For those having trouble flashing EA6500 V1 .trx

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
infringe12
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 3:49    Post subject: For those having trouble flashing EA6500 V1 .trx Reply with quote
Please cast your vote so I know if this helped others as well I have 5 of these puppies sitting here seems to work well for me.

-Disconnect Internet from the WAN

-Connect the PC preforming the update to a LAN port.

-Be sure to set a static IP within your range typically I set 192.168.1.100

-Flash Stock firmware (from linksys cisco) different from the one you are currently on. If you are on 27 then flash 28 if you are on 28 flash 27.

28--> http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=31877

27---> http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=31744

-Flash a specific build of the DDWRT firmware this build takes nearly every time for me. The build is by fractal dd-wrt-23656-ea6500.trx flash this first.
ftp://gakinaction.ddns.net/Fractal_Builds/23656/EA6500v1/dd-wrt-23656-ea6500.trx

-Wait until it completes totally you should load onto ddwrt firmware from there you can flash whatever build it is you want (as always check the forums to be sure the current version will work correctly and not brick the router...

Brainslayer Builds:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/
NOTE: Avoid known builds that are known to be bad read the announcements.
Be sure to use the correct firmware for the EA6500v1 it should be located in the folder specifically labeled for it.

Be sure to use the correct firmware for the EA6500v1 it should be located in the folder specifically labeled for it.

This is what has worked consistently for me.
Thought I would share!

If you still have trouble or have more questions follow this guide Wink

https://www.freesoftwareservers.com/index.php/2015/09/03/install-dd-wrt-on-linksys-ea6500/

For me I use tomato hyzoom as everything seems to be working stable for this router using that firmware I have had troubles getting DDWRT to work for any length of time.

Keep in mind none of these releases are 100% to work this is simply a test these builds are not considered final or the most stable I see mixed reports on a lot of builds to be honest.

But it begs to question why would you put an alternate firmware on your router if you are unaware there is potential risks involved not limited to bricking your router is beyond me there is always this potential so keep this in mind.

Enjoy!


Last edited by infringe12 on Tue Sep 15, 2015 23:51; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, but this post contains some very bad advice. You cannot flash ANY build after initial flashing. K24 builds on a k26 router will brick it. Also, in reading the start of the long ea6500 thread, I can find no Need to change stock firmware regardless of which one you are on to begin with.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=162802

External to ddwrt articles often contain bad advice, which is why I frown on links to them.

Someone needs to send me a ea6500 so I can write a proper wiki article on installation.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2599
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
infringe12 wrote:
[...]you should load onto ddwrt firmware from there you can flash whatever build it is you want.
I wonder if the 'loading different OEM f/w' suggestion was an indirect way to set defaults before installing DD-WRT? Anyway...
Murrkf wrote:
Sorry, but this post contains some very bad advice. You cannot flash ANY build after initial flashing. K24 builds on a k26 router will brick it. Also, in reading the start of the long ea6500 thread, I can find no Need to change stock firmware regardless of which one you are on to begin with.
Ya I would think that an appropriate build from the 'linksys-ea6500' directory (as in, avoid those with known issues from the 'New Build: ' threads, etc) here:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/*/linksys-ea6500/
...would suffice. Like:
1. Connect to LAN
2. Reset default from OEM GUI
3. Wait, then reload GUI, then load f/w above from OEM GUI
4. Wait...and watch LED activity for your future reference on boot indicators
5. Wait longer
6. If you're not already on 192.168.1.x, set static IP that isn't .1
7. Open 192.168.1.1 in browser, set new DD-WRT password
8. Reset factory defaults (or 30-30-30 if that is ok on this model)
9. Repeat #7, then profit
Anyone w/ a EA6500v1 to comment on their procedure, particularly from stock?

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.3|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44528: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
FreeSoftwareServers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:04    Post subject: Sources Reply with quote
I have 2 DD-WRT EA6500's running in a Wireless Repeater Set-up. Perhaps the 2 people in this thread with a combined 7 (Ea6500) routers have more "real world" exp with this specific device.

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=162802&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=60

Fractals Original Post

Sun Oct 13, 2013 22:00 --Fractal

3. Update firmware from the connectivity /administration/connection tab and choose the file linked below.

4. A status bar will go across your screen in red, let it finish, GIVE IT 5 minutes, this is a 21mb file.

5.... After 5 minutes you should be able to get to a web browser in a NEW TAB!!!!

The bin is available here:

ftp://ftp.basmaf.com/Fractal_Builds/22524/Linksys-EA6500/dd-wrt-K3x-22524-ea6500.trx

DO NOT MAKE TRAC TICKETS, post your info here!.. enough said.

Enjoy,

-Fractal

--Reason I still use this file (for 1st flash) is its size ~21MB vs ~24MB better install chances IMO

--Sources for "downgrade/Switch OEM FW"



bedwards311
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:58 Post subject: Reply with quote
Thx for the download link.

I disconnected my ea6500 from the Internet and tried flashing the dd wrt firmware but I'm encountering issues. The dd wrt firmware isn't flashed after the reboot it stays on stock firmware. I'm on stock firmware version 1.1.28.147876

I tried resetting the ea6500 to factory defaults then attempting to flash again with no luck.



bedwards311
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:13 Post subject: Reply with quote
Booyah! I downgraded stock firmware to 1.1.28.146856 and now it takes the dd wrt firmware. Dunno if it was the newer stock firmware of something funky with my browser! Wahoo finally dd wrt action!!!!!



nakos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:14 Post subject: Reply with quote
Successfully installed on ver.1 three days ago...everything is very stable at the moment even after reboot or power failure. the only issue was during firmware installation...every time original firmware was restored...my solution was this:
1 downgrade the original firmware to the previous version
2 upload dd-wrt
3 reboot (after reboot original firmware came again)
4 30/30/30 reset
5 magically dd-wrt fimware appears!

I'm not using AC at all for the moment so i cannot tell you anything about the speed but for the moment all the rest is fine

Just one question...is it normal that the white light "Cisco" on the top of the router is switched off?

Thanks to all developers!
blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 504

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Lately I installed 2 routers, both with the same procedure I published in a different location on this forum.
They both came with 1.28.
I downgraded to stock 1.27
Installed the first firmware available from end of 2013.
Installed 27490 twice.
No problems at all.

_________________
Netgear R8500
FreeSoftwareServers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 0:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
blaser wrote:
Lately I installed 2 routers, both with the same procedure I published in a different location on this forum.
They both came with 1.28.
I downgraded to stock 1.27
Installed the first firmware available from end of 2013.
Installed 27490 twice.
No problems at all.


Could you be specific down to the last number?

Which 1.27.? did you use? and which 2013 FW did you use. I remember there was one FW from ftp.ddwrt that was ~21MB, perhaps that is it as well, I am a firm beleiver that using the smallest FW to get DD-WRT on the router then Upgrade to newest or whatever you think is stable etc etc.
blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 504

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
FreeSoftwareServers wrote:
blaser wrote:
Lately I installed 2 routers, both with the same procedure I published in a different location on this forum.
They both came with 1.28.
I downgraded to stock 1.27
Installed the first firmware available from end of 2013.
Installed 27490 twice.
No problems at all.


Could you be specific down to the last number?

Which 1.27.? did you use? and which 2013 FW did you use. I remember there was one FW from ftp.ddwrt that was ~21MB, perhaps that is it as well, I am a firm beleiver that using the smallest FW to get DD-WRT on the router then Upgrade to newest or whatever you think is stable etc etc.


I used FW_EA6500_1.1.27.144156_prod.trx file to downgrade my router.
Then used 23082 as initial dd-wrt flash

_________________
Netgear R8500
FreeSoftwareServers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 3:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
blaser wrote:
FreeSoftwareServers wrote:
blaser wrote:
Lately I installed 2 routers, both with the same procedure I published in a different location on this forum.
They both came with 1.28.
I downgraded to stock 1.27
Installed the first firmware available from end of 2013.
Installed 27490 twice.
No problems at all.


Could you be specific down to the last number?

Which 1.27.? did you use? and which 2013 FW did you use. I remember there was one FW from ftp.ddwrt that was ~21MB, perhaps that is it as well, I am a firm beleiver that using the smallest FW to get DD-WRT on the router then Upgrade to newest or whatever you think is stable etc etc.


I used FW_EA6500_1.1.27.144156_prod.trx file to downgrade my router.
Then used 23082 as initial dd-wrt flash


Sweet thanks, just wanted to be 100% sure, I updated my guide with all the options I have known to work.

I have had issues flashing, more so with my second router, I couldn't replicate the steps exactly that made it work, I just kept trying different FW's and closing the browser at different times, I think if you leave the browser open past the upload and just wait, it does some sort of script and reloads OEM FW, but that's just a guess!
steve.rand
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
blaser wrote:

I used FW_EA6500_1.1.27.144156_prod.trx file to downgrade my router.
Then used 23082 as initial dd-wrt flash


I (coincidentally) did just this with exactly those files and was finally successful with my v1.

I chose this combo because both were trx files and 23082 was fairly small.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum