New Netgear WNDR3300 support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 62, 63, 64 ... 73, 74, 75  Next
Author Message
bbb_forever
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
ShnikeJSB wrote:

I used SpeedTest.net. If my Internet connection was slower than the available transfer speed from the routers, I wouldn't mind. But, when doing things wirelessly all around, I get much slower speeds of ~3 Mb/s down/up -- yet when I connect to the WNDR3300 RB's via Ethernet, I get the full speeds of ~21 Mb/s down and ~4 Mb/s down. It doesn't make sense to me at all, as the RB's are still repeating the WNDR3700's signal either way.

I'll try that program, too. Thanks a TON! I appreciate your help immensely! Smile


I agree with DCD.
SpeedTest.net is NOT the tool for testing a Wireless Client to Router connection.

Jperf download (has a better, easier to use GUI interface for Iperf):
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30408/235/

If you don't want to install Java and Jperf, you can also use Iperf instead:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=57417

_________________
.
.
Get off my channel, or face the wrath of my 2.4Ghz Wireless-N channel-bonded 40Mhz wide-band interference!

My routers:
- 1 Linksys E3000
- 4 Linksys E2000
- 4 Linksys WRT320n [DD-WRT svn13575 std-nokaid] working well in WDS setup, 5Ghz N-speeds only.
- 2 Airlink AR670W [DD-WRT build 14537] working well in WDS setup, 2.4Ghz N-speeds only.
- 2 Netgear WDNR3300 [DD-WRT svn13577 std-nokaid] working well in AP-Repeater-Bridge setup, 5Ghz N-speeds only.
- Airlink AR325W G-router and Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444 [DD-WRT v23 sp2 micro] working well in Repeater-Bridge setup, G-speeds only.
- D-Link DI-614+ B-router, sitting around, wanna buy it?

Recent fixes timeline:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/timeline?from=01%2F11%2F2010&daysback=30&changeset=on&update=Update

Linksys 320n Path: Downloads › others › eko › V24-K26 › svn13575

Airlink AR670W Path: Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 12-28-09-r13525 › airlink101-ar670w
Sponsor
ShnikeJSB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Chicago Suburbia.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm trying to figure out how to use this JPerf program. Are you saying I need to have 2 computers on the network with this program running? If so, I only have one Windows PC (mine) -- the other 2 are Macs. I tried putting in the router's address, and it immediately says "connect failed: Connection refused". If I put in a web IP address, it sits longer, then says "connect failed: Connection refused". If I turn "Remote Management" on and use THAT IP address, it says:
"write failed: Connection reset by peer
read on server close failed: Connection reset by peer". It makes no difference turning on or off the router's firewall.

No idea what to do with this thing.

_________________
1x -- D-Link DGL-4500 (Currently Unused)
1x -- Netgear WNDR3700 (Main)
3x -- Netgear WNDR3300 (Repeater Bridges)
bbb_forever
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iperf

Run Jperf on two separate computers located on each end of the path you want to test.

Run the Server module on one PC.
Then on the other PC, run the test to send a data stream to the Server PC's IP #.

To find and tune the optimal TCP Windows size for your network, you can adjust the TCP Windows size from 8KB (XP default) to something like 128KB, 136KB, etc.

_________________
.
.
Get off my channel, or face the wrath of my 2.4Ghz Wireless-N channel-bonded 40Mhz wide-band interference!

My routers:
- 1 Linksys E3000
- 4 Linksys E2000
- 4 Linksys WRT320n [DD-WRT svn13575 std-nokaid] working well in WDS setup, 5Ghz N-speeds only.
- 2 Airlink AR670W [DD-WRT build 14537] working well in WDS setup, 2.4Ghz N-speeds only.
- 2 Netgear WDNR3300 [DD-WRT svn13577 std-nokaid] working well in AP-Repeater-Bridge setup, 5Ghz N-speeds only.
- Airlink AR325W G-router and Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444 [DD-WRT v23 sp2 micro] working well in Repeater-Bridge setup, G-speeds only.
- D-Link DI-614+ B-router, sitting around, wanna buy it?

Recent fixes timeline:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/timeline?from=01%2F11%2F2010&daysback=30&changeset=on&update=Update

Linksys 320n Path: Downloads › others › eko › V24-K26 › svn13575

Airlink AR670W Path: Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 12-28-09-r13525 › airlink101-ar670w
dcd693
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
ShnikeJSB wrote:
I'm trying to figure out how to use this JPerf program. Are you saying I need to have 2 computers on the network with this program running? If so, I only have one Windows PC (mine) -- the other 2 are Macs. I tried putting in the router's address, and it immediately says "connect failed: Connection refused". If I put in a web IP address, it sits longer, then says "connect failed: Connection refused". If I turn "Remote Management" on and use THAT IP address, it says:
"write failed: Connection reset by peer
read on server close failed: Connection reset by peer". It makes no difference turning on or off the router's firewall.

No idea what to do with this thing.
I would suggest using iperf and not jperf to simplify things a bit. jperf is a nice graphical front-end to iperf, but I've found that it wouldn't run on my Vista PCs and wouldn't run on my Macs. It requires Java and that introduces more headaches (for me, at least).

Let's go through using iperf:
-Yes, you need 2 computers to run iperf. It tests communication speeds between computers. It doesn't matter for the test which computer is sending info and which is listening for that info. The listener is the "server", the sender is the "client".
-download copies of iperf 1.7 from here for your Mac and your PC: http://www.noc.ucf.edu/Tools/Iperf/
-On your PC, open a command prompt and go to the directory where iperf.exe is located and type the "ipconfig" command to discover your PC's ip address. It will probably be of the form 192.168.1.101. Let's assume that's the correct ip address for now. Next, type this command: "iperf -s".
-On your Mac, unzip the package you downloaded, and go to a command prompt (by running Terminal). Change to the directory where you unzipped iperf to. Type in the following command "./iperf -c 192.168.1.101 -w 1 Mb" (Recall that we're using 192.168.1.101 as an example ip address, be sure to use the ip address of your PC here).

This will cause the Mac to send data to your PC for 10 seconds using a "window size" of 1 Mb. You can tweak every aspect of the test to change duration, window size, etc.... but this will give you a good basic read. The results will vary the most with changes from tiny window sizes to bigger ones.

Be aware your PC's firewall might block communications from iperf unless the Mac is a trusted machine. iperf uses port 5001 typically. You can also open that port on your PCs firewall, or disconnect from the Internet and temporarily take down the firewall on the PC.
tritron777
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
So what is the most stable firmware for wndr3300
surfy101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
tritron777 wrote:
So what is the most stable firmware for wndr3300


I'm very interested in this answer too.

I have the WNDR3300 configured as an access point (WAN disabled and assigned to switch) with the Linksys WET610N connecting to it from another room using 5GHz 2-channel. I've tried the recommended firmwares (eko B12548, eko B12774), but the link went down after 3 to 5 days. Sad The link only recovers after resetting the WNDR3300 (so I know it's not the WET610N problem, which is running the latest Linksys stock firmware).

I've upgraded to Brainslayer r12874-mini firmware now. It's been up for more than 1 day, so I'm still keeping my fingers crossed.
voldemar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
surfy101 wrote:
I've upgraded to Brainslayer r12874-mini firmware now. It's been up for more than 1 day, so I'm still keeping my fingers crossed.
I'm using this 12874 version for more than a month. First it was my main gateway, now it works as a Client Bridge on 5 GHz to Linksys 610n. No poblems at all.
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1380
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Remember the WNDR3300 has 4MB Flash / 16MB Ram, so its best to stick with
Brainslayer's Mini builds, or I use Eko's std_nokaid_nohotspot_nostor

Which is just about similar on memory management.

Also drop the max # of ports to 2048 and timeouts to 300 or less.

I've been using build 13000 from Eko for a while now.

I also make it a habit of rebooting my routers every couple of weeks.
They're easy access, so I just pull the plug on them and hard reboot them.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R46220
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R16375 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - OpenWRT Build R16290 5.4 Kernel
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2021.2
nickle101
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tx bbb_forever

Quote:

Reply to 1. You need to enable wide-band 40Mhz (aka channel bonding) on the 5Ghz band to go from 135-150Mbps to 270-300Mbps (Btw, it should be Megabits per sec, not MegaBytes).


The issue I have is that I am using channel bonding of my 3700 @ 40 MHz on channels 157 and 161 (5 GHz). However my 3300, set up as client bridge displays channel 159 only....
To date nobody seems to have come up with an explanation.


Last edited by nickle101 on Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:27; edited 1 time in total
VanillaXtract
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jun 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 1:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
How can I d/l version 13000? It's been awhile and they redid that part of the site.
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1380
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 4:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=61144

See the first post in that thread.

Build 13230 loaded & running nice on a pair of WNDR3300's

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R46220
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R16375 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - OpenWRT Build R16290 5.4 Kernel
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2021.2
mayhew132
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could someone give me a bit of help on which would be the best build to put on a WNDR3300 please?

I keep trying to put the newer, nokaid_nohotspot_nostor, builds on but they either force the dome lights to stay on or totally cripple the wireless.

Thanks
Guy
bbb_forever
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 20:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
mayhew132 wrote:
Could someone give me a bit of help on which would be the best build to put on a WNDR3300 please?

I keep trying to put the newer, nokaid_nohotspot_nostor, builds on but they either force the dome lights to stay on or totally cripple the wireless.

Thanks
Guy


I would use the same build that user "DoesItMatter" uses.
See the post right before yours.

_________________
.
.
Get off my channel, or face the wrath of my 2.4Ghz Wireless-N channel-bonded 40Mhz wide-band interference!

My routers:
- 1 Linksys E3000
- 4 Linksys E2000
- 4 Linksys WRT320n [DD-WRT svn13575 std-nokaid] working well in WDS setup, 5Ghz N-speeds only.
- 2 Airlink AR670W [DD-WRT build 14537] working well in WDS setup, 2.4Ghz N-speeds only.
- 2 Netgear WDNR3300 [DD-WRT svn13577 std-nokaid] working well in AP-Repeater-Bridge setup, 5Ghz N-speeds only.
- Airlink AR325W G-router and Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444 [DD-WRT v23 sp2 micro] working well in Repeater-Bridge setup, G-speeds only.
- D-Link DI-614+ B-router, sitting around, wanna buy it?

Recent fixes timeline:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/timeline?from=01%2F11%2F2010&daysback=30&changeset=on&update=Update

Linksys 320n Path: Downloads › others › eko › V24-K26 › svn13575

Airlink AR670W Path: Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 12-28-09-r13525 › airlink101-ar670w
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1380
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
mayhew132 wrote:
Could someone give me a bit of help on which would be the best build to put on a WNDR3300 please?

I keep trying to put the newer, nokaid_nohotspot_nostor, builds on but they either force the dome lights to stay on or totally cripple the wireless.

Thanks
Guy


You should use either of these builds:

dd-wrt.v24-13230_NEWD_std-nokaid.bin
dd-wrt.v24-13230_NEWD_std-nokaid_nohotspot_nostor.bin

the nokaid_nohotspot_nostor one uses quite a bit less memory

Those are your 2 best builds for the WNDR3300

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R46220
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R16375 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - OpenWRT Build R16290 5.4 Kernel
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2021.2
VanillaXtract
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jun 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the help!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 62, 63, 64 ... 73, 74, 75  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 63 of 75
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum