Linksys ea8500 port is ready

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 112, 113, 114 ... 123, 124, 125  Next
Author Message
iotola
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:33    Post subject: JFFS2 errors / unformatted Reply with quote
I flashed a second EA8500 with kongs latest release (37495M) and I managed to enable the JFFS partition without formatting it correctly and then I rebooted it. This resulted in me initially thinking I had bricked it.

Once I got the serial back on it and did some investigation I realized it was generating an error every 0x20 bytes, and that it would finish generating the errors after 4 hours... so I waited and it started.

This issue will only get worse as the JFFS partitions get larger. So shouldn't the JFFS just fail to mount after say 100 errors? Should I raised it as a bug?

_________________
Router: EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat
WAP : EA8500 - DD-WRT v3.0-r37495M kongat
Sponsor
113wechwech
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:43    Post subject: EA8500 ddwrt Reply with quote
Hello,

I also have successfully installed dd wrt on my linksys EA8500 router. It's a european model which has no limitation on the firmware downgrade.

So I downgraded first to 1.1.3.166845 official Lynksys FW
Then I flashed the EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img kong build of 10/28/2018 (r37495 with 3.18 kernel).
All is working, router see my primary router connected to the wan port.

But I f want to install any newer release form Kong (like r38150 of 12/31/2018) or the last BS build, the EA8500 unit is not seeing anymore the primary router on the wan port and is telling me there is no IP adress from the wan.
If I specify one, this still d'ont allow traffic to go to wan and connected on wifi (of the EA8500) My phone is telling me this network has no internet connectivity....

Again without changin anything else on the parameters, just upgrading the FW the wan connectivity is lost. but not the link itself cause I have the lights on the RJ45 port...

Any of you had experienced such behaviour?

Had to go back to r37495 kong build so far...

Thanks for your help
strummer84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:40    Post subject: Re: EA8500 ddwrt Reply with quote
113wechwech wrote:
Hello,

I also have successfully installed dd wrt on my linksys EA8500 router. It's a european model which has no limitation on the firmware downgrade.

So I downgraded first to 1.1.3.166845 official Lynksys FW
Then I flashed the EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img kong build of 10/28/2018 (r37495 with 3.18 kernel).
All is working, router see my primary router connected to the wan port.

But I f want to install any newer release form Kong (like r38150 of 12/31/2018) or the last BS build, the EA8500 unit is not seeing anymore the primary router on the wan port and is telling me there is no IP adress from the wan.
If I specify one, this still d'ont allow traffic to go to wan and connected on wifi (of the EA8500) My phone is telling me this network has no internet connectivity....

Again without changin anything else on the parameters, just upgrading the FW the wan connectivity is lost. but not the link itself cause I have the lights on the RJ45 port...

Any of you had experienced such behaviour?

Had to go back to r37495 kong build so far...

Thanks for your help


It seems you are suffering the same problems I do: switch0 crash after upgrading/resetting to/from any k4.x build on EA8500. What happens if you run 'swconfig list' when you have no internet? When this happens if you power off completely and power on again, is your internet back? If so, welcome to my world Smile
113wechwech
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 23:09    Post subject: Re: EA8500 ddwrt Reply with quote
strummer84 wrote:
113wechwech wrote:
Hello,

I also have successfully installed dd wrt on my linksys EA8500 router. It's a european model which has no limitation on the firmware downgrade.

So I downgraded first to 1.1.3.166845 official Lynksys FW
Then I flashed the EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img kong build of 10/28/2018 (r37495 with 3.18 kernel).
All is working, router see my primary router connected to the wan port.

But I f want to install any newer release form Kong (like r38150 of 12/31/2018) or the last BS build, the EA8500 unit is not seeing anymore the primary router on the wan port and is telling me there is no IP adress from the wan.
If I specify one, this still d'ont allow traffic to go to wan and connected on wifi (of the EA8500) My phone is telling me this network has no internet connectivity....

Again without changin anything else on the parameters, just upgrading the FW the wan connectivity is lost. but not the link itself cause I have the lights on the RJ45 port...

Any of you had experienced such behaviour?

Had to go back to r37495 kong build so far...

Thanks for your help


It seems you are suffering the same problems I do: switch0 crash after upgrading/resetting to/from any k4.x build on EA8500. What happens if you run 'swconfig list' when you have no internet? When this happens if you power off completely and power on again, is your internet back? If so, welcome to my world Smile


I am in your world... I have to power of to have internet connectivity back... You are suspecting kernel k4.x?
strummer84
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2018
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:07    Post subject: Re: EA8500 ddwrt Reply with quote
113wechwech wrote:
strummer84 wrote:
113wechwech wrote:
Hello,

I also have successfully installed dd wrt on my linksys EA8500 router. It's a european model which has no limitation on the firmware downgrade.

So I downgraded first to 1.1.3.166845 official Lynksys FW
Then I flashed the EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img kong build of 10/28/2018 (r37495 with 3.18 kernel).
All is working, router see my primary router connected to the wan port.

But I f want to install any newer release form Kong (like r38150 of 12/31/2018) or the last BS build, the EA8500 unit is not seeing anymore the primary router on the wan port and is telling me there is no IP adress from the wan.
If I specify one, this still d'ont allow traffic to go to wan and connected on wifi (of the EA8500) My phone is telling me this network has no internet connectivity....

Again without changin anything else on the parameters, just upgrading the FW the wan connectivity is lost. but not the link itself cause I have the lights on the RJ45 port...

Any of you had experienced such behaviour?

Had to go back to r37495 kong build so far...

Thanks for your help


It seems you are suffering the same problems I do: switch0 crash after upgrading/resetting to/from any k4.x build on EA8500. What happens if you run 'swconfig list' when you have no internet? When this happens if you power off completely and power on again, is your internet back? If so, welcome to my world Smile


I am in your world... I have to power of to have internet connectivity back... You are suspecting kernel k4.x?


Yes ATM, SOME EA8500 devices suffer from this behaviour on any k4.x build, but we are still few people to consider this a major bug. See this ticket:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6467
113wechwech
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 15:42    Post subject: Re: EA8500 ddwrt Reply with quote
strummer84 wrote:
113wechwech wrote:
strummer84 wrote:
113wechwech wrote:
Hello,

I also have successfully installed dd wrt on my linksys EA8500 router. It's a european model which has no limitation on the firmware downgrade.

So I downgraded first to 1.1.3.166845 official Lynksys FW
Then I flashed the EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img kong build of 10/28/2018 (r37495 with 3.18 kernel).
All is working, router see my primary router connected to the wan port.

But I f want to install any newer release form Kong (like r38150 of 12/31/2018) or the last BS build, the EA8500 unit is not seeing anymore the primary router on the wan port and is telling me there is no IP adress from the wan.
If I specify one, this still d'ont allow traffic to go to wan and connected on wifi (of the EA8500) My phone is telling me this network has no internet connectivity....

Again without changin anything else on the parameters, just upgrading the FW the wan connectivity is lost. but not the link itself cause I have the lights on the RJ45 port...

Any of you had experienced such behaviour?

Had to go back to r37495 kong build so far...

Thanks for your help


It seems you are suffering the same problems I do: switch0 crash after upgrading/resetting to/from any k4.x build on EA8500. What happens if you run 'swconfig list' when you have no internet? When this happens if you power off completely and power on again, is your internet back? If so, welcome to my world Smile


I am in your world... I have to power of to have internet connectivity back... You are suspecting kernel k4.x?


Yes ATM, SOME EA8500 devices suffer from this behaviour on any k4.x build, but we are still few people to consider this a major bug. See this ticket:
https://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/6467


Is it related ? Seems to me openwrt also experienced such pb in the past with k4.x. But not anymore...

https://gitlab.howett.net/polaris/openwrt/commit/7f694ef3d9f1121c03935c330093c594b8437098
https://forum.openwrt.org/t/ea8500-reboot-fails-only-with-power-switch-on-off-successful/18234

If no fix applied in a near future I will switch to openwrt, even if I would have prefered to keep DD WRT on it...

Hope Kong / mrjcd will be able to have a look on it...

Thanks
jerrytouille
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2015
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 15:56    Post subject: Re: EA8500 ddwrt Reply with quote
113wechwech wrote:

Is it related ? Seems to me openwrt also experienced such pb in the past with k4.x. But not anymore...

https://gitlab.howett.net/polaris/openwrt/commit/7f694ef3d9f1121c03935c330093c594b8437098
https://forum.openwrt.org/t/ea8500-reboot-fails-only-with-power-switch-on-off-successful/18234

If no fix applied in a near future I will switch to openwrt, even if I would have prefered to keep DD WRT on it...

Hope Kong / mrjcd will be able to have a look on it...

Thanks


you may want to create or update the svn ticket with these info if ever want to have it fixed. nice find
zuzuzuzu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 20:04    Post subject: EA8500 Power led not owrking Reply with quote
Hello everybody. I'm new in dd-wrt but trying to figure out some aspects of great opportunity of dd-wrt. Dear mrjcd, I have followed your flashing instruction with serial cable and PuTTy-TFTP successfully. First from the stock I flashed my EA8500 with kong's 31780M (if I remember version) and everything was just fine more than an year, but after some reason, which I don't know, maybe some city power surge/fail or whatever my router has stopped working - no wifi signal and no power led light. In particular I could see it on 192.168. and was able to log in to dd-wrt.

After I re-flashed it via web interface with some newer kong's build. It started working normally (both 2,4 an 5 GHz) but not got power led back. After 6 month, just yesterday, I re-flashed it with r38065M and reset after flashing but the result is the same - router works but no power led. Maybe It needs serial re-flashing or something else? Could you please advice. Sad
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5359
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA8500
the top power light DOES NOT work when using any dd-wrt K4x build. It don't hurt a thing......But if you just want the top light on there is a decent Kong K3.18 build here ---

http://mrjcd.com/Malachi/KONG-EA8500/Kong_37495M-102818_K3.18/
zuzuzuzu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 20:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you very much for the explanation. I was thinking that if the light doesn't work it affects some functionality. If not, than it's great! Very Happy
ejaf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all...finally got around to installing a 128k nvram version of Kong's over an old 64k version. Stayed with a v3 version of the kernal (for now).

Steps were
1. Flash new build through web gui
2. after reboot, flash new build again (to get in on other boot partition).
3. telnet in, ran "erase nvram", rebooted
4. Set up router from scratch.

All is well, except for a weird wifi issue, in which hard coding a channel for the 5GHz connection didn't work; switched it to auto, and all is good for now (no rush to hard code, will look into it another time).

My question is this...how to check performance? I only have ISP of 75 Mbs down now, so I decided to load up iperf3 on two clients, and a server.

First client was plain old ethernet, and got a reading averaging 964 Mbs (which is expected, since every box on the LAN are gigE boxes).

The status on the Admin page shows rate of 1733 Mbs on the 5GHz connection.

Second client (Laptop), connects to 5GHz no problem, I'm about 6 feet away from the AP, and running iPerf with defaults, I am getting average 433 Mbs.

Not complaining, but curious on whether any of you all have tried iperf to test, and before tearing my hair out, wondering what rates any of you see with this tool?

TIA...Eric
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5359
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seems like it is working very well for you, ejaf. 433 across wireless is good and very likely is only dependent on the client.
I'm sure your laptop does not do 4x4 Wink
For best wifi settings see here ---
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings
ejaf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Didn't think there was much else I can do...guess I have some form of "wifi speed envy", when I see other people posting photos of the ookla speed tests to their ISPs and they "show" 1.2 Gbps.

Of course, they don't publish thinks like what parms were used, whether they tested TCP or UDP, packet sizes, how many parallel streams, etc. etc.

Appreciate the link to the best settings; did that already, although there are a few added settings in this build not mentioned on that wiki, but didn't seem like anything that would affect speed.

Yeah...no way my laptop does 4x4...it's a Lenovo Yoga 3 pro that I bought "not working", needed a new screen and power port. I seem to purchase stuff people "think" is garbage, and then fix it up so they don't even know it was their's to begin with Wink

And big kudos to you as well, for being a great help to this thread.

Eric
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5359
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 16:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yea well ejaf you prolly shouldn't worry too much about others.......
My old Dell laptop (1705 bgn WIFI) only connects on 2.4 and shows on the EA8500 (r38570M) as connected at 150.
This is all she will do across the EA8500 to a wired computer but is plenty well enough for me. Cool
Code:
root@Will-Be-Was:~# iperf3 -c deb.mrjcd.com
Connecting to host deb.mrjcd.com, port 5201
[  5] local 10.72.28.56 port 37840 connected to 10.72.28.3 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr  Cwnd
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec  14.7 MBytes   124 Mbits/sec    0    465 KBytes       
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec  12.6 MBytes   105 Mbits/sec    0    546 KBytes       
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec  14.5 MBytes   121 Mbits/sec    0    618 KBytes       
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec  11.2 MBytes  94.1 Mbits/sec    0    650 KBytes       
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec  11.2 MBytes  94.4 Mbits/sec    0    682 KBytes       
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec  12.5 MBytes   105 Mbits/sec    0    682 KBytes       
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec  12.5 MBytes   105 Mbits/sec    0    682 KBytes       
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec  13.8 MBytes   115 Mbits/sec    0    720 KBytes       
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec  12.5 MBytes   105 Mbits/sec    0    759 KBytes       
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec  12.5 MBytes   105 Mbits/sec    0    759 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec   128 MBytes   107 Mbits/sec    0             sender
[  5]   0.00-10.10  sec   125 MBytes   104 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.
root@Will-Be-Was:~# iperf3 -c deb.mrjcd.com -R
Connecting to host deb.mrjcd.com, port 5201
Reverse mode, remote host deb.mrjcd.com is sending
[  5] local 10.72.28.56 port 37856 connected to 10.72.28.3 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec  9.45 MBytes  79.3 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec  9.03 MBytes  75.7 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec  10.1 MBytes  84.8 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec  10.1 MBytes  84.6 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec  8.07 MBytes  67.7 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec  8.71 MBytes  73.1 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec  10.1 MBytes  84.7 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec  10.2 MBytes  85.3 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec  9.84 MBytes  82.5 Mbits/sec                 
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec  9.64 MBytes  80.9 Mbits/sec                 
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr
[  5]   0.00-10.05  sec  98.0 MBytes  81.8 Mbits/sec  228             sender
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec  95.2 MBytes  79.9 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.
root@Will-Be-Was:~#
ejaf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2013
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks much for your output from iperf. That's pretty good over 2.4 GHz.

Didn't save mine, but this really helps, since I can step down and compare my 2.4 to yours.

Eric
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 112, 113, 114 ... 123, 124, 125  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 113 of 125
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum