TP-Link Archer C9 Brick Fix (Revert To Stock Possibly)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Author Message
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7185
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 21:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Some routers already have the pins in them.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Sponsor
notginger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 18:57    Post subject: "found cfe nvram" error Reply with quote
I had a bad flash on my v1 router (power failure) and had to restore to stock with the serial technique (thanks to this thread) - all went well I thought and subsequently flashed to v3.0-r29947M. This runs fine until it crashes, usually every few days.

The log shows multiple out of memory errors followed by "found cfe nvram" with severity as emergency. Can anyone suggest a possible fix please?
slipperysoapbox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:05    Post subject: Stock firmware rejected by router via TFTP Reply with quote
Flash history

08-16-2016-r30432 (factory-to-ddwrt via stock webgui) failed with boot loop. Successfully reverted using TFTP method and Archer_C9_V1_151125.zip from TP-Link Website.

04-05-2016-r29409 (factory-to-ddwrt via stock webgui) successful.
09-01-2016-r30534 (dd-wrt 'normal' update) successful.

Router History

The router is second hand as something was recklessly spilled over it at a place I work at. I was unable to hard reset the router and the web gui wouldn't log me in with the correct username and password. To save messing around I just out right replaced the router with a brand new one where I work and took the old 'broken' home with me. That is the router in question.

When I got it home the web gui let me in first time and I was able to reset it. All components appeared to be functional on the stock firmware. I then flashed the firmware as described in the history.

The quality of the internet 'feels' worse than it did with my old OpenWRT 100 Megabit router. (My WAN connection is rated for 150 Megabits). I couldn't see any definitive signs of packet loss but it just feels worse somehow. I want to see if this is a hardware issue due to the spillage / software issue / configuration issue (QoS settings perhaps).

I thought reverting to stock f/w would be a good place to start. However the router wont accept any c9v1 stock images even though TFTP server shows the image being uploaded but the image doesn't actually get flashed back to the router. Router reboots with DD-WRT again
jrepa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:45    Post subject: Re: Stock firmware rejected by router via TFTP Reply with quote
slipperysoapbox wrote:
Flash history

08-16-2016-r30432 (factory-to-ddwrt via stock webgui) failed with boot loop. Successfully reverted using TFTP method and Archer_C9_V1_151125.zip from TP-Link Website.

04-05-2016-r29409 (factory-to-ddwrt via stock webgui) successful.
09-01-2016-r30534 (dd-wrt 'normal' update) successful.

Router History

The router is second hand as something was recklessly spilled over it at a place I work at. I was unable to hard reset the router and the web gui wouldn't log me in with the correct username and password. To save messing around I just out right replaced the router with a brand new one where I work and took the old 'broken' home with me. That is the router in question.

When I got it home the web gui let me in first time and I was able to reset it. All components appeared to be functional on the stock firmware. I then flashed the firmware as described in the history.

The quality of the internet 'feels' worse than it did with my old OpenWRT 100 Megabit router. (My WAN connection is rated for 150 Megabits). I couldn't see any definitive signs of packet loss but it just feels worse somehow. I want to see if this is a hardware issue due to the spillage / software issue / configuration issue (QoS settings perhaps).

I thought reverting to stock f/w would be a good place to start. However the router wont accept any c9v1 stock images even though TFTP server shows the image being uploaded but the image doesn't actually get flashed back to the router. Router reboots with DD-WRT again


I had the same issue and tried another user suggestion to check SSH to see if the radio was messed up. Followed the instruction and now I am stuck with all lights on when I turn on the router. If I hold down WPS while turning on the router, the WPS light stay on by itself. Any help?
slipperysoapbox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 7:14    Post subject: Re: Stock firmware rejected by router via TFTP Reply with quote
Which instructions did you follow?
jrepa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2016 19:29    Post subject: Re: Stock firmware rejected by router via TFTP Reply with quote
slipperysoapbox wrote:
Which instructions did you follow?

Used the web gui with the C9reverttostock firmware. When I flashed the C9 revert to stock firmware, my power light kept rapidly blinking with no other lights on. Recovered via DD-WRT and when I attempted to use the TFTP method and try to Used the archer stock firmware as the original DD -WRT firmware that was flashed was from May 2016 and would have thought the partition would have the information as it stated in this forum that is should have been saved with the newer firmwares. Renamed it to the recovery name, it would just revert back to DD-WRT.

Since the power light was blinking before, I thought the radio could be possibly messed up and used the instruction below

slipperysoapbox wrote:

Heinzek
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 13:56 Post subject: Reply with quote
Back to stock from DD-WRT - FullRevert
1. Login in to DD-WRT config page.
2. Go to Services - Secure Shell - SSHd > Enable
3. On Windows install WinSCP - https://winscp.net/eng/download.php
4. Connect to 192.168.1.1 using SCP protocol. Login root, password is the same for webinterface.
5. Download and extract archive: https://mega.nz/#!gRJQAZZC!MfnW31l-qP2Qkpy1wOrfiSi6R4Vasa9UDUiZ2rrOAmg
6. Copy file radio.bin and firmware.bin to /tmp/ directory on router.
7. Open Terminal ( CTRL + T) and Enter command: mtd write /tmp/radio.bin nvram_cfe
8. Click Execute and wait 3 sec and click close.
9. enter command: mtd -r write /tmp/firmware.bin linux
10. wait 80 sec. Dont worry about popup.

Router automaticly reboot and run with factory firmware.

Router MAC: 14 CC 20 D1 DC AA
WPA key/WPS pin: 79342513

Good Luck!!
Changing MAC and PIN its to hard for me.

Now, when I turn on the router, all the lights stay on. If I hold the WPS Button and then turn on the router, the WPS light is the only one that lights up. Any tips beside using the serial connector to fix the issue?
blackheron
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 8:50    Post subject: Re: Stock firmware rejected by router via TFTP Reply with quote
jrepa wrote:

Now, when I turn on the router, all the lights stay on. If I hold the WPS Button and then turn on the router, the WPS light is the only one that lights up. Any tips beside using the serial connector to fix the issue?


I am on this very same situation since May. Couldn't get any of the mentioned firmwares to do anything after the router downloads them from TFTPd. Everything works great, file is correctly sent, then the router stands still with the WPS light stuck and nothing happens. Responds to ping at 192.168.0.86 (TTL=100) but i can't get any byte back from the router except ping replies.
dwardo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

I was on build 30385 working fine, and tried to update to 30681...
It wouldn’t update through webflash (update failed popup after 5 minutes…)
So I also tried to flash 30432 through webflash and that also failed…
At this point I figured webflash was borked in 30385 so i figured I’d try manual cmomand line flash from inside administration web gui (as found on the wiki) « nohup mtd write firmware.bin linux »…
 Something went wrong, the router ended up staying on all lights on (not blinking) after rebooting (waited more than 5 minutes…).

Anyways now I can get into recovery mode (only the 2 arrows light is on) and send "ArcherC9v1_tp_recovery.bin" (using tftpd32 and ethernet cable)... but after sending it nothing happens (i.e. router does not reboot)

Any ideas appart from :
* RMA the router
* open it up and do some soldering for serial recovery
dwardo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
dwardo wrote:
Hello,

I was on build 30385 working fine, and tried to update to 30681...
It wouldn’t update through webflash (update failed popup after 5 minutes…)
So I also tried to flash 30432 through webflash and that also failed…
At this point I figured webflash was borked in 30385 so i figured I’d try manual cmomand line flash from inside administration web gui (as found on the wiki) « nohup mtd write firmware.bin linux »…
 Something went wrong, the router ended up staying on all lights on (not blinking) after rebooting (waited more than 5 minutes…).

Anyways now I can get into recovery mode (only the 2 arrows light is on) and send "ArcherC9v1_tp_recovery.bin" (using tftpd32 and ethernet cable)... but after sending it nothing happens (i.e. router does not reboot)

Any ideas appart from :
* RMA the router
* open it up and do some soldering for serial recovery



Well I went the serial way...
1) flashed stock using 12.bin (after changing the MAC and pin to mine but not doing CRC32.exe) and mtd3.bin
MAC change was effective for Lan & Wireless (1 & 2) but unfortunately not for WAN (haven't figured that one out)
2) webflashed ddwrt r30681 (with factory-to-ddwrt)
Noticed then that all MAC adresses changed to something else again...

Then I got bold Smile
3) webflashed r30385 --> Worked
4) restored previous r30385 install nvram_backup --> wifi stopped working... Strange given it was a 30385 backup I restored...
5) reset and manually reconfigured wifi --> wifi WORKED
6) tried to webflash back to r30681 --> Failed
30385 webflash ability is definitely borked !!!

So next I have to revert to r30681 (possible using serial restore again...)

P.S. r30385 definitely has webflashing issues as on my other router, a wr1043nd also on 30385, webflashing also fails Sad !
renatoabud
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Sep 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:20    Post subject: Brick after a bad FW Upgrade Reply with quote
dwardo wrote:
dwardo wrote:
Hello,

I was on build 30385 working fine, and tried to update to 30681...
It wouldn’t update through webflash (update failed popup after 5 minutes…)
So I also tried to flash 30432 through webflash and that also failed…
At this point I figured webflash was borked in 30385 so i figured I’d try manual cmomand line flash from inside administration web gui (as found on the wiki) « nohup mtd write firmware.bin linux »…
 Something went wrong, the router ended up staying on all lights on (not blinking) after rebooting (waited more than 5 minutes…).

Anyways now I can get into recovery mode (only the 2 arrows light is on) and send "ArcherC9v1_tp_recovery.bin" (using tftpd32 and ethernet cable)... but after sending it nothing happens (i.e. router does not reboot)

Any ideas appart from :
* RMA the router
* open it up and do some soldering for serial recovery



Well I went the serial way...
1) flashed stock using 12.bin (after changing the MAC and pin to mine but not doing CRC32.exe) and mtd3.bin
MAC change was effective for Lan & Wireless (1 & 2) but unfortunately not for WAN (haven't figured that one out)
2) webflashed ddwrt r30681 (with factory-to-ddwrt)
Noticed then that all MAC adresses changed to something else again...

Then I got bold Smile
3) webflashed r30385 --> Worked
4) restored previous r30385 install nvram_backup --> wifi stopped working... Strange given it was a 30385 backup I restored...
5) reset and manually reconfigured wifi --> wifi WORKED
6) tried to webflash back to r30681 --> Failed
30385 webflash ability is definitely borked !!!

So next I have to revert to r30681 (possible using serial restore again...)

P.S. r30385 definitely has webflashing issues as on my other router, a wr1043nd also on 30385, webflashing also fails Sad !


Hi,
I´m new here, but I have been following this fórum and this topic for a few months.

I Have na Archer C9 V1.

After a bad FW upgrade, my router has bricked, looping all lights on and off for 3 or 4 seconds end then reboot.
I have tried to restore factory FW with no success. Then tried to recovery with Tftpd32 using many different firmwares. nothing.
at last, I have opened the router and connected via serial with Putty to flash 12.bin and mtd3.bin. Same Issue.

Analising the output, I observed that the router boots when it´s configuring the second USB as follows:


****************************************
CFE version 6.37.14.93 (r469350) based on BBP 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,)
Build Date: 2015? 05? 14? ??? 19:10:42 CST (tomcat@buildserver)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
DDR Clock: 800 MHz
Info: DDR frequency set from clkfreq=1000,*800*
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 6.37.14.93 (r469350)
CPU type 0x0: 1000MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

CFE mem: 0x00F00000 - 0x02F80E6C (34082412)
Data: 0x00F48B4C - 0x00F49020 (1236)
BSS: 0x00F49030 - 0x00F7EE6C (220732)
Heap: 0x00F7EE6C - 0x02F7EE6C (33554432)
Stack: 0x02F7EE6C - 0x02F80E6C (8192)
Text: 0x00F00000 - 0x00F3F29C (258716)

Device eth0: hwaddr EC-08-6B-4D-40-4E, ipaddr 192.168.0.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:flash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: .... 4232512 bytes read
Entry at 0x00008000
Closing network.
Starting program at 0x00008000
console [ttyS0] enabled, bootconsole disabled
serial8250.0: ttyS1 at MMIO 0x18000400 (irq = 117) is a 16550
brd: module loaded
loop: module loaded
pflash: found no supported devices
bcmsflash: squash filesystem found at block 36
Creating 5 MTD partitions on "bcmsflash":
0x000000000000-0x000000040000 : "boot"
0x000000040000-0x000000240000 : "linux"
0x000000240000-0x000000ee0000 : "rootfs"
0x000000fe0000-0x000000ff0000 : "radio"
0x000000ff0000-0x000001000000 : "nvram"
nflash: found no supported devices
PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
NET: Registered protocol family 24
usbmon: debugfs is not available
ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: EHCI Host Controller
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: irq 111, io mem 0x18021000
ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: USB 0.0 started, EHCI 1.00
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0b.0: OHCI Host Controller
ohci_hcd 0000:00:0b.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
Digital core power voltage set to 1.0V
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 1.0V
*************************************

Does anyone know how I can fix it? Is it a partition problem? any idea?
Thanks
dwardo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 19:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
dwardo wrote:
dwardo wrote:
Hello,

I was on build 30385 working fine, and tried to update to 30681...
It wouldn’t update through webflash (update failed popup after 5 minutes…)
So I also tried to flash 30432 through webflash and that also failed…
At this point I figured webflash was borked in 30385 so i figured I’d try manual cmomand line flash from inside administration web gui (as found on the wiki) « nohup mtd write firmware.bin linux »…
 Something went wrong, the router ended up staying on all lights on (not blinking) after rebooting (waited more than 5 minutes…).

Anyways now I can get into recovery mode (only the 2 arrows light is on) and send "ArcherC9v1_tp_recovery.bin" (using tftpd32 and ethernet cable)... but after sending it nothing happens (i.e. router does not reboot)

Any ideas appart from :
* RMA the router
* open it up and do some soldering for serial recovery



Well I went the serial way...
1) flashed stock using 12.bin (after changing the MAC and pin to mine but not doing CRC32.exe) and mtd3.bin
MAC change was effective for Lan & Wireless (1 & 2) but unfortunately not for WAN (haven't figured that one out)
2) webflashed ddwrt r30681 (with factory-to-ddwrt)
Noticed then that all MAC adresses changed to something else again...

Then I got bold Smile
3) webflashed r30385 --> Worked
4) restored previous r30385 install nvram_backup --> wifi stopped working... Strange given it was a 30385 backup I restored...
5) reset and manually reconfigured wifi --> wifi WORKED
6) tried to webflash back to r30681 --> Failed
30385 webflash ability is definitely borked !!!

So next I have to revert to r30681 (possible using serial restore again...)

P.S. r30385 definitely has webflashing issues as on my other router, a wr1043nd also on 30385, webflashing also fails Sad !



Well the Wifi issues on the restore from nvram_backup was just that
Code:
radiooff_button=1

instead of
Code:
radiooff_button=0

in the backup file... did a
Code:
nvram set radiooff_button=0
nvram commit
reboot

and all was back in order... strange, this never happened before...
slipperysoapbox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
dwardo wrote:

Well the Wifi issues on the restore from nvram_backup was just that
Code:
radiooff_button=1

instead of
Code:
radiooff_button=0

in the backup file... did a
Code:
nvram set radiooff_button=0
nvram commit
reboot

and all was back in order... strange, this never happened before...


Can I use this to soft restore stock on my router without a (serial cable)?
dwardo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
slipperysoapbox wrote:
dwardo wrote:

Well the Wifi issues on the restore from nvram_backup was just that
Code:
radiooff_button=1

instead of
Code:
radiooff_button=0

in the backup file... did a
Code:
nvram set radiooff_button=0
nvram commit
reboot

and all was back in order... strange, this never happened before...


Can I use this to soft restore stock on my router without a (serial cable)?


No this information is about restoring configuration/Setup from nvram_backup not restoring original firmware.
Adelsdrofer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 19:19    Post subject: Bricked C9, tftp method doesn't work Reply with quote
I tried to flash the latest dd-wrt firmware and my router bricked. So I tried using the tftp method, the file gets served to the router but then the router reboots without flashing it and back to the bootloop (4 seconds all LEDs, then off for a while, then back on again).

How can I proceed from here?
celloshred
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Nov 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 17:14    Post subject: I dont even know how y'all are getting this to work Reply with quote
I have the C9 connected directly to my PC. Changed the IP address, I have TFTP running but nothing happens.

the Router still does the same "all lights on for a few seconds, then all off for about 10 seconds" and repeat thing.

In the TFTP window, nothing happens in the log. Seems as if the router isnt even talking to the TFTP server.

Ideas?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 20, 21, 22  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 17 of 22
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum