TP-Link Archer C9 Thread

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 73, 74, 75
Author Message
rkboni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 18:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
bthoven wrote:
rkboni wrote:
dwardo wrote:
rkboni wrote:

For what it's worth, r41174 is running happily too.


I confirm Very Happy


After about a month of running this, I'm finding all of my devices (including chromecasts, google speakers, as well we phones) falling off the network more frequently. I don't know if it's just being noticed more, or if it's gotten worse.

I'm considering turning off Wifi on the DDWRT system (using it as a router only) and picking up a new TPLink Archer A20 to run as a pure AP. In the meantime, just a heads-up. Any opinions to confirm or deny that welcome.... I'll probably also give the latest build for the C9v1 a try.


My v3.0-r41027 is running without problem (20+ wifi devices on 3 vlans+VAP, including Google Home mini, Echo dot, .....). The 2.4Ghz signal strength is great. My plan to replace it with real Access Point is on hold because of my C9v1 wifi signal strength and what dd-wrt can provides (VLAN, VAP, ....connecting to my Pfsense)


Good to know. I don't think I saw these issues with r41027, so there's always a fallback if need be. Since I ordered an A20 anyway, I also have a chance to try that and see how it goes... that one should fit on my mantel under the TV, so it would also have the advantage of better location.

Thx!
Sponsor
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
zensmooth wrote:
raz0r wrote:
I've got a C9 v1 today.
Which dd-wrt Release Version is supposed to be the most stable for the Archer C9 V1?


Depends on your use, if you want a basic gateway and AP (include KRACKs patch) then current beta build will do the job.

xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?



I have. Since the C1900 is identical as per wiki, I downloaded the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file from the BrainSlayer list of approved betas (using the latest). On my TPLINK UI, I factory reset. I also factory reset via button to be sure. I then click on Firmware Upgrade, browse to the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file and then get that 5533 error. I factory reset again, still same issue. I am using FCC TE7C9 (which is v1).

Any help is greatly appreciated.

P.S. I already did try and flash the UN "test" version and it too gave me this error.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 3146
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
xoltrix2000 wrote:
zensmooth wrote:
raz0r wrote:
I've got a C9 v1 today.
Which dd-wrt Release Version is supposed to be the most stable for the Archer C9 V1?


Depends on your use, if you want a basic gateway and AP (include KRACKs patch) then current beta build will do the job.

xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?



I have. Since the C1900 is identical as per wiki, I downloaded the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file from the BrainSlayer list of approved betas (using the latest). On my TPLINK UI, I factory reset. I also factory reset via button to be sure. I then click on Firmware Upgrade, browse to the factory-to-ddwrt.bin file and then get that 5533 error. I factory reset again, still same issue. I am using FCC TE7C9 (which is v1).

Any help is greatly appreciated.

P.S. I already did try and flash the UN "test" version and it too gave me this error.


See my reply in your other thread. Try using the version in the wiki for initial flash and upgrade from there.

_________________
E4200 v1 DD-WRT 41954 mega (01/09/20) (K3.x)
R7000P DD-WRT 40270M kongac
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2019.4
E4200 v1 FreshTomato 2020.1.development
R7000 FreshTomato 2020.1.development
E4200 v1 1.0.07.development
WRT3200ACM OpenWRT 18.06.5
---------------------------------------------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
xoltrix2000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
xoltrix2000 wrote:
Hello. I'm having issue with flashing.

I have Archer C1900 v1 (3.18.0 Build 20160201 Rel.42677n)
I downloaded and tried Build r37305, r38159 and r38155 for that router but still get this error:

Code:
Error code: -5533
Error occurred, please try again.


I'm not sure what else to do.
Your help is appreciated.


Have you followed the dd-wrt wiki?[/quote]

Aye, I have tried the UN test version mentioned here, still error 5533, tried via TFTP, it uploads but just boots back into the latest official TPlink firmware.

I also tried the recommended version from the wiki (r29409), still same error.
xmind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just created this account to follow up that I was running into the same issue with the 5533 error and not being able to flash from the latest stock TP firmware.

I ended up finding a test file on a page where someone posted with the same issue here: https://community.tp-link.com/en/home/forum/topic/151501

The TP link for the file didn't work, but the Mega one did.

Flashed my router with this test file and once rebooted, it accepted the DD-WRT factory to wrt bin without issues.
tnv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
After I upgraded my Archer C9 V1 to the latest firmware version (180125), it only replies to pings. It still does hand out DHCP addresses though. I can't see any Wifi SSID either.

I can't bring up the web interface.

I am wired into the router.

I've tried recovery mode via TFTP using the latest stock firmware as well as trying to downgrade with stock firmware also.

Any way to recover?
adamscabana
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
tnv wrote:
After I upgraded my Archer C9 V1 to the latest firmware version (180125), it only replies to pings. It still does hand out DHCP addresses though. I can't see any Wifi SSID either.

I can't bring up the web interface.

I am wired into the router.

I've tried recovery mode via TFTP using the latest stock firmware as well as trying to downgrade with stock firmware also.

Any way to recover?


I recently messed with this. You can:
1) Reset the router by holding the reset button for 10ish seconds. Then you can try to re-setup dd-wrt.
2) I followed the Bricked Router steps (to the original firmware and my router is happy again):
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9#How_to_install_DD-WRT
tnv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jan 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
adamscabana wrote:

I recently messed with this. You can:
1) Reset the router by holding the reset button for 10ish seconds. Then you can try to re-setup dd-wrt.
2) I followed the Bricked Router steps (to the original firmware and my router is happy again):
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9#How_to_install_DD-WRT


I tried the TFTP method, but it doesn't seem to be applying the firmware. I can't verify via console, but when I nmap the router, it seems like upnp port 1900 is always open and identifies as

Code:
1900/tcp  open     upnp    ipOS upnpd (TP-Link Archer C9 WAP 1.0; UPnP 1.0)


I've tried all 3 versions of the TP-Link firmware, the latest dd-wrt, and openwrt. It doesn't matter what I send via TFTP, it always returns the same. I have waited overnight for the firmware and it's always the same. Any idea why it wouldn't write the firmware via TFTP recovery?
CAPTawesome56
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone help me? I’ve been trying to flash my archer C9v1 and keep getting error -5533. The current firmware is 20180125, (not sure the rev as I’m at work). I’ve cleared browser cache, changed ports, restored to factory defaults, etc.

Do I need to downgrade firmware to a 2015ish?
adamscabana
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2020
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
CAPTawesome56 wrote:
Can anyone help me? I’ve been trying to flash my archer C9v1 and keep getting error -5533. The current firmware is 20180125, (not sure the rev as I’m at work). I’ve cleared browser cache, changed ports, restored to factory defaults, etc.

Do I need to downgrade firmware to a 2015ish?


I did modified Bricked Router steps:
Install Solarwinds TFTP software (this was the first one I tried and it just worked)
Switch off the router
Plug in an ethernet cable into your pc and into an ethernet port on the router (not the wan port)
Download the original v1 firmware from tp-link
Rename the downloaded firmware as: archerc9v1_tp_recovery.bin
Put the firmware file in the TFTP path (check the tftp settings after installation, but I think it was c:\tftp)
Change your nic ip address to: 192.168.0.66
Switch on the router, holding the RESET button for 2-4 seconds (may need a few seconds more)
The firmware will be automatically downloaded and installed by the router.

This worked for me after numerous failed revert attempts.
I tried to use dd-wrt but the tp-link router was never connecting to the internet.
Reverting and going thru the tp-link setup just worked...in about 2 minutes.
Then I was able to upgrade the tp-link firmware to the latest version.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 73, 74, 75 Display posts from previous:    Page 75 of 75
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum