Basic DD-WRT Install FAQ for WRT1900AC?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
gil_happy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
My apologies for the large jpg (it looks like I attached it twice).

As far at the resetting using 30-30-30, unfortunately I couldn't get a clear answer after reading some posts if this was the right thing to do (or wrong thing).

Comcast is my ISP.
Sponsor
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
gil_happy wrote:
My apologies for the large jpg (it looks like I attached it twice).

As far at the resetting using 30-30-30, unfortunately I couldn't get a clear answer after reading some posts if this was the right thing to do (or wrong thing).

Comcast is my ISP.


As has been stated in many different places, DO NOT DO a 30/30/30 reset. This process was for older routers, just use the reset button instead. Also doing the 30/30/30 reset has the risk of bricking the router.

Hope this is clear enough. Very Happy

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
wild1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Mar 2016
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
gil_happy

I have an original wrt1900ac v1

I usually try the latest BS release a few days after they are made available. With each release since r32170 in June I do not get a WAN connection. So r32170, r32797, and r32753 fail to connect to the WAN on my wrt1900ac v1. I was told in the forum that it is a known problem in the new kernel 4.9 but there is no indication it will be fixed.

r31899 and r31924 both obtain a WAN connection on my wrt1900ac v1. (they use kernel 3.1Cool

r31924 is not in the BS ftp any longer, but r31899 should work for you.

..Bob
gil_happy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
gil_happy wrote:
My apologies for the large jpg (it looks like I attached it twice).

As far at the resetting using 30-30-30, unfortunately I couldn't get a clear answer after reading some posts if this was the right thing to do (or wrong thing).

Comcast is my ISP.


As has been stated in many different places, DO NOT DO a 30/30/30 reset. This process was for older routers, just use the reset button instead. Also doing the 30/30/30 reset has the risk of bricking the router.

Hope this is clear enough. Very Happy


The very good news is that my device(s) are not bricked after performing the 30-30-30. I have two v2, and one v1.
gil_happy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
wild1 wrote:
gil_happy

I have an original wrt1900ac v1

I usually try the latest BS release a few days after they are made available. With each release since r32170 in June I do not get a WAN connection. So r32170, r32797, and r32753 fail to connect to the WAN on my wrt1900ac v1. I was told in the forum that it is a known problem in the new kernel 4.9 but there is no indication it will be fixed.

r31899 and r31924 both obtain a WAN connection on my wrt1900ac v1. (they use kernel 3.1Cool

r31924 is not in the BS ftp any longer, but r31899 should work for you.

..Bob


Bob, thanks so much for this information! I will try 04-24-2017-r31899.

Before I go ahead and brick my device (by not following directions or reading), are there any specific instructions for downgrading from 07-19-2017-r32753 to 04-24-2017-r31899?
wild1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Mar 2016
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
gil_happy wrote:


Bob, thanks so much for this information! I will try 04-24-2017-r31899.

Before I go ahead and brick my device (by not following directions or reading), are there any specific instructions for downgrading from 07-19-2017-r32753 to 04-24-2017-r31899?


Nothing specific to do. I just load the r31899 ddwrt-linksys-wrt1900ac-webflash.bin file.

..Bob
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
@gil_happy
You sound like someone new to WRT routers and DD-WRT. See my sig for thread that has lots of good info, especially the second post.

There is no trick to upgrading/downgrading the firmware on the router. Just grab the release file you want to install and install it.

I personally keep the Linksys partition available so I always use the factory-to-ddwrt as I like to try other firmware and having the Linksys UI available makes that easy.

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
gil_happy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
wild1 - thank you for the information. Unfortunately when I downgraded my WRT1900ACv2 to 31899, I still do not have internet access. As mentioned, Comcast is my ISP and I disconnected the router from my cable modem, power cycled the cable modem, let it come online, then power cycled router and still no WAN IP address. I'm not sure what to do next? Continue trying earlier firmware versions (you did say that you are using v1 and I am v2)?

myersw - I have been using WRT for a few years, but there is so much information in the forums that can be erroneous that sometimes it is difficult to weed through everything. I will say by no means am I any type of expert though.
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also have Comcast, but as you probably know there are various flavors of Comcast depending on who they bought.

I my case all I need to do is power cycle the modem and the router then gets an IP address. In my case I have the modem set to bridge mode. In order to keep from having to power cycle the modem when I install new firmware what I do is always clone the WRT3200 native MAC address for the WAN. That way I am always providing Comcast with the same MAC and I get the same IP address from them. Also that way when I switch back to Linksys for firmware installs the wrt3200 still gets connected to the Internet. Might have forgotten to download something so that comes in handy. That way the modem does not need to be cycled and I just clone the MAC on DD-WRT or LEDE. I am currently running LEDE without any issues, for what that is worth.

Yes I am one that keeps the Linksys partition available. That makes it easy to upgrade if I want or to install a different 3rd party firmware such as LEDE.

_________________
Unifi Security Gateway: Unifi Firmware
Netgear r7800: Voxel Firmware
Modem:Netgear CM500V voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
gil_happy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 0:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
After performing some additional testing tonight, I have an update on things:

WRT1900v1 on 31899 == Internet access does work
WRT1900v1 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

WRT1900v2 on 31899 == Internet access does not work
WRT1900v2 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

So believe it or not, there is a difference between v1 and v2. Now we need to figure what to do in order to get my v2's working.
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 587
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
gil_happy wrote:
After performing some additional testing tonight, I have an update on things:

WRT1900v1 on 31899 == Internet access does work
WRT1900v1 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

WRT1900v2 on 31899 == Internet access does not work
WRT1900v2 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

So believe it or not, there is a difference between v1 and v2. Now we need to figure what to do in order to get my v2's working.


The WRT1900AC v2 was a prototype for the WRT1900ACS v1 (same Marvell Armada 385 88F6820 CPU, but clocked at 1.33GHz rather than 1.6GHz) and it is radically different from the WRT1900AC v1 (Marvell Armada XP MV78230 1.2 GHz). The WRT1900AC v1 hardware design is unique in this router family (it has a CPU fan for example).

r31924 is currently the best stable build for the WRT1900AC v1. This may not be the case for the WRT1900AC v2. The WRT1900AC v2 is relatively rare, however, as its hardware is virtually identical to the WRT1900ACS v1, any good build for the latter should also be good for the former. Read the ACS threads for best advice.
Noam75
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 13:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yemble wrote:
gil_happy wrote:
After performing some additional testing tonight, I have an update on things:

WRT1900v1 on 31899 == Internet access does work
WRT1900v1 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

WRT1900v2 on 31899 == Internet access does not work
WRT1900v2 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

So believe it or not, there is a difference between v1 and v2. Now we need to figure what to do in order to get my v2's working.


The WRT1900AC v2 was a prototype for the WRT1900ACS v1 (same Marvell Armada 385 88F6820 CPU, but clocked at 1.33GHz rather than 1.6GHz) and it is radically different from the WRT1900AC v1 (Marvell Armada XP MV78230 1.2 GHz). The WRT1900AC v1 hardware design is unique in this router family (it has a CPU fan for example).

r31924 is currently the best stable build for the WRT1900AC v1. This may not be the case for the WRT1900AC v2. The WRT1900AC v2 is relatively rare, however, as its hardware is virtually identical to the WRT1900ACS v1, any good build for the latter should also be good for the former. Read the ACS threads for best advice.

Where are you finding r31924? I'm looking for through all the betas and it's not there. What build date is that?
I'm running 31899. The builds after that had random reboot issues (though I haven't tried the most recent) BUT the past week I noticed a decline in speed and it needs a reboot. After that the speeds return at the expense of a high ping. Thanks
Yemble
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 587
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Noam75 wrote:
Yemble wrote:
gil_happy wrote:
After performing some additional testing tonight, I have an update on things:

WRT1900v1 on 31899 == Internet access does work
WRT1900v1 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

WRT1900v2 on 31899 == Internet access does not work
WRT1900v2 on 32753 == Internet access does not work

So believe it or not, there is a difference between v1 and v2. Now we need to figure what to do in order to get my v2's working.


The WRT1900AC v2 was a prototype for the WRT1900ACS v1 (same Marvell Armada 385 88F6820 CPU, but clocked at 1.33GHz rather than 1.6GHz) and it is radically different from the WRT1900AC v1 (Marvell Armada XP MV78230 1.2 GHz). The WRT1900AC v1 hardware design is unique in this router family (it has a CPU fan for example).

r31924 is currently the best stable build for the WRT1900AC v1. This may not be the case for the WRT1900AC v2. The WRT1900AC v2 is relatively rare, however, as its hardware is virtually identical to the WRT1900ACS v1, any good build for the latter should also be good for the former. Read the ACS threads for best advice.

Where are you finding r31924? I'm looking for through all the betas and it's not there. What build date is that?
I'm running 31899. The builds after that had random reboot issues (though I haven't tried the most recent) BUT the past week I noticed a decline in speed and it needs a reboot. After that the speeds return at the expense of a high ping. Thanks


Try here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=309686

_________________
Linksys WRT32X v1 - r41328
Linksys WRT1900AC v1 - r41328
TP-Link Archer C9 v1 - r41328
Firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/
128bit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2017
Posts: 132
Location: NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 18:30    Post subject: 31924 is currently the best stable build for WRT1900AC v1 Reply with quote
the good news - r31924 on the 1900ac v1 was the best release ever. this includes kong's releases before he bowed out. i did not use vpn but did use nas and there is a small bug there.

if the router was rebooted or turned off (not sure), i would have to go to the usb or nas page under services and hit apply. without that, the nas was not accessible to the clients. fwiw, bs fixed it fairly quickly after he had me send him a couple logs but i never installed subsequent releases to see if it was fixed. then i got the 3200acm and my 1900ac v1 has been sunset.

if there was ever a release that could be called stable and with the speeds, 31924 certainly gets my vote!

_________________
asus rt-ac86u stock: 3.0.0.4.384_45149
wrt3200acm: r34578 {sunset}
"why nibble when u can take a byte."
Dye13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 0:15    Post subject: Help Im Confused Reply with quote
Help I'm confused.

Hello all noob here. I am totally new to the DD-WRT and flashing a router. I currently have a WRT1900ACS and my current updated firmware is 1.0.3.177401 with a build date of 2016-11-28 21:34. I verified through the Linksys GUI and this is the most up to date version. Additionally I verified this on the 192.168.1.1/sysinfo.cgi page as well.

I want to make the jump to DD-WRT in order to use the router as a VPN client.

I have read the entire thread and been all over the FAQ pages. And am confused on where to start. There have been multiple posts about the 30-30-30 reboots and to not do this on late model routers. Additionally I have read that I can simply load up the DD-WRT F/W through the Linksys GUI with the "manual" option. I just need some advice on where to start and what .bin and or .img files I will need to do this without bricking my router.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 16 of 19
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum