Linksys ea8500 port is ready

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80 ... 123, 124, 125  Next
Author Message
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7523
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 23:12    Post subject: Re: How can I finish EA8500? Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
derckchow wrote:
Hello Guys,

Do I still need the rs232 cable to flash it? Or, I can just flash it from it's web use the file from there:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=betas%2F2017%2F08-03-2017-r33006%2Flinksys-ea8500%2F

Thanks!

Derick

Don't use the dd-wrt router damn database to get firmware.
AND don't use a dd-wrt public release factory-to-ddwrt.img for first install on a EA8500 ... no matter
what linksys firmware you have
--- won't work, won't boot, it's messed up bad last time I checked.

Always do first flash with a Kong build.
I suggest EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img from here if you have a EU EA8500 router
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/r31240/

After you get dd-wrt on it you can install whater EA8500 .bin firmware you want --- new one works okeydokey

Actually I tested that very build they have in the dd-wrt damndatabase.
see this post >> http://download1.dd-wrt.de/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1090870&sid=5221d400f0e8c7a67e6dbf1b63bb089d#1090870

There is a 90+% chance if you have a US EA8500 it will already have later firmware --- so yea get you a USB/TTL
'Installing DD-WRT on the EA8500'

EDIT:
for future ref --- get your firmware here
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
Good ideal to do some research first if not familiar with dd-wrt firmware Cool


try poke brainslayer about finally fixing ipq806x .img before he vanishes again, r7800's is broken too

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r49359 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r49359 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r49359 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5815
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 23:21    Post subject: Re: How can I finish EA8500? Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
try poke brainslayer about finally fixing ipq806x .img before he vanishes again, r7800's is broken too

Thinks he's gone ... maybe he'll fix it next year Twisted Evil

He done a bunch of fixes. guess that's working ok for you.
I been running r33507 for 25 hrs on main router... working well but haven't done any real testing with it.
derckchow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 0:41    Post subject: Re: How can I finish EA8500? Reply with quote
Thanks! I will wait for the cable than. BTW, your guild is amazing.

mrjcd wrote:
derckchow wrote:
Hello Guys,

Do I still need the rs232 cable to flash it? Or, I can just flash it from it's web use the file from there:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=betas%2F2017%2F08-03-2017-r33006%2Flinksys-ea8500%2F

Thanks!

Derick

Don't use the dd-wrt router damn database to get firmware.
AND don't use a dd-wrt public release factory-to-ddwrt.img for first install on a EA8500 ... no matter
what linksys firmware you have
--- won't work, won't boot, it's messed up bad last time I checked.

Always do first flash with a Kong build.
I suggest EA8500WW-factory-to-ddwrt.img from here if you have a EU EA8500 router
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/r31240/

After you get dd-wrt on it you can install whater EA8500 .bin firmware you want --- new one works okeydokey

Actually I tested that very build they have in the dd-wrt damndatabase.
see this post >> http://download1.dd-wrt.de/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1090870&sid=5221d400f0e8c7a67e6dbf1b63bb089d#1090870

There is a 90+% chance if you have a US EA8500 it will already have later firmware --- so yea get you a USB/TTL
'Installing DD-WRT on the EA8500'

EDIT:
for future ref --- get your firmware here
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
Good ideal to do some research first if not familiar with dd-wrt firmware Cool
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5815
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 22:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r33525M kongat (10/16/17)
Linux 3.18.75 #163 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 16 21:22:26 CEST 2017 armv7l

ddwrt-Linksys-EA8500.bin 2017-10-16 21:29 24M
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-IPQ806X/

Looks veddy berry good

unbound still don't work in the K builds ... guess that's why he didn't bother to update to its new version Razz
kohmei
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2016
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 23:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is "unbound" related to QoS? I'm guessing if I don't use that I should be good? My PC is the only device on my network that's capable of completely exhausting my 100mbps connection, so I just use netlimiter if I want to download something while someone is watching TV/on the phone Neutral
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5815
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
kohmei wrote:
Is "unbound" related to QoS? I'm guessing if I don't use that I should be good? My PC is the only device on my network that's capable of completely exhausting my 100mbps connection, so I just use netlimiter if I want to download something while someone is watching TV/on the phone Neutral


unbound = Recursive DNS Resolving, an option on main setup page. You can do 'about' same thing using DNSMasq
options but 'about' same is not the same and I refuse to budge ... besides it works fine in all public dd-wrt releases.


So, No it shouldn't be any worry to you ... carry on Cool
Kong's r33525M is a good build.
Also includes new 'airtime fairness' option in the advanced wireless settings.
lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 577
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 23:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried today's Kong build with the KRACK patch?
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 229
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 23:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
lexridge wrote:
Has anyone tried today's Kong build with the KRACK patch?


Yes, all working good here Smile

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r41813 std (12/29/19)
Modem: Super Hub 3.0
ISP: Virgin Media 350/35 Mbps

lexridge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 577
Location: WV, USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
flakie wrote:
lexridge wrote:
Has anyone tried today's Kong build with the KRACK patch?


Yes, all working good here Smile


Cool! Thanks. I will flash it now. Smile
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5815
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 13:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r33529 std (10/17/17)
Linux 3.18.75 #185 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 13 01:06:35 CEST 2017 armv7l
No Reset
everything I use is ok --
ovpn server good
samba good
new unbound 1.6.7 Cool
all newest patches are here
Note:
had to enable airtime fairness for the old droid turbo to have his decent speed on 5GHz

get it if you want it -- I suspect BS & the boys will release new build soon anyways
attached is r33529 dd-wrt-webupgrade.bin for EA8500 only
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r33529 std (10/17/17)
Linux 3.18.75 #185 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 13 01:06:35 CEST 2017 armv7l

This broke my Openvpn client. The Openvpn status page is blank and the internet connection does not work
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5815
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
magnum226 wrote:
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r33529 std (10/17/17)
Linux 3.18.75 #185 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 13 01:06:35 CEST 2017 armv7l

This broke my Openvpn client. The Openvpn status page is blank and the internet connection does not work


Im not using ovpn client but all else is good.
Been up on my main router 07:32 hrs.

You should ck your conf.
Install the new public release if you want but this one has newer stuff....
cactusme
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does this v3.0-r33529 has the KRACK patch? thanks.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5815
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
magnum226 wrote:
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r33529 std (10/17/17)
Linux 3.18.75 #185 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 13 01:06:35 CEST 2017 armv7l

This broke my Openvpn client. The Openvpn status page is blank and the internet connection does not work


I just setup ovpn client on the test EA8500 connected to a dd-wrt router across the way.
Works just fine here .... about a 3 minute setup and it's all good.
magnum226
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 13:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
magnum226 wrote:
EA8500
DD-WRT v3.0-r33529 std (10/17/17)
Linux 3.18.75 #185 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 13 01:06:35 CEST 2017 armv7l

This broke my Openvpn client. The Openvpn status page is blank and the internet connection does not work


I just setup ovpn client on the test EA8500 connected to a dd-wrt router across the way.
Works just fine here .... about a 3 minute setup and it's all good.

Strange. I always reset to default settings when I upgrade. I wonder if that made a difference with mine vs. yours?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80 ... 123, 124, 125  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 79 of 125
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum