Basic DD-WRT Install FAQ for WRT1900AC?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:28    Post subject: Re: Help Im Confused Reply with quote
Dye13 wrote:
Help I'm confused.

Hello all noob here. I am totally new to the DD-WRT and flashing a router. I currently have a WRT1900ACS and my current updated firmware is 1.0.3.177401 with a build date of 2016-11-28 21:34. I verified through the Linksys GUI and this is the most up to date version. Additionally I verified this on the 192.168.1.1/sysinfo.cgi page as well.

I want to make the jump to DD-WRT in order to use the router as a VPN client.

I have read the entire thread and been all over the FAQ pages. And am confused on where to start. There have been multiple posts about the 30-30-30 reboots and to not do this on late model routers. Additionally I have read that I can simply load up the DD-WRT F/W through the Linksys GUI with the "manual" option. I just need some advice on where to start and what .bin and or .img files I will need to do this without bricking my router.


A 'hard reset' is not only unnecessary, but it can harm your router.

As for loading dd-wrt - the Linksys WRT Routers have a great feature that makes it so much easier for 3rd party firmware such as dd-wrt.
There are 2 partitions that alternate firmware updates. It doesn't matter if it's dd-wrt or Linksys OEM - it ALWAYS goes to the opposite / inactive partition.
This makes recovering in the case of a bad flash very easy.

When you download the firmware from the list of betas there are always 2. A 'factory to dd-wrt & a webflash.
The factory to dd-wrt is for the Linksys GUI only
The webflash is for the dd-wrt GUI only

Many people like to keep the Linksys stock firmware on one partition and always upgrade from there with the 'factory to dd-wrt'.
This makes it easier if you want to try out other 3rd party firmware such as LEDE, Tomato, OpenWRT, etc...

I myself always upgrade from the dd-wrt GUI with the webflash.bin. I never reset (before or after)

The newest versions of dd-wrt will allow you to revert back to stock within the dd-wrt GUI, so keeping the Linksys stock firmware isn't as important as it once was.

Good luck!

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
Sponsor
Dye13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:43    Post subject: Re: Help Im Confused Reply with quote
spuriousoffspring wrote:

A 'hard reset' is not only unnecessary, but it can harm your router.

As for loading dd-wrt - the Linksys WRT Routers have a great feature that makes it so much easier for 3rd party firmware such as dd-wrt.
There are 2 partitions that alternate firmware updates. It doesn't matter if it's dd-wrt or Linksys OEM - it ALWAYS goes to the opposite / inactive partition.
This makes recovering in the case of a bad flash very easy.

When you download the firmware from the list of betas there are always 2. A 'factory to dd-wrt & a webflash.
The factory to dd-wrt is for the Linksys GUI only
The webflash is for the dd-wrt GUI only

Many people like to keep the Linksys stock firmware on one partition and always upgrade from there with the 'factory to dd-wrt'.
This makes it easier if you want to try out other 3rd party firmware such as LEDE, Tomato, OpenWRT, etc...

I myself always upgrade from the dd-wrt GUI with the webflash.bin. I never reset (before or after)

The newest versions of dd-wrt will allow you to revert back to stock within the dd-wrt GUI, so keeping the Linksys stock firmware isn't as important as it once was.

Good luck!


Thank you for the response.

I understand that there are two partitions and the active/inactive pairing so it doesn't matter which one get the F/W.

I suppose I need a better understanding of which "beta or F/W" to grab. BS vs KONG vs OpenWRT, I don't know.

Additionally this is supposed to be based on my model number. Linksys WRT1900ACS. Is it V1 or V2, or does it matter since its an ACS?

All I kept seeing about the F/W Version was 1.08 vs 1.10, mine isn't running this and its up to date. Again my F/W version is 1.0.3.177401, and I didn't see anything in the thread or the FAQs about this.

Also is this going to be a two step loading process? Load DD-WRT then a BS or KONG or whatever load. Or will I only have to load one thing? And will it be an .img file or a .bin file that I load from the Linksys GUI? Can I load wirelessly since the GUI makes it so easy or do I need to do it over Ethernet?

I am sorry for all the questions, I don't want to turn my router into a paperweight, and on the other hand I don't necessarily want to have to go out a buy a new router that has native VPN client support either.

I do like the idea of keeping the Linksys GUI in a partition.

Any help is appreciated.
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
On the underside of your WRT1900ACS is a label that will have the Hardware Version.
If the Model Number is a Version 1 it may or may not have a v1 at the end. (WRT1900ACS = v1)
If it's a Version 2 it will have a v2 at the end of the Model Number

* See attached pics

An updated Linksys Firmware Version can be downloaded from the Linksys Support Site.

https://www.linksys.com/us/support-product?pid=01t34000003qSgQAAU

You will need the correct Hardware Version # to get the right one.
It's not necessary to update the factory firmware before upgrading to dd-wrt, but you can if you want the latest Linksys Firmware to keep on one partition.

Upgrading from Linksys OEM Firmware to dd-wrt is a simple one-step process.
All you will need is the 'factory to dd-wrt' for your router.
If you wish to always have the Linksys Firmware on one partition then you will NEVER need the 'webflash.bin'.

You shouldn't have any problems with the latest beta version (33006) found here:

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/

*Again just make sure you download the correct 'factory to dd-wrt' for your Model & Hardware Version.

I personally am VERY happy with dd-wrt and my OpenVPN Client Connection (ipVanish).
It was very easy to setup and it's even easier to maintain.

Any more questions and don't hesitate to ask!

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 567
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can see where the confusion comes in, when the FCC ID is identical for both routers and appears to refer to a different model altogether !
_________________
Linksys WRT32X v1 - r40009
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 - r40009
TP-Link Archer C9 v1 - r40009
Firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know, right!? You would think they would be a little bit more careful. Especially considering that the correct hw version is so important.

I believe that the WRT1900AC v2 and the WRT1900ACS v1 are the same animal.

For the purposes of firmware - only the box with Model # is important.

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
Dye13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:56    Post subject: VPN question Reply with quote
Thanks for all the help. I was up and running with DD-WRT in no time. Now onto a new question.

Does anyone know if there is a way to establish and separate OpenVPN between the radios on the router? Meaning can I have one radio route through Open VPN and the other not?

I don't know if this is possible, and haven't seen anything about it. Just curious.
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:51    Post subject: Re: VPN question Reply with quote
Dye13 wrote:
Thanks for all the help. I was up and running with DD-WRT in no time. Now onto a new question.

Does anyone know if there is a way to establish and separate OpenVPN between the radios on the router? Meaning can I have one radio route through Open VPN and the other not?

I don't know if this is possible, and haven't seen anything about it. Just curious.


Check out 'Policy Based Routing'. It will let you choose what devices use the OpenVPN Tunnel via IP Address.

If you don't put an IP Address in the 'Policy Based Routing' field - everything connected to the router will use the tunnel

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
Kbxy88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm trying to upgrade from 31100 and I read I can use the Webflash.bin file to keep my settings and not have to flash back to factory.

On the instructions on pg1. it says to logon to my stock router to upload the file but 192.168.1.1 doesn't work. 192.168.2.1 brings me to my DD-WRT router settings.

Sorry I'm a noob, can someone help where I'm missing a step?
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kbxy88 wrote:
I'm trying to upgrade from 31100 and I read I can use the Webflash.bin file to keep my settings and not have to flash back to factory.

On the instructions on pg1. it says to logon to my stock router to upload the file but 192.168.1.1 doesn't work. 192.168.2.1 brings me to my DD-WRT router settings.

Sorry I'm a noob, can someone help where I'm missing a step?


It looks like at some point your router's ip address was changed from the default '192.168.1.1' to 192.168.2.1
You can change it back to default (or anything) if you wish under Setup Tab - Basic Setup Sub-Tab.
I personally would leave it as is and just make a note of it so you don't forget in case of an issue.

There are always 2 files for each router in DD-WRT.
The 'dd-wrt webflash.bin' is for upgrading using the DD-WRT GUI only.
* This is the file you want if you wish to upgrade without losing you configuration. Just make sure that 'don't reset' is selected in the Administration Tab - Firmware Upgrade Sub-Tab.

The 'factory to dd-wrt' is for upgrading using Linksys Stock Firmware only.
* Some people like to keep the Linksys OEM Firmware on one partition so they can revert back (for a number of reasons).

It's not as much of an issue as it once was. You can easily return to Linksys Firmware if you want even when both partitions are DD-WRT.
Brainslayer recently added the ability to return to Linksys Factory Firmware from within DD-WRT GUI.

Hope this helps you & good luck!

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
jackspratUK
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2016
Posts: 13
Location: St Albans, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
spuriousoffspring wrote:
Brainslayer recently added the ability to return to Linksys Factory Firmware from within DD-WRT GUI.
Where's that hidden, or do you just upload the Linksys firmware as you would a DD-WRT firmware??
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
jackspratUK wrote:
spuriousoffspring wrote:
Brainslayer recently added the ability to return to Linksys Factory Firmware from within DD-WRT GUI.
Where's that hidden, or do you just upload the Linksys firmware as you would a DD-WRT firmware??

Just like DD-WRT firmware. Have been some mixed results reported, of course folks having issue never update with what they did to correct.

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
jackspratUK
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2016
Posts: 13
Location: St Albans, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
Just like DD-WRT firmware. Have been some mixed results reported, of course folks having issue never update with what they did to correct.
Hopefully will never need it, but if I do will report results!
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 983
Location: South of Heaven, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
jackspratUK wrote:
spuriousoffspring wrote:
Brainslayer recently added the ability to return to Linksys Factory Firmware from within DD-WRT GUI.
Where's that hidden, or do you just upload the Linksys firmware as you would a DD-WRT firmware??


Correct. Use the Linksys Stock Firmware from the support web page and upload it just as you would the dd-wrt 'webflash.bin' file.

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

WRT32X DD-WRT Installation Procedure
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=315569

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: OpenWrt SNAPSHOT r8217-2cc821e / LuCI Master (git-18.276.41146-280dd33)
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT32X
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
Kbxy88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
spuriousoffspring wrote:
Kbxy88 wrote:
I'm trying to upgrade from 31100 and I read I can use the Webflash.bin file to keep my settings and not have to flash back to factory.

On the instructions on pg1. it says to logon to my stock router to upload the file but 192.168.1.1 doesn't work. 192.168.2.1 brings me to my DD-WRT router settings.

Sorry I'm a noob, can someone help where I'm missing a step?


It looks like at some point your router's ip address was changed from the default '192.168.1.1' to 192.168.2.1
You can change it back to default (or anything) if you wish under Setup Tab - Basic Setup Sub-Tab.
I personally would leave it as is and just make a note of it so you don't forget in case of an issue.

There are always 2 files for each router in DD-WRT.
The 'dd-wrt webflash.bin' is for upgrading using the DD-WRT GUI only.
* This is the file you want if you wish to upgrade without losing you configuration. Just make sure that 'don't reset' is selected in the Administration Tab - Firmware Upgrade Sub-Tab.

The 'factory to dd-wrt' is for upgrading using Linksys Stock Firmware only.
* Some people like to keep the Linksys OEM Firmware on one partition so they can revert back (for a number of reasons).

It's not as much of an issue as it once was. You can easily return to Linksys Firmware if you want even when both partitions are DD-WRT.
Brainslayer recently added the ability to return to Linksys Factory Firmware from within DD-WRT GUI.

Hope this helps you & good luck!


Yes, that helped so much!

I used the 33006 mentioned above seems like it’s gettig a ton of positive stable feedback. My last build needed a reboot every other day ...
MythotiK
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 19:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
So with my WRT1200AC v1, I can initially use the .img file to flash...Then can I use the .bin file from there via the linksys interface??
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18, 19  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 17 of 19
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum