DD-WRT Companion Android app

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12680

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
rm3l wrote:
Hi Murrkf,

Murrkf wrote:
I get a "(de) installation error" on my htc phone, trying to install either 1.10,1.20 or 1.2.1


Can you provide some details about this error?

-- rm3l


That's all I see. A popup that says "(De} installation error" After it downloads. It does not install.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Sponsor
JohnnySL
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Murrkf: why is this sticky in the broadcom section, as the app is clearly a general one, nothing specific to broadcom at all.

(not that i want to be negative on the app or anything, just curious why it is sticky here)

_________________
linksys E3000 (modded WRT610N-V2)@27453K3-Mega
Linksys WRT1900AC-v2 with latest LEDE code
kramttocs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
This app is really slick.
I apologize for the handful of feedback emails I have sent to you within a short amount of time Smile
Just putting it through its paces.

Glad to provide feedback and test anything that would be helpful.
I already emailed you this but I am currently testing with the top 3 routers in my sig. The two r7000's and the e3000. I have them all in 'remote' config vs using the ip. I am also working on getting actual remote access to my parents routers (e2000 and a wireless bridge wrt54gl) so I can test with them.

_________________
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : Main Router/PPPoe
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : AP hardwired to Main
WRT610N as E3000 : Repeater Bridge
WRT54GL (x2)
WRT54G
E1200
paggps
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 19:38    Post subject: Problem with SSH connection with Android App Reply with quote
Hello,

I am trying to connect to my DD-WRT V24-SP2 routers, but I am not able to get initial SSH connection, and I can´t find where is the problem.

This is my setup:

- In the router/Services, I have enabled "SSHd", and "Password login". Also in Administration, I have enabled "SSH Management"

- Installed DD-WRT companion APP, version 2.00.

- I have chosen tu use "password type" login, instead of "private key".

- I am using as Username: "root", and as Password, the same password I use for router management.

When trying to connect, I get this error: "cannot connecto to router...etc".

Any suggestions ?
Thank you very much!


JohnnySL wrote:
@Murrkf: why is this sticky in the broadcom section, as the app is clearly a general one, nothing specific to broadcom at all.

(not that i want to be negative on the app or anything, just curious why it is sticky here)



ddwrt.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  121.03 KB
 Viewed:  19453 Time(s)

ddwrt.png


kramttocs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sounds like potential issue in the app but in the meantime I would use Putty to verify you can connect successfully.
_________________
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : Main Router/PPPoe
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : AP hardwired to Main
WRT610N as E3000 : Repeater Bridge
WRT54GL (x2)
WRT54G
E1200
paggps
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you very much.
It is weird that nobody else has reported a problem like mine. That´s why I think that there should be some kind of mistake on my setup...
I don´t know how to connect using putty.


kramttocs wrote:
Sounds like potential issue in the app but in the meantime I would use Putty to verify you can connect successfully.
kramttocs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Easy_SSH_tunnels#PuTTY_Client
_________________
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : Main Router/PPPoe
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : AP hardwired to Main
WRT610N as E3000 : Repeater Bridge
WRT54GL (x2)
WRT54G
E1200
paggps
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
kramttocs wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Easy_SSH_tunnels#PuTTY_Client


Installed PUTTY, configured IP, but always I get a message "Server unexpectedly colosed network connection" without even prompting for user / password.

This explains why the Android app does not work. But I cant figure out what is happening...
kramttocs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
What router model and what build? If you search the forum there are a few older builds that had this issue.
My R7000s are on testing builds but my e3000 is on 21676 and at 72 days uptime currently so I can recommend that build for that device at least.

_________________
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : Main Router/PPPoe
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : AP hardwired to Main
WRT610N as E3000 : Repeater Bridge
WRT54GL (x2)
WRT54G
E1200
paggps
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
My router is a Cisco E2500.
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) big, build 21061

Thank you.

kramttocs wrote:
What router model and what build? If you search the forum there are a few older builds that had this issue.
My R7000s are on testing builds but my e3000 is on 21676 and at 72 days uptime currently so I can recommend that build for that device at least.
kramttocs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, that build has issues with ssh. Search the forum for that error and you will see other builds users went to that worked. If you aren't sure what build to go to, start a new thread (since the android app isn't the issue so no need to continue in this thread) and someone with that router will likely chime in.
_________________
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : Main Router/PPPoe
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : AP hardwired to Main
WRT610N as E3000 : Repeater Bridge
WRT54GL (x2)
WRT54G
E1200
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11451
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
JohnnySL wrote:
@Murrkf: why is this sticky in the broadcom section, as the app is clearly a general one, nothing specific to broadcom at all.

(not that i want to be negative on the app or anything, just curious why it is sticky here)


Agreed...I'm gonna move it to the General forum.

And yes...this app is pretty slick.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
saikatm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:53    Post subject: can't connect help Reply with quote
hello sir, i am new dd-wrt user and i have bought this app but i'm not able to connect it with my router, i have tried to connect with ssh and password login but dont know why it's not working. it's showing some error i have attached a screenshot, please help thank you. Sad Crying or Very sad [/img]
kramttocs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router model?
dd-wrt build?
Can you connect via ssh using putty?

_________________
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : Main Router/PPPoe
Netgear R7000 (Kong 26285M) : AP hardwired to Main
WRT610N as E3000 : Repeater Bridge
WRT54GL (x2)
WRT54G
E1200
saikatm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 14:23    Post subject: no Reply with quote
kramttocs wrote:
Router model?
dd-wrt build?
Can you connect via ssh using putty?


@kramttocs no sir i can't connect it via putty i have enabled Administrator>SSH Management and services>SSHd

My Router info:

Router Model
TP-Link TL-WR740N v4
Firmware Version
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum