TP-Link Archer C9 Thread

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 70, 71, 72  Next
Author Message
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
you may have a lemon. you should revert back to the tp-link firmware and do further testing. if it continues to freeze up on you even with the tp-link firmware, then rma it.
_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
Sponsor
hachiroku
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 16:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep that's the next step...

but I did realize that I was a dufus in the aspect that with this router I forgot to do 30/30/30 reset before firmware and 30/30/30 reset after firmware.

currently on
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/07/15) std
(SVN revision 26854)
which has AC/N connection issues on 5Ghz. devices will connect and disconnect every 30-60 seconds, but while connected be super fast on the network.

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/07/15) std

Time: 09:57:38 up 2 days, 8:32, load average: 0.33, 0.26, 0.23

to report back in a few days. thanks for the help guys. if all goes well which SVN revision do you guys recommend? I'm weary about some of the newer releases as I did have connection issues, but again...I didn't complete a 30/30/30 before and 30/30/30 after.
hachiroku
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 18:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Time: 10:59:53 up 3 days, 9:34, load average: 0.37, 0.26, 0.24


gonna install 09-11-2015-r27805/tplink_archer-c9, wish me luck. haha

EDIT:
27805 installed fine but 5GHz AC/N was unable to connect or receive an IP address.

went with

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r27435 (06/24/15) std
Time: 12:34:27 up 5 min, load average: 0.31, 0.19, 0.08

5GHz AC/N connects and works but drops every 30 seconds to a few short minutes. When it does work though it is super fast.

2.4GHz mixed works fine so far.


Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r27435 (06/24/15) std
Time: 19:14:32 up 6:45, load average: 0.39, 0.36, 0.31

changed 5GHz to mixed instead of AC/N and connection has been much better, but after 3 back to back speedtest.net tests now the 5GHz network has stopped communicating with the internet. Still connected though, but no data being moved really.

EDIT 2:
DD-WRT v3.0-r27435 (06/24/15) std
10:44:10 up 3 days, 13:36, load average: 0.16, 0.10, 0.06

anybody know if 5Ghz is going to ever be worked on? I read a few posts stating that 5Ghz functionality is low priority for broadcom chipsets. Also seems that not doing 30/30/30 before and after flash was the root of all of my issues as seen by 2 SVN's having a 3+day uptime.
hachiroku
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
not sure if any work will be done, but I created a issue log ticket. Please add to ticket to promote work. Thanks!

#4850 new
TP-Link Archer C9 - 5GHz Wifi unstable
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/4850#ticket
adriandaz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 May 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi, please can someone check if the Archer C9 has SNMP available as a service under Administration --> Management --> SNMP

thanks,

Adrian.
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
SNMP is NOT there on 27490
_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
adriandaz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 May 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Damn Confused
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 5:06    Post subject: speed dropped Reply with quote
Installed Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 (09/11/15)
5Ghz speed dropped from 500 Mbps to 150 Mbps, compared to stock firmware. Sad

But 2.4Ghz dropped to 150Mbps from 200Mbps
gigman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 May 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
chrispa6e wrote:
greenwrthorn wrote:
Hay guys, I just thought I should inform you of the info I have received from Tp-Link customer service. They said that the R&D team are working on a VPN server which should be coming in the next firmware updates or so. I dont know if it not something that some of you want but its what I need.


That will be awesome if it is client side, all the factory firmware VPN software I have seen has been to connect to the router from outside the home network, not to connect the router to VPN provider like Privateinternetaccess.com for example.

As i wrote the C9 with the DD-WRT firmware has been able to do that for some time, although I use Torguard.

Policy settings, with some addresses going through the
openvpn tunnel and some going through your normal IP Is
easy and very stable.
hachiroku
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've setup my router to use privateinternetaccess.

their website has a FAQ how to configure for DD-WRT. it takes 3-5 minutes to configure settings within DD-WRT's WebGUI.

works perfectly, but throughput isn't so good. Max DL I was able to receive was 15-20mbps. I have yet to attempt to use other servers.

goto Support->Client Support->Other Devices VPN How To->DD-WRT OPENVPN SETUP

https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/pages/client-support/dd-wrt-openvpn
hachiroku
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r27858 std (09/28/15)
Time: 09:49:55 up 1 day, 15:07, load average: 0.01, 0.08, 0.12


BEEN FLAWLESS ON 5GHZ. best release thus yet! QoS wasn't working until reboot of router though. usually works when you click apply.


Wireless
Interface
Radio Radio is On
Mode AP
Network NG-Mixed
Channel 11 + 9
TX Power Auto
Rate 150 Mbps

Interface
Radio Radio is On
Mode AP
Network AC-Only
Channel 161 + 155
TX Power Auto
Rate 433 Mbps

2.4Ghz can hit 300Mbps no problem
5Ghz can hit 1300Mbps no problem
greenwrthorn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 13:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the update Hachiroku, its much appreciated Very Happy
what19
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:15    Post subject: Multi SSID? Reply with quote
hi,
sorry for my poor english...

Did you known if the archer C9 + dd-wrt can use multi ssid whith VLAN dedicated for each SSID? for the two versions (V1 et v2)?

thanks for your help,

regards,
MyDogIsLego
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 14:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys, I just got this router and I want to put DD-WRT on it, I just would like to know if USB host work since I want to use usb 2 for printer and usb 3 for usb stick as for backups.
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 15:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
USB ports do work on this router. I never tried sharing a printer so I don;t know if that works though.

note that because of a bug in Samba for this router you have launch smbd manually from a putty prompt or automatically at bootup using the command window under Administrative Tab. there is a bug in this router where SMBD doesn;t get launched automatically at bootup. details are in an earlier post in this thread.

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 70, 71, 72  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 13 of 72
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum