TP-Link Archer C9 Brick Fix (Revert To Stock Possibly)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Author Message
Heinzek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bad news. firmware bricked router, bootloader CFE its OK.

Try Recovery mode.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=975351#975351

Change Computer IP to 192.168.0.66 use file neworg...
Sponsor
kuennek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2015
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 18:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

ok i make it.Flash via TFTP server?Right?But i dont make step7 -step10
Heinzek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes
kuennek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2015
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey,

i have flash via TFTP but Nothing change.I have make it 2 Times but nothing change all leds are Blinking Blue.Log say

Message truncated (length was Cool [23/07 20:28:02.066]
Connection received from 192.168.0.86 on port 4670 [23/07 20:28:34.503]
Read request for file <ArcherC9v1_tp_recovery.bin>. Mode octet [23/07 20:28:34.503]
Using local port 56196 [23/07 20:28:34.503]
<ArcherC9v1_tp_recovery.bin>: sent 21770 blks, 11146107 bytes in 7 s. 0 blk resent [23/07 20:28:41.750]
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 22:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
well I'm kinda stuck here now...
I have the serial connected up and and im watching it do its thing, than it gets stuck at =>>>>WARNING:TFTP RFTEST FROM PC ERROR!

I have made an empty file RFTEST anf put it in my TFTP and its not grabbing it. Also I cant kill the router in in console to even issue commands. so now its just looping =>>>>WARNING:TFTP RFTEST FROM PC ERROR! forever.
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 22:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
well I'm kinda stuck here now...
I have the serial connected up and and im watching it do its thing, than it gets stuck at =>>>>WARNING:TFTP RFTEST FROM PC ERROR!

I have made an empty file RFTEST and put it in my TFTP and its not grabbing it. Also I cant kill the router in in console to even issue commands. so now its just looping =>>>>WARNING:TFTP RFTEST FROM PC ERROR! forever.

**update**
I was able to get into main system now over UART using root/sohoadmin
I only had to slam the keys a million times really fast to get the login to come up,
but there is no flash command that I'm seeing and I dont want to test my luck with dd just yet because I dont know if thats going to be the best solution as of yet.
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 1:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok so im logged in as root over UART but no worthwile commands work. It fills like the most stripped down ver of busybox ever. No VI no CP no MV no DD nothing to actually help me even reflash this box ;(
If you have a better solution let me know Wink
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
So now going even further I need to set my ip to 192.168.0.100 and tftp serve rftest.
Than I can go to 192.168.0.1 and tp-link firmware is there and no more rapid blink power light, BUT if you reboot you have to serve the file again or back to rapid blinking lights and no web unless you run httpd in console. I cant upgrade FW from the web flash (not even dd-wrt) it gives me an error -5555 but I figured that would happen. I can post logs if needed. As of right now though I dont understand how webflahs is even trying to flash the FW because if done a cat on the Softwareupgrade.htm and its only java script for buttons but not pointing anywhere. If I could figure out that command it was running I would be able to flash a new FW.
Heinzek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
@aboshi
1. Power off router
2. Press and hold CTRL + C
3. Power on router.
4. Wait to router break booting.


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=975932#975932

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=975946#975946
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Heinzek

Got it thanks! That finally worked! I now have CFE >I think one of my connections was lose because I was trying to break the operation all day yesterday to no avail.
I am going to try to flash the router now with stock FW Wink
I'll report back in a bit.

Now it wont even pull a file with flash getting CFE command status 21 error


Last edited by Aboshi on Fri Jul 24, 2015 13:02; edited 1 time in total
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 12:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok so first result using latest C9 firmware:

flash -noheader 192.168.1.66:archerc9v1_tp_recovery.bin flash0.trx
Reading 192.168.1.66:archerc9v1_tp_recovery.bin: Done. 11146107 bytes read
Programming...done. 11146107 bytes written
*** command status = 0

Rebooted and now CFE comes up instantly and I get:

Invalid boot block on disk
flash0.0: Device not found
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:flash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: Image compressed with unsupported method
Failed.
Could not load flash0.os:: Unsupported function
Heinzek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 13:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do not use recovery file on CFE. Recovery file have header etc.

Use My file 12.bin or edit recovery file and cut header.
Correct firmware for CFE, start with hex:
48 44 52 30 00 50 1A 00 8C 91 25 84 00 00 01 00 1C 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 5D 00 00 01


First enter command: and send reply to forum.
fdump -offset=0xe40000
fdump -offset=0xe40200
fdump -offset=0xe40400
fdump -offset=0xfe0000
fdump -offset=0xff0000
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have attached the fdump.

Also this is what happens when I try to flash 12.bin

CFE> ping 192.168.1.100
192.168.1.100 (192.168.1.100) is alive
192.168.1.100 (192.168.1.100): 1 packets sent, 1 received
*** command status = 0
CFE> flash -noheader 192.168.1.100:12.bin flash0.trx
Reading 192.168.1.100:12.bin: Failed.: Timeout occured
*** command status = -21

It times out now no matter what file I select.



fdump.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  fdump.txt
 Filesize:  6.3 KB
 Downloaded:  608 Time(s)

Heinzek
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Reading 192.168.1.100:12.bin: Failed.: Timeout occured
*** command status = -21
Du You have running TFTP server on this IP? Disable temporary firewall.
Aboshi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2015
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 17:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah its running and no firewall. I was abole to tftpover the original tplink fw and after it rebooted it got stuck in CFE. Now it will time out when I try I send it any file for flashing
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 20, 21, 22  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 22
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum