop.
Maybe this will help:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1025727

I recall the recommendation on Broadcom is to not use the GUI. And/or search for VLAN by author Per Yngve Berg; there'll be a ton of stuff. Smile

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
jdasader
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
jdasader wrote:
Trying to setup VLAN's on this device, but the physical/software port mapping is throwing me for a loop.
Maybe this will help:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1025727

I recall the recommendation on Broadcom is to not use the GUI. And/or search for VLAN by author Per Yngve Berg; there'll be a ton of stuff. Smile


Thanks for sharing those links. So I guess I need to just completely ignore the GUI's port mapping and do this via telnet. I don't mind that, but the mismatch between the GUI and NVRAM is going to drive me crazy!

On a kind of related note, is there a command I can execute via telnet that will tell me which ports have connections? Somehow the GUI does this and displays active connections as green, so I'm guessing there's got to be someway to get this info from the command line as well.
echowan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:18    Post subject: DIR-890l Hardware Version: A2 Reply with quote
Any tips for A2 ??

I have a DIR-890L HW:A2 FW:1.20 and I can't install any version of dd-wrt.

Could you help me ?
Fobio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone running a pair of these with WDS? Last I seen is a gentlemen who last posted in 2015.
sew3521
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Bridgeton MO

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have had a few people DM me over the past month or so having issues updating. Each time the issue was fixed by clearing the settings first.

Please remember that it is highly recommended that you restore the router to defaults using the reset button before and after flashing the new version. Never restore old backups from previous versions.

_________________
I'm a pro with Cisco IOS however I'm still a novice here. I will gladly help with the DIR-890L
FurryNutz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did this up yesterday. Working. Maybe this will help others:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=72749.0

IE11 is key.
djtodd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 13:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I have the newbie-est of newbie questions.

I searched for DIR-890L in the router database. Found it, and both the firmware binary links give me errors:

error: /var/www/firmwares/releases//r26653-04-09-2015/dlink-dir890l/dir890-webflash.bin does not exist

Am I looking for the firmware in the wrong place? Are my drugs finally kicking in?
FurryNutz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
folder locations are here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=72749.0

IE11 is key.

Mine works well.

djtodd wrote:
So I have the newbie-est of newbie questions.

I searched for DIR-890L in the router database. Found it, and both the firmware binary links give me errors:

error: /var/www/firmwares/releases//r26653-04-09-2015/dlink-dir890l/dir890-webflash.bin does not exist

Am I looking for the firmware in the wrong place? Are my drugs finally kicking in?
FurryNutz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 19:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
What OEM FW version do you have loaded currently? If v1.20 follow this link:
folder locations are here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=72749.0

IE11 is key.

Mine works well.

djtodd wrote:
So I have the newbie-est of newbie questions.

I searched for DIR-890L in the router database. Found it, and both the firmware binary links give me errors:

error: /var/www/firmwares/releases//r26653-04-09-2015/dlink-dir890l/dir890-webflash.bin does not exist

Am I looking for the firmware in the wrong place? Are my drugs finally kicking in?
[/quote]
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 7
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum