Is it possible not to save traffic data?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
commodore
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 20:41    Post subject: Is it possible not to save traffic data? Reply with quote
Is it possible to set the router so that it doesn't save traffic data anymore (and not eat up nvram space)?

I see there's the "WAN Traffic Counter" section with the option to set "ttraff Daemon" to Disable; but I'm not sure whether it relates to this only, or would this also stop sending traffic info via SNMP to a computer in LAN?
Sponsor
RenRenRen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 211
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
ttraff Daemon is the one you want to disable to save nvram, but not sure if this has any impact on SNMP.
_________________
Linksys WRT1900ACS, 35531 (26/03/2018)
Linksys E3000/WRT610N v2 Conversion, Kong VPN 22000++ (06/07/2014)
commodore
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 8:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Disabled it, the graph is not there anymore, and it has no impact on data gathered via SNMP. Cool
commodore
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 9:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
On a related note -- is it possible to somehow "optimize" the nvram data usage? Currently I have this:
size: 31177 bytes (1591 left)
It seems it'll soon run out despite I've removed all traffic data out of it now.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2562
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
commodore wrote:
On a related note -- is it possible to somehow "optimize" the nvram data usage? Currently I have this:
size: 31177 bytes (1591 left)
There's a script for that. Smile You can put it in jffs; read through this:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=278848

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7|FT2020.4: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44062: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
commodore
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cool, thanks. So it deletes empty variables - and the router will still work despite that?

Can it be saved into web UI at:
Administration > Commands ... > Save Startup

EDIT: I put the line that removes empty variables into Save Startup, and it is correctly executed on startup. So far nothing broke. Cool
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum