missing loop device || mounting an iso image

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
nick_name
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2022
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 10:20    Post subject: missing loop device || mounting an iso image Reply with quote
Hello there,

I am trying to mount an iso image, say:

Code:
mount /tmp/mnt/sda1/isos/AlmaLinux-8.5-x86_64-dvd.iso /tmp/mnt/sda1/test


And I get:
Quote:
mount: can't setup loop device: No such file or directory


I believe I miss a loop module, which needs to be insmoded. Shall I be not wrong can you hint me to a recommended dd-wrt guideline to do so? Or maybe there is another way to approach the issue, i.e. mounting iso images, on dd-wrt?

My setup:
Code:
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r44715 std (11/03/20)
uname -a: Linux rt-n18u 4.4.241 #1326 Tue Nov 3 08:59:26 +03 2020 armv7l DD-WRT


Thanks in advance!
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 12969
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
First, upgrade:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2022/01-06-2022-r47976/asus-rt-n18u/

The router database is not updated with current releases. Watch these spaces:

https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/
https://ftp.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/

_________________
"Life is but a fleeting moment, a vapor that vanishes quickly; All is vanity"
Contribute To DD-WRT
Pogo - A minimal level of ability is expected and needed...
At some point, people just get plain tired of this place.
Because they are tired of bottom-feeders and the same old hat.

----------------------
Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
nick_name
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2022
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r47976 std (01/06/22)
uname -a: Linux rt-n18u 4.4.297 #4862 Thu Jan 6 04:09:22 +07 2022 armv7l DD-WRT


Same error when mounting iso images:
Code:
mount: can't setup loop device: No such file or directory
nick_name
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2022
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have been trying to follow the following threads.

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=777884
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=922285
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=42733
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=708130

As far as I understand I need to make my dd-wrt system to insmod a kernel module like this:
Code:
insmod /jffs/lib/modules/<kernel_version>/loop.o


To get this module available locally I need to make ipkg running like this:
Code:
ipkg install kmod-loop


But at the same time I do not understand the comments in these threds pointing to the following requirement:
Code:
First, you must have a successfully mounted SMB or CIFS share Next, you need to install a few necessary packages


On the wiki I came across this:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware
And this:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installing_Entware

But actually looking at these I am loosing track of the required steps as my aim is only providing the loop kernel module to enable mounting iso images. Do I need both optware and entware? What cifs has got to do with it?

If someone could point me to the right path for the required steps I would appreciate it.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10348
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 11:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think you need to follow this:
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installing_Entware

Entware has packages not individual kernel modules.

You might need the losetup package, not sure if that also has that kernel module.

Otherwise you must ask if someone compiles that for you

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 10348
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just checked and the kernel/drivers/block/loop.ko is already compiled in (meaning it is not loadable, but already there)

So with adding the losetup package via Entware might do the trick I hope

_________________
Routers:Netgear R7800, R7000, R6400v1, R6400v2, Linksys EA8500, EA6900 (XvortexCFE), E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide R6400v2, R6700v3,XR300:https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=316399
Install guide R7800/XR500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=320614
Forum Guide Lines (important read):https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=324087
nick_name
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2022
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 13:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for your reply!

Code:
:/opt# opkg install losetup
Package losetup (2.37-1) installed in root is up to date.
:/opt# which losetup
/opt/sbin/losetup
:/opt# find / -name loop.ko
:/opt# echo $?
0


What do I miss?

And regardless of the above:
Code:
:~# losetup /dev/loop0 /tmp/mnt/sda1/isos/AlmaLinux-8.5-x86_64-dvd.iso
:~# /opt/bin/mount /dev/loop0 /tmp/mnt/sda1/test
mount: /tmp/mnt/sda1/test: unknown filesystem type 'iso9660'.

:~# mount /dev/loop0 /tmp/mnt/sda1/test
mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /tmp/mnt/sda1/test failed: Invalid argument

:~# mount -o loop /dev/loop0 /tmp/mnt/sda1/test
mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /tmp/mnt/sda1/test failed: Invalid argument

:~# mount -t iso9660 /dev/loop0 /tmp/mnt/sda1/test
mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /tmp/mnt/sda1/test failed: No such device

~# /opt/bin/mount -t iso9660 /dev/loop0 /tmp/mnt/sda1/test
mount: /tmp/mnt/sda1/test: unknown filesystem type 'iso9660'.

Consider it a silly question, but actually am I mounting it the right way via losetup?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum