Difference between Archer C5 and C7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
hebeda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 415
Location: Leipzig, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
actually all these converting procedures are not needed.

the dd-wrt firmware vor C5 v1.2 just unlocks all Archer c7 features without any hassle - fUll 1300mbps on 5ghz and 450 mbps on 2.4ghz .... Wink


Last edited by hebeda on Sun Feb 03, 2019 15:39; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
pczeilon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good to know. It's still a nice option to run the stock TP-Link C7 firmware though.
coolpontiac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 19:48    Post subject: can you say exactly which fw version please? Reply with quote
hebeda wrote:
actually all these converting procedures are not needed.

the dd-wrt firmware vor C5 v1.2 just unlocks all Archer c7 features without any hassle - fUll 1300mbps on 5ghz and 450 mbps on 2.4ghz .... Wink


I just bought a used tplink ac1200 C5 and am trying to understand easiest way to get stable ddwrt working on it.

which specific .bin file do i want to use?

do i need to installed a factory to ddwrt bin first and THEN install another .bin specifically for c5?

thanks for helping!
pczeilon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, a "Factory to DDWRT" of whatever version you wish to try the first time you flash. Then later, if you want to try a different version, you just use the normal .bin. For example, the latest version as of today is r38581. You would flash "factory-to-ddwrt-US.bin" (Assuming you have a sold in USA Router) on this page.
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2019%2F02-06-2019-r38581%2Ftplink_archer-c5-v1%2F
Any subsequent changes to firmware should be made by flashing the "tplink_archer-c5-v1-US.bin" file.
coolpontiac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
pczeilon wrote:
Yes, a "Factory to DDWRT" of whatever version you wish to try the first time you flash. Then later, if you want to try a different version, you just use the normal .bin. For example, the latest version as of today is r38581. You would flash "factory-to-ddwrt-US.bin" (Assuming you have a sold in USA Router) on this page.
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2019%2F02-06-2019-r38581%2Ftplink_archer-c5-v1%2F
Any subsequent changes to firmware should be made by flashing the "tplink_archer-c5-v1-US.bin" file.


thanks but just to be clear... (because i understand a little bit about hardware)...are you saying that the factory to ddwrt.bin fw that you pointed me to is specific for my router model? if so... then isnt that enough? why would i immediately overwrite it with another fw file that is also specific to my router (that being the tplink_archer-c5-v1-US.bin file)? the 2nd file simply overwrite the first no?

thanks
coolpontiac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
pczeilon wrote:
Yes, a "Factory to DDWRT" of whatever version you wish to try the first time you flash. Then later, if you want to try a different version, you just use the normal .bin. For example, the latest version as of today is r38581. You would flash "factory-to-ddwrt-US.bin" (Assuming you have a sold in USA Router) on this page.
https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2019%2F02-06-2019-r38581%2Ftplink_archer-c5-v1%2F
Any subsequent changes to firmware should be made by flashing the "tplink_archer-c5-v1-US.bin" file.


hi again. sorry. i think i can answer my own question.... each rev folder has 2 diff .bins , one for upgrade from factory and one for upgrade from prior ver of ddwrt... but both will put the router into the same end configuration? is that correct?

most of the forum guidance seems to say dont just install the latest rev but to search the forums to see what is the most recent stable rev. i dont find much mention of my archer c5 v1.2, is the rev you pointed to , one that you are using? thx!
pczeilon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
coolpontiac wrote:

hi again. sorry. i think i can answer my own question.... each rev folder has 2 diff .bins , one for upgrade from factory and one for upgrade from prior ver of ddwrt... but both will put the router into the same end configuration? is that correct?

Yes
coolpontiac wrote:
Most of the forum guidance seems to say dont just install the latest rev but to search the forums to see what is the most recent stable rev. i dont find much mention of my archer c5 v1.2, is the rev you pointed to , one that you are using? thx!

This is the tough part. Check the Atheros forum for build discussions in general. It's not necessary to find C5 specific posts. Builds generally will have the same issues across all routers with similar chipsets.
coolpontiac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2019
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
pczeilon wrote:
coolpontiac wrote:

hi again. sorry. i think i can answer my own question.... each rev folder has 2 diff .bins , one for upgrade from factory and one for upgrade from prior ver of ddwrt... but both will put the router into the same end configuration? is that correct?

Yes
coolpontiac wrote:
Most of the forum guidance seems to say dont just install the latest rev but to search the forums to see what is the most recent stable rev. i dont find much mention of my archer c5 v1.2, is the rev you pointed to , one that you are using? thx!

This is the tough part. Check the Atheros forum for build discussions in general. It's not necessary to find C5 specific posts. Builds generally will have the same issues across all routers with similar chipsets.


does it make sense to you that there are 2 diff fw upgrades to same end state depending on whether you start with factory install or prior drt install? my understanding is fw will rewrite entirely former install to a new one. it doesnt seem to be an 'additive' process if youknow what i mean?

also...
on 1/26/19 the instructions you give are to basically turn my c5 into a c7 ver 2 with the factory fw? if true then uour last sentance, do you say i can then flash with the ddwrt fw for C7 instead of C5?

thanks!
pczeilon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
coolpontiac wrote:

does it make sense to you that there are 2 diff fw upgrades to same end state depending on whether you start with factory install or prior drt install? my understanding is fw will rewrite entirely former install to a new one. it doesnt seem to be an 'additive' process if youknow what i mean?

Yes, this is how it works. Someone with more technical expertise than I can chime in about the nuts & bolts of why. By the same token. you can't flash back to factory by using the stock TP-Link firmware either.

coolpontiac wrote:
also...
on 1/26/19 the instructions you give are to basically turn my c5 into a c7 ver 2 with the factory fw? if true then uour last sentance, do you say i can then flash with the ddwrt fw for C7 instead of C5?

thanks!

That is correct. You flash with DDWRT C7 v2 firmware once it has been "converted".
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum