Asus RT-N66U - Recommended?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
javixeneize
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 15:38    Post subject: Asus RT-N66U - Recommended? Reply with quote
Hi

I want to set two independent networks at home, and i assume two vlans will be the best option

I am planning to buy Asus RT-N66U router to do that, but looks like by default it doesnt support vlans (although the hardware seems to be able to do it)

Will the dd-wrt firmware enable this feature?

Is this router the best one for what i want to do, or would you recommend something different?

Thanks
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6030
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Depends of your wan bandwidth. Up to 50Mbit/s it should be OK.
For higher bandwidth, get a newer dual core router


Yes, vlan is supported with dd-wrt.
javixeneize
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi

I have 80 mb connection... i thought this router would work with that speed?

Which one would you recommend then?

Thanks
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6030
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you have an existing router?

Netgear have several models R6250, R6300V2, R7000
javixeneize
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have a shitty netgear wnr1000. ANything will be better than that
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 7449
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would opt for a Netg3ear R6400 dual core router 2,4 and 5 GHz, at this moment good value for money
In Europe around E100

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
WireGuard Documents & Guides:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327397
OpenVPN Documents & Guides: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327398
IPSET: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=327261
Install guide R6400v2:http://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2190
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:05    Post subject: Speed Reply with quote
I have a 100mb connection running through my Asus N66u.
The Asus N66u only runs the QoS, DHCP, and WAN connection. The wifi is disabled because I use WDS on Atheros everywhere else.

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 - gateway, DHCP, QoS, VPN
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - not used
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway
Asus N66U - backup Gateway
Netgear r6300 v1 - AP
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - not used
javixeneize
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which speed is giving the router? I am surprised it would not support more than 50mbps

The main problem i can see compared to the r6400 is it is not an ac router
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 20:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
javixeneize wrote:
Which speed is giving the router? I am surprised it would not support more than 50mbps
Depending on what features/overclock you're using, lack of CTF/FastNAT ('h/w NAT') will limit throughput. See NAT/CTF in my signature for details. Another option; with AsusWRT Merlin you can keep FastNAT, and set VLAN's thru ssh/telnet:
http://www.snbforums.com/threads/use-lan-port-4-as-private-network.14983/

javixeneize wrote:
i have a shitty netgear wnr1000. ANything will be better than that
What model? You can use the Netgear backdoor telnet on the wnr1000 v3, and overclock it from 333 MHz to 400. I've done it w/ a v10 plus a WGR614v10 modified to a WNR1000 v3; they makes nice travel routers. I was able to get ~90 Mb/s on my 75 Mb/s connection with it (my N66U got slightly higher).
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
javixeneize
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
If i buy the router and flash a new firmware... i will lose the warranty inmediately isnt it?

I have wnr1000 V3. Where could i find more information about this?
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
javixeneize wrote:
If i buy the router and flash a new firmware... i will lose the warranty inmediately isnt it?
Technically, you could flash it back to stock first, or even if it was, e.g. bricked, it may not matter, as the f/w would be corrupted anyway. Just don't open the hardware. Smile
javixeneize wrote:
I have wnr1000 V3. Where could i find more information about this?
Searching for "wgr614* AND WNR1000*" in my posts yields these... Smile
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=976363#976363
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980327#980327

The key to you is the telnet enable utility, which if you're on the latest f/w (and I hope so), you need the newer one. And if you want to try overclocking, I'd recommended a heatsink; though that SoC does run quite cool. Normal disclaimers apply. Razz

Note; to easily find/copy/paste your MAC addr use 'arp -a' or 'arp -a 192.168.1.1' or however your WNR1000 address is set.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.6|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 45036: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.5: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum