Hardware Acceleration - R7000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
rp1p
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 1:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great tip and resources here you should consider adding this info to the R7000 tips sticky slidermike. I'm curious to see if there's any wan improvements from offloading 1 or both bands to the second cpu.
Sponsor
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4344
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 6:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmmmm, you guys do know, that the smp affinity stuff has been implemented in dd-wrt since we started providing public builds?

It is enabled, disabled depending how you configure the router, e.g. when enabling samba. And we do more then just assigning cpus.
s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
tigs wrote:
s-f-r-j wrote:
You mean, what is the command i use for this, as start-up script?

thanks


yes

Code:
echo 2 > /proc/irq/163/smp_affinity && echo 2 > /proc/irq/169/smp_affinity


I see your CPU0 is 0. mine still has some low reading at CPU0, not zero. is that normal?


yep, thats what i use.

it was after reboot?

_________________
Kong DD-WRT firmware (download)
http://ddwrt.serdarevic.net
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1483
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong,
thank you very much for letting us know.
No I was unaware but did assume there was some base settings.
It is still nice to be able to fine tune or adjust the settings yourself. As long as you realize its a trial & error process.
Smile
<Kong> wrote:
Hmmmm, you guys do know, that the smp affinity stuff has been implemented in dd-wrt since we started providing public builds?

It is enabled, disabled depending how you configure the router, e.g. when enabling samba. And we do more then just assigning cpus.


rp1p,
thank you for the suggestion. I have added this to the tip/tricks sticky.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
cdmarshall
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 21:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Slider i do have a questions was there a reason you chose not to include eth0 in your script?
_________________
EA-6900
Asus 68U
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1483
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
No not really.
At the time the other forum user posted the scripts he used, that was how he was happily running his r7000.
Feel free to add or change how you assign things.
The worst thing you can do is mess up the config & that can be reset to defaults easy enough. No real harm to the router.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
Dgeof
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2015
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 0:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there any way to assign an IRQ to both processors?
evolvente23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried to underclock the router, for example at 800 MHz?
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1274

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
evolvente23 wrote:
Has anyone tried to underclock the router, for example at 800 MHz?


Why underclock when it runs fine at stock speeds?

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 10Gb LAN, 1Gb ISP Kong & BS
Wired AP 1 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 2 R9000 10Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 3 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
Wired AP 4 R9000 1Gb LAN Kong & BS
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-www.monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
evolvente23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good question!
I have only a downlink of about 8 Mbits.
I use the router as VPN client and only one radio (2,4 GHz) is in use. So the router idles more or less, the cpu load is quite low.

But the stock power supply is HUGE (3,5 amps and triple the volume of the supply of the E4200). I am struggling with the waf (women acceptance factor) and want to use a smaller power supply (maybe 12V; 1,5 amps).

So in short: I am interested in reducing the current consumption Smile Freaky, I know!
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum