netgear r7500

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:17    Post subject: netgear r7500 Reply with quote
apparently this is already out in NA & EU & is quite the router..from what i can gather these are its specs or close to them

CPU 1: Qualcomm Atheros IPQ8064
CPU 2: Quantenna QT3840BC
Flash: 128MB
RAM: 256 MB Winbond W631GU6KB-15 x 2
Switch: Qualcomm Atheros QCA8337 10/100/1000
2x USB 3.0
1x eSATA
802.11a/n/ac radio 4x4:4 - Quantenna QT3840BC/QT2518B
802.11b/g/n radio 3x3:3 - Qualcomm Atheros QCA9880-BR4A (<- isnt that the current ac chip in archer c7 v2?)
FCC ID: PY314100258, PY314300288

finally qca has a new entry, but 2 cpus if correct, odd? there was a lot of commits on timeline for quantenna so it looks like brainslayer is doing something, anyone know if he already has one of these or still needs or doesnt need one? any info about having this supported stick it here

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
Sponsor
speedy1205
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Aug 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Specs are really good and the The Router is working fine in daily work. Hope the the Guys will get some DD-WRT firmware out and even when I need o install an alpha I would do it.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
brainslayer has told me due to the way the hw is designed only ap mode will be possible on it which is sadly a deciding factor right there for me..as for the last several years the only way i have internet in my room for my devices is via client mode to my other router upstairs the others are "borrowing"
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
pepsinio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
At least would it be possible to port dd-wrt for R7500? It is already working for Asus AC87U, which has the same 5G QSR1000 chip.
Bw,
Peter
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
its in progress now
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7644

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 3:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
pepsinio wrote:
At least would it be possible to port dd-wrt for R7500? It is already working for Asus AC87U, which has the same 5G QSR1000 chip.
Bw,
Peter


There is more inside a router than a wireless chip.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 4:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM do u know if its still true this unit can only do AP modes or if thats changed? i havent asked brainslayer again yet, waiting till fully supported with compiled builds + public release
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
pepsinio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
pepsinio wrote:
At least would it be possible to port dd-wrt for R7500? It is already working for Asus AC87U, which has the same 5G QSR1000 chip.
Bw,
Peter


There is more inside a router than a wireless chip.


Lom,
don't get me wrong. I fully understand that. It's just i am aware that there is a build already running for this router, but only in 2.4ghz mode hence the only missing part is the QSR1000. Wish i was more knowledgeable in this area and be able to make it myself Sad
Bw,
Peter
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7644

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, Kong who has made the current dd-wrt build seems to think that 5GHz wont be supported in R7500.
There is a lot of compatibility problems with the Quantenna radio in RT-AC87U so I guess that the devs are not interested in supporting that radio.

You should lookup RT-AC87U on wikidevi and then follow the link to Quantennas chipsets, their popularity is quite telling.. Shocked

The two major chipset mfgrs has their own 4x4 radios now and R7500v2 will have Qualcomms 4x4 radio.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
pepsinio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 8:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
According to this link :
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
v1 is 'in progress' and v2 is TBD.
Not sure whether that is true though and who is working on that since, as you have mentioned, Kong says that it will not be possible.


Indeed Quantenna does not have a good reputation. Too bad i found it one day too late.
Bw,
Peter
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7339
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
the v2 isnt a problem anymore. the code for ipq8064 based devices is finished now, including qca99xx wifi support.
but i just have a single device right now as test subject and its no r7500 v2

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
pepsinio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
the v2 isnt a problem anymore. the code for ipq8064 based devices is finished now, including qca99xx wifi support.
but i just have a single device right now as test subject and its no r7500 v2


Netgear support mentioned that currently R7500 V2 is available only in North America. Since you are in Germany, hopefully they will reach Europe as well soon.

Bw,
Peter
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7529
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
all the "-NAS" models i find everywhere have no indication of being v2 whatsoever..either they all are by default & v1 is europe only, or v2 is impossible to find here, or netgear support was wrong. at this rate if i end up going for it i might go for the ea8500 instead, similar price, identical hardware, same platform (ipq806x), & only has 1 version of it.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r50197 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r48322 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r48581 std


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway.. | I love you Anthony.. never forget that.. my other 99% that ill never see again..
Dareksa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
pepsinio wrote:

Netgear support mentioned that currently R7500 V2 is available only in North America. Since you are in Germany, hopefully they will reach Europe as well soon.

Bw,
Peter


It's not true. I live in Poland and I got R7500v2 as a replacement for defective R7500
pepsinio
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info Dareks! I asked for replacement due to faulty v1 in Austria and they said that even if at the end they are unable to fix the issue (dropping 5Ghz) and i need a replacement unit, v2 is available only in North America.

Bw,
Peter
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum