Problem setting up PPPoE over VLAN on ASUS RT-AC87U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:47    Post subject: Problem setting up PPPoE over VLAN on ASUS RT-AC87U Reply with quote
Hi,

I am trying to setup my AC87U to work with my FTTH provider (Movistar TV/ Imagenio) and I am having issues getting PPPoE to work. (I had posted this question inside someone else's thread but decided to open a new one following forum guidelines)

What I am trying to do:

Configuration in DD-WRT seems to be quite straight forward as indicated in multiple sites:

    Connection Type: PPPoE
    Username: adslppp@telefonicanetpa
    Password: adslppp
    MTU: Manual 1492
    WAN Tagged: VLAN6


In particular, the most comprenhensive guide I've seen: http://aciegas.com/dd-wrt-y-movistar/

And to eliminate other potential causes for the problem, I want to clarify this configuration does work when using ASUS original firmware.

What happens:

The WAN interface fails to get an IP address.

By looking at var/log/messages it seems there is a problem with PPP daemon.

Code:
Jan  1 00:06:17 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:06:19 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon hanging, send SIGKILL
Jan  1 00:06:19 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:06:20 DD-WRT daemon.notice pppd[2329]: pppd 2.4.7 started by root, uid 0
Jan  1 00:06:51 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:06:53 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon hanging, send SIGKILL
Jan  1 00:06:53 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:06:53 DD-WRT daemon.notice pppd[2428]: pppd 2.4.7 started by root, uid 0


Additional Information:

    Router Model: ASUS RT-AC87U
    HW Version: A1
    DD-WRT Build: Tried several...r25697; r27240; r27147


Tried to see if I could see anything strange with tcpdump but unable to arrive to any conclusion:

Code:
tcpdump: listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes
01:09:10.000244 60:03:08:a4:41:bc (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 280: vlan 1, p 0, ethertype IPv4, (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 60736, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 262)
    192.168.1.124.17500 > 192.168.1.255.17500: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 234
01:09:11.435624 38:2c:4a:aa:76:c0 (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 36: vlan 6, p 0, ethertype PPPoE D, PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0x800F0000]
01:09:16.453539 38:2c:4a:aa:76:c0 (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 36: vlan 6, p 0, ethertype PPPoE D, PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0x800F0000]
01:09:18.369932 60:03:08:a4:41:bc (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 90: vlan 1, p 0, ethertype IPv4, (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 32501, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 72)
    192.168.1.124.57621 > 192.168.1.255.57621: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 44
01:09:26.479518 38:2c:4a:aa:76:c0 (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 36: vlan 6, p 0, ethertype PPPoE D, PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0x800F0000]
01:09:40.052741 60:03:08:a4:41:bc (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 280: vlan 1, p 0, ethertype IPv4, (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 63655, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 262)
    192.168.1.124.17500 > 192.168.1.255.17500: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 234
01:09:44.962084 38:2c:4a:aa:76:c0 (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 36: vlan 6, p 0, ethertype PPPoE D, PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0xA90F0000]
01:09:48.371490 60:03:08:a4:41:bc (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 90: vlan 1, p 0, ethertype IPv4, (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 26849, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 72)
    192.168.1.124.57621 > 192.168.1.255.57621: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 44
01:09:49.980025 38:2c:4a:aa:76:c0 (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 36: vlan 6, p 0, ethertype PPPoE D, PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0xA90F0000]
01:10:00.006003 38:2c:4a:aa:76:c0 (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 36: vlan 6, p 0, ethertype PPPoE D, PPPoE PADI [Service-Name] [Host-Uniq 0xA90F0000]
01:10:10.101765 60:03:08:a4:41:bc (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 280: vlan 1, p 0, ethertype IPv4, (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 16008, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 262)
    192.168.1.124.17500 > 192.168.1.255.17500: [udp sum ok] UDP, length 234



I would be grateful if anyone could help!

Thanks!
Sponsor
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:31    Post subject: Any tip? Reply with quote
Hi All,

Anyone could give me any tip on where to further investigate? Is there anywhere else I can submit a question?

In particular, does anybody now if there are additional logs or debugging I can activate around PPPoE to progress in understanding what's going wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Víctor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5171
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the output of "nvram show | grep vlan*.ports"?
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for support.

Here goes the output of the command you asked plus a couple of them more just in case it contributes to the troubleshooting.

Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan*.ports
size: 32142 bytes (33394 left)
vlan2ports=0 7u
vlan1ports=1 2 3 5 7*
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep port*.vlans
size: 32142 bytes (33394 left)
port5vlans=1 2 3 6 16
port3vlans=1 18 19 21
port1vlans=1 18 19 21
port4vlans=1 18 19 21
port2vlans=1 18 19 21
port0vlans=2 3 6 16 18 19 21root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*hwname
size: 32142 bytes (33394 left)
vlan2hwname=et1
vlan1hwname=et1
root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:21614 errors:0 dropped:176 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:22626 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1551885 (1.4 MiB)  TX bytes:17597503 (16.7 MiB)

br0:0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          inet addr:169.254.255.1  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

br0:1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          inet addr:169.254.39.123  Bcast:169.254.39.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

br0:2     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          inet addr:1.1.1.1  Bcast:1.1.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:18458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:19852 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1619262 (1.5 MiB)  TX bytes:15265276 (14.5 MiB)
          Interrupt:180 Base address:0x5000

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C2 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:3150 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:12345
          TX packets:3184 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:382845 (373.8 KiB)  TX bytes:2752228 (2.6 MiB)
          Interrupt:163

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:10692 (10.4 KiB)  TX bytes:10692 (10.4 KiB)

vlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:18458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:19700 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1213186 (1.1 MiB)  TX bytes:15147524 (14.4 MiB)

vlan2     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C1 
          inet addr:10.64.114.165  Bcast:10.127.255.255  Mask:255.192.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC ALLMULTI MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:19590 (19.1 KiB)

vlan3     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:51 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:17442 (17.0 KiB)

vlan6     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 38:2C:4A:AA:76:C0 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:41 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:1312 (1.2 KiB)


Compressed full extract of nvram attached.



nvram.tar.gz
 Description:
Complete nvram dump

Download
 Filename:  nvram.tar.gz
 Filesize:  12.43 KB
 Downloaded:  677 Time(s)

Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5171
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
vlan2ports=0 7u
vlan1ports=1 2 3 5 7*
vlan2hwname=et1
vlan1hwname=et1


vlan6 is missing here.

nvram set vlan2ports="0t 7u"
nvram set vlan6ports="0t 7u"
nvram set vlan6hwname=et1

Also set the WAN to vlan6
Setup->Networking->WAN Port Assignment=vlan6

PS. This is the first time I have seen the processor on port 7.
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Another thing I have realised is that I fail to configure VLAN2 "Assigned to Bridge" to None in VLAN settings. I can do it, and click on "Save" or "Apply Settings", but whenever I revisit the VLAN configuration page it remains as assigned to LAN.

I don't know if this has anything to do with my problem but just in case, as in the tutorial I followed to configure the router it appears as assigned to None.



Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 21.13.22.png
 Description:
VLAN Configuration Screenshot
 Filesize:  125.13 KB
 Viewed:  16585 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 21.13.22.png


neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
vlan2ports=0 7u
vlan1ports=1 2 3 5 7*
vlan2hwname=et1
vlan1hwname=et1


vlan6 is missing here.

nvram set vlan2ports="0t 7u"
nvram set vlan6ports="0t 7u"
nvram set vlan6hwname=et1

Also set the WAN to vlan6
Setup->Networking->WAN Port Assignment=vlan6

PS. This is the first time I have seen the processor on port 7.


Thanks for your support... although no progress. I have entered the commands you suggested and also configured WAN Port Assignment to vlan6... but still it doesn't work the PPPoE.

Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan.*ports
vlan6ports=0t 7u
size: 33246 bytes (32290 left)
vlan2ports=0t 7u
vlan1ports=1 2 3 5 7*
root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan6
vlan6ports=0t 7u
size: 33246 bytes (32290 left)
vlan6hwname=et1
wan_ifname2=vlan6
vlan6_nat=1
pppoe_wan_ifname=vlan6
vlan6_txq=0
wan_ifnames=vlan6
rc_startup=nvram set pppoe_wan_ifname=vlan6
phyint vlan6 disabled
vlan6_bridged=1
vlan6_multicast=0
wan_ifname=vlan6
vlan6_mtu=1500
bat_vlan6_bridge=br0


In case it helps I also find something that strikes me. MAC address for WAN and LAN seems to be the same. Shouldn't these be two separate addresses? (attaching picture)



Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 21.46.34.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  131.27 KB
 Viewed:  16577 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 21.46.34.png


Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5171
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 19:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
vlan6 shall not be assigned to br0.

If you set the interface to dhcp, do you get an ip address?
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry, I may not be fully understanding your last comment.

I don't see VLAN6 assigned to br0... in fact:

Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# brctl show
bridge name   bridge id      STP enabled   interfaces
br0      8000.382c4aaa76c0   no      vlan1
                     vlan2
                     eth1


Regarding DHCP... I have tried (as one of my multiple troubleshooting tests) to connect WAN port of the ASUS to one of the LAN ports of my original router... in a double-nated configuration... but it also fails to get an IP via DHCP. Is this what you mean?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5171
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 20:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
If vlan6 is not bridged, what does this mean?

vlan6_bridged=1
bat_vlan6_bridge=br0
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks so much for patience and support!

You are absolutely right that nvram says that, but brctl however doesn't. It really drives me crazy... where are those bridges configured? I haven't explicitly chosen for it to be bridged, how comes it goes bridged?

In any case, I have done the following:

Code:
nvram set vlan6_bridged=0
nvram unset bat_vlan6_bridge
nvram commit
reboot


But unfortunately, PPPoE still seems to be failing. I am including a dump of the system log:

Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# tail -f ../var/log/messages
Jan  1 00:02:20 DD-WRT daemon.notice pppd[1598]: pppd 2.4.6 started by root, uid 0
Jan  1 00:02:51 DD-WRT kern.info kernel: device vlan6 entered promiscuous mode
Jan  1 00:02:51 DD-WRT kern.info kernel: device vlan6 left promiscuous mode
Jan  1 00:02:51 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:02:53 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon hanging, send SIGKILL
Jan  1 00:02:53 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:02:54 DD-WRT daemon.notice pppd[1664]: pppd 2.4.6 started by root, uid 0
Jan  1 00:03:25 DD-WRT kern.info kernel: device vlan6 entered promiscuous mode
Jan  1 00:03:25 DD-WRT kern.info kernel: device vlan6 left promiscuous mode
Jan  1 00:03:25 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:03:27 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon hanging, send SIGKILL
Jan  1 00:03:27 DD-WRT user.info : pppd : PPP daemon successfully stopped
Jan  1 00:03:27 DD-WRT daemon.notice pppd[1719]: pppd 2.4.6 started by root, uid 0


Also attaching a screenshot of the networking page.



Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 22.47.53.png
 Description:
Setup -> Networking
 Filesize:  163.08 KB
 Viewed:  16536 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 22.47.53.png


neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am continuing with the troubleshooting and one thing I find strange is that if I do a tcpdump of eth0, I can see PPPoE Active Discovery Initiation (PADI) Messages over VLAN ID 6 (I guess as it should be). However, I see no incoming message at all from the WAN interface.

(See attached screenshot from Wireshark, also attached full dump)

Update: In fact, by looking at ifconfig I have the impression that no packets are being received in any of the vlans supposedly connected with WAN port. RX Packets = 0

Is this normal?

I appreciate a lot your support and patience!!

Thanks,

Víctor



WANDump.png
 Description:
Wireshark screenshot
 Filesize:  345.42 KB
 Viewed:  16514 Time(s)

WANDump.png



trace.txt
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  trace.txt
 Filesize:  18.05 KB
 Downloaded:  740 Time(s)

Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5171
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is connected to the wan port?

It appears that the device in the other end does not have the same tagged vlan configuration.
neneonline
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

The setup is as follows:

ISP <--ftth--> ONT <--eth--> AC87U Wan

In the Ethernet connection between ONT and WAN there are supposedly three tagged VLANs: 2 (IPTV), 3 (VoIP) and 6 (Internet). In particular, Internet is delivered using PPPoE on VLAN6.

It really puzzles me not reading any incoming message over the WAN port when I do the "tcpdump -i eth0". The only ones I read (dropbox ones for example) are those on my LAN. Might it be the case that the switch ports are not properly configure? I tried to play with swconfig (that I read in an old post is used to configure the switch) but it seems did-wrt no longer has it. Any suggestion?

Thanks!
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5171
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
swconfig is not for Broadcom. You must have looked in a forum for another chipset.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum