Is T-Mobile modified Asus RT68 upgradeable to DD-wrt?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
UKEE
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2015
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
elwoodjblues wrote:
Ugh, mine won't accept the BrainSlayer firmware, neither via GUI nor via CFE recovery webserver.

Over CFE, I get: The file transferred is not a valid firmware image.

The stock firmware identifies itself as: 3.0.0.4.376_2827-g566ef60

Any hints? Maybe I can downgrade the firmware to something more "accepting" of the dd-wrt firmware, but I am not sure where to get an earlier version of the stock firmware from. Hmmm.


Version 2827 is firmware locked to only TMobile branded firmwares. Not only is the firmware locked (disabled Telnet), it installs CFE 2.1.2.2, which locks the router from any non TMobile branded firmware via recovery mode and GUI mode. The only way to change firmwares is to downgrade to an older TMobile firmware (1703 for example), enable Telnet, and then replace the CFE (preferrably with an Asus RT-AC68U version - such as 1.0.2.0).

Many details in this guide including links to the older 1703 firmware and all CFE's and utilities needed:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpost.php?p=70991738&postcount=2576

Updated guide here but doesn't mention flashing firmwares:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showpost.php?p=73690012&postcount=3895

Oh, and if you're on CFE 2.1.2.1, which is not locked, and try to use the latest Asus branded firmwares, it will update your CFE to TMobile's CFE 2.1.2.1, therefore lockout out all non TMobile firmware's again. Once you get to DD-WRT, doesn't matter anymore unless you decide to go (back) to Asus stock RT-AC68U firmware, latest copies.
Sponsor
elwoodjblues
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
UKEE wrote:

Version 2827 is firmware locked to only TMobile branded firmwares. Not only is the firmware locked (disabled Telnet), it installs CFE 2.1.2.2, which locks the router from any non TMobile branded firmware via recovery mode and GUI mode. The only way to change firmwares is to downgrade to an older TMobile firmware (1703 for example), enable Telnet, and then replace the CFE (preferrably with an Asus RT-AC68U version - such as 1.0.2.0).


Thanks, this helped a lot! I was able to downgrade, replace the CFE, then patch the dd-wrt firmwares (not sure if I had to patch the trx one first, then the latest bin. Who knows.

At any rate, seems to run nicely! I'll give it some more testing on a wired connection, but on wifi I appear to be getting a solid 100/77 Mbit. Nice piece of hardware!
Mysticales
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Apr 2007
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Whats sad is... ps4 on wired connection still seems to get shitty download and upload ratios.. anyone else find a great way to have those higher?
_________________
~Battlez-avec la Mystique?~
Asus AC68U/AC1900 (Tmobile) - Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33675M kongac (11/03/17)
newnews
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 13:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got the router with latest firmware version 3.0.0.4.376_3002. Wonder if it is still upgradeable?
cdmarshall
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 14:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got mine many moons ago and there seems to be some CFE changes that where made to the newer versions. Some in the thread talk that they are still upgradable if you dont hook them to the internet before the upgrade. But I cant confirm that. Perhaps someone with a unit from the last few months can offer more info. Make sure you read through the thread and I believe there is also another thread that this was talked about.
_________________
EA-6900
Asus 68U
AcuraKidd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I actually already have dd-wrt on mines but need to return this router back to tmobile. Anyone can guide me through how to bring this back to stock firmware?
elwoodjblues
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
AcuraKidd wrote:
So I actually already have dd-wrt on mines but need to return this router back to tmobile. Anyone can guide me through how to bring this back to stock firmware?


I am not sure you have to. If they don't reflash the devices they get back before handing them to another customer, then they are being grossly negligent. Rolling Eyes
AcuraKidd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
elwoodjblues wrote:
AcuraKidd wrote:
So I actually already have dd-wrt on mines but need to return this router back to tmobile. Anyone can guide me through how to bring this back to stock firmware?


I am not sure you have to. If they don't reflash the devices they get back before handing them to another customer, then they are being grossly negligent. Rolling Eyes


I'm just afraid they'll end up charging me for messing with the device firmware...since technically we're leasing this from them and don't own it
GJW
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jan 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
AcuraKidd wrote:
elwoodjblues wrote:
AcuraKidd wrote:
So I actually already have dd-wrt on mines but need to return this router back to tmobile. Anyone can guide me through how to bring this back to stock firmware?


I am not sure you have to. If they don't reflash the devices they get back before handing them to another customer, then they are being grossly negligent. Rolling Eyes


I'm just afraid they'll end up charging me for messing with the device firmware...since technically we're leasing this from them and don't own it


If you didn't update the CFE, just load the latest version of the standard RT-AC68 firmware. Start the router up with the Asus firmware running, and it should immediately tell you there's a new version of firmware - when you download and install it, you should be back running the T-Mobile version of the firmware.

On the other hand, if you did change the CFE, you have to apply the original CFE back, and then follow the above procedure.
nanunoran
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Apr 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 19:07    Post subject: what did i screw up Reply with quote
out of box i downgraded firmware to 1703 by putting router in rescue mode, changed cfe to 1020, but then it wouldnt let me flash any trx in rescue mode again, so i flashed 2121 cfe, unfortunately right after that it got automatically upgraded to latest tmo firmware 3.0.0.4.376.3002, now I cant get TELNET access at all, i tried rescue mode but it wouldnt downgrade anymore (nor would it let me flash any other trx) i tried the HTML edit solution to get telnet access but that didnt work either. am i totally locked out of editing with 3002 firmware? can any1 help?
gatorback
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 426
Location: Fountain of Youth

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
@nanunoran: Did you try to regain telnet capability with this process:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=976430

Have you tried using the wiki:

http://tinyurl.com/asuscellspot

I can not help but wonder if the offending CFE can be edited (hex editor) to alter either the DNS or IP address that provides (forces install) of the T-Mobile firmware. Although this would be simpler than patching a donor CFE, I can NOT be sure that is host to other problems.

_________________
My Routers | RT-N16 Wiki | TMO Cellspot Wiki
Peacock Flashing | Wireless N Conf | Linking Routers |
DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Broadcom FAQ| QoS| OTRW
sandog
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 22:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a TM AC1900 looking to speed it up. Where should I start
gatorback
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 426
Location: Fountain of Youth

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
sandog wrote:
I have a TM AC1900 looking to speed it up. Where should I start


If you need greater wifi speed, then consider purchasing the latest Asus router. Firmware upgrades does not confer speed advantage.

If you can wire your high bandwidth devices (NAS, Video Player, etc) into your network, you will enjoy the best of speed / security / reliability.

_________________
My Routers | RT-N16 Wiki | TMO Cellspot Wiki
Peacock Flashing | Wireless N Conf | Linking Routers |
DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Broadcom FAQ| QoS| OTRW
cdmarshall
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jul 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 20:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
i guess you would also have to define speed it up as thats a bit fuzzy. 10mb is fast to someone on 1mb and 200 mb is slow to someone on gig. generally you should expect 200+ mb across this device. i have much loaded into mine and it also handles my 150 at line right without issue.
_________________
EA-6900
Asus 68U
gatorback
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 426
Location: Fountain of Youth

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 23:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
cdmarshall wrote:
i guess you would also have to define speed it up as thats a bit fuzzy. 10mb is fast to someone on 1mb and 200 mb is slow to someone on gig. generally you should expect 200+ mb across this device. i have much loaded into mine and it also handles my 150 at line right without issue.


Agreed. As I understand changing firmware: especially leaping from software lines: AsusWRT to DD-WRT invariably slows performance, but increase functional capability. The reason that I use AsusWRT Merlin on my TMO router is not to speed it up, but to maintain stock speed and add capability. As I understand, stock speed is generally the upper limit. If this is not right, I'd like to know.

_________________
My Routers | RT-N16 Wiki | TMO Cellspot Wiki
Peacock Flashing | Wireless N Conf | Linking Routers |
DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Broadcom FAQ| QoS| OTRW
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 5
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum