D'link DIR-868L Optimum, Need help with flashing.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
pitinga
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 23:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Acumen wrote:
ziddey wrote:

...
See the arrows, where G = Green; B = Black; W=White
The image is a bit large and the BBCode to resize is not working, so here is the image:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20804642/DD-WRT%20Forum/D-Link%20DIR868L%20Serial%20connection.jpg
...

Which one is TX and RX? The thid is GRD, but and the others?
Sponsor
merrow75
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 6:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
pitinga wrote:
Acumen wrote:
ziddey wrote:

...
See the arrows, where G = Green; B = Black; W=White
The image is a bit large and the BBCode to resize is not working, so here is the image:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20804642/DD-WRT%20Forum/D-Link%20DIR868L%20Serial%20connection.jpg
...

Which one is TX and RX? The thid is GRD, but and the others?


Please refer to:

https://openlinksys.info/images/serial/dir868l.jpg

All the best.
mondi31
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jun 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 0:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
merrow75 wrote:


https://openlinksys.info/images/serial/dir868l.jpg

All the best.



Hi may I know what is that black circle thing that was installed in the board? do you know how to install those? would it require soldering? sorry i am a newbie here. thanks in advance
deslatha
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 18:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Problem with flash -noheader because you need diable window defender. Turn it of, then second thing you need set manual connect both in Windows LAN and wired connect. On window LAN go control pannel>internet options>connections>LAN settings>check mark use automatic cfg script=ip hw of router (in this case 192.168.1.1) then apply.second one manual local are connect your your server ip =192.168.1.2 and net mark 255.255.255.255.0 and router ip 192.168.1.1. Fire up your tftpd32.exe and then set up .at serial console ttl at cfe> type flash -noheader 192.168.1.2:firmware.bin flash1.trx
Where flash is write file .-noheader is write without check. 192.168.1.2 is server of your x86 machine.firmware is your your routerfirmware you want. Flash1.trx is one of part of nand flash.(there are 2 flash call splash is spi aka serial flash like 25lxxx with 8 or 16 pin soic. Nand flash is xxxx1Gxxx with 48 pin tsop.in this case nflash there are many part :*.boot,*.os,*.trx. dont this is cfe parameters. Dont confuse with linux aka mtd parameters.
Martian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:47    Post subject: Cannot ping router after entering CFE Reply with quote
After days and days of torturing myself, I think I hit a dead end here...

When I connect my Router via COM3 and Ethernet, I am able to ping it just fine from PC and enter the Optimum setup page via 192.168.0.1. I also configured the network connection to use IP Address 192.168.0.2 so that aspect seems fine.

However, when I stop the boot process open router with CTRL+C and CFE> shows up, I can no longer ping my router. It seems to make sense since I didn't let it boot fully, but it also does not make sense how am I supposed to now run the tftp2 app to upgrade the firmware on server 192.168.0.1 if I can't even ping it.

When I run - CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
I get - Reading :: Failed.: Timeout occurred
- *** command status = -21

Note that when I run the above flash command, I also run tftp2 at the same time with 192.168.0.1 as the server, but the response is, "Unable to get responses from the server". I also sometimes enter the password field with "admin" but it makes no difference.

When I run - CFE> ping 192.168.0.2
I get - 192.168.0.2 is not responding (seq 0)
- 192.168.0.2 1 packet sent, received

I even tried the last suggestion to try to push the bin directly from pc, so I sent up an FTP and ran the following command in CFE>

When I run - CFE> flash -noheader 192.168.0.2:factory-toddwrt.bin flash1.trx
I get - Reading 192.168.0.2:factory-toddwrt.bin: Failed.: Timeout occurred
- *** command status = -21


Does anyone have suggestions or ideas of what I could be doing wrong?

Thanks!
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:59    Post subject: Re: Cannot ping router after entering CFE Reply with quote
Martian wrote:
After days and days of torturing myself, I think I hit a dead end here...

When I connect my Router via COM3 and Ethernet, I am able to ping it just fine from PC and enter the Optimum setup page via 192.168.0.1. I also configured the network connection to use IP Address 192.168.0.2 so that aspect seems fine.

However, when I stop the boot process open router with CTRL+C and CFE> shows up, I can no longer ping my router. It seems to make sense since I didn't let it boot fully, but it also does not make sense how am I supposed to now run the tftp2 app to upgrade the firmware on server 192.168.0.1 if I can't even ping it.

When I run - CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
I get - Reading :: Failed.: Timeout occurred
- *** command status = -21

Note that when I run the above flash command, I also run tftp2 at the same time with 192.168.0.1 as the server, but the response is, "Unable to get responses from the server". I also sometimes enter the password field with "admin" but it makes no difference.

When I run - CFE> ping 192.168.0.2
I get - 192.168.0.2 is not responding (seq 0)
- 192.168.0.2 1 packet sent, received

I even tried the last suggestion to try to push the bin directly from pc, so I sent up an FTP and ran the following command in CFE>

When I run - CFE> flash -noheader 192.168.0.2:factory-toddwrt.bin flash1.trx
I get - Reading 192.168.0.2:factory-toddwrt.bin: Failed.: Timeout occurred
- *** command status = -21


Does anyone have suggestions or ideas of what I could be doing wrong?

Thanks!


First of all don't use tftp2. It won't handle that big of a file. Second issue nvram erase first.
That usually makes the router respond with ttl=100.
Third, it may be: flash -noheader : nflash1.trx

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Martian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 18:29    Post subject: Re: Cannot ping router after entering CFE Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Martian wrote:
After days and days of torturing myself, I think I hit a dead end here...

When I connect my Router via COM3 and Ethernet, I am able to ping it just fine from PC and enter the Optimum setup page via 192.168.0.1. I also configured the network connection to use IP Address 192.168.0.2 so that aspect seems fine.

However, when I stop the boot process open router with CTRL+C and CFE> shows up, I can no longer ping my router. It seems to make sense since I didn't let it boot fully, but it also does not make sense how am I supposed to now run the tftp2 app to upgrade the firmware on server 192.168.0.1 if I can't even ping it.

When I run - CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
I get - Reading :: Failed.: Timeout occurred
- *** command status = -21

Note that when I run the above flash command, I also run tftp2 at the same time with 192.168.0.1 as the server, but the response is, "Unable to get responses from the server". I also sometimes enter the password field with "admin" but it makes no difference.

When I run - CFE> ping 192.168.0.2
I get - 192.168.0.2 is not responding (seq 0)
- 192.168.0.2 1 packet sent, received

I even tried the last suggestion to try to push the bin directly from pc, so I sent up an FTP and ran the following command in CFE>

When I run - CFE> flash -noheader 192.168.0.2:factory-toddwrt.bin flash1.trx
I get - Reading 192.168.0.2:factory-toddwrt.bin: Failed.: Timeout occurred
- *** command status = -21


Does anyone have suggestions or ideas of what I could be doing wrong?

Thanks!


First of all don't use tftp2. It won't handle that big of a file. Second issue nvram erase first.
That usually makes the router respond with ttl=100.
Third, it may be: flash -noheader : nflash1.trx



Thanks for the feedback. I tried a few more things and got much father today. First, I realized that even though the router responds (when fully booted) to 192.168.0.1, it's actually set to IP 192.168.1.1. So after I configured the PC to have static IP of 192.168.1.1, I was able to push the bin. using the instructions here (https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/D-Link_DIR-868L), I first pushed factory-to-ddwrt.bin with tftp2 and then dir868-webflash.bin using tftpd64 (because as you said, the tftp2 could not handle this bigger file). After I pushed both, I also did "nvram unset devpath1", "nvram commit", and "reboot" to fix the 5Ghz issue. After it reboots, it gets stuck in CFE on its own now with the following nflash0.os error:

"Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:nflash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: Image compressed with unsupported method
Failed.
Could not load nflash0.os:: Unsupported function"

Am I supposed to flash another BIN besides the ones I already loaded to get it to work or is this related to something else?

Note that I tried flashing the Two bin files using all of the three following commands (issuing "nvram erase" command before each attempt) and the results were the same:
Code:
flash -noheader : flash1.trx
flash -noheader : nflash1.trx
flash -noheader : nflash0.trx


Thanks!

Here is the full output:

Code:
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
SVN revision: 1006
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V

R 1.13
07DC06011801080000000000001A103F01000000

S3004027F
00001DC0

00000004
00000045
0000003100000031

SVN revision: 1006
Decompressing...done
Found a ST compatible (Marconix) serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB


CFE version 6.30.163.18 (r377098) based on BBP 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,)
Build Date: Wed Jan 15 12:23:42 CST 2014 (joely@Porsche)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found a AMD NAND flash:
Total size:  128MB
Block size:  128KB
Page Size:   2048B
OOB Size:    64B
Sector size: 512B
Spare size:  16B
ECC level:   8-bit
Device ID: 0x01 0xf1 0x00 0x1d 0x01
DDR Clock: 533 MHz
Info: DDR frequency set from clkfreq=800,*533*
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 6.30.163.18 (r377098)
CPU type 0x0: 800MHz
Tot mem: 262144 KBytes

CFE mem:    0x00F00000 - 0x0108E4BC (1631420)
Data:       0x00F564A4 - 0x00F569E8 (1348)
BSS:        0x00F569F8 - 0x00F8C4BC (219844)
Heap:       0x00F8C4BC - 0x0108C4BC (1048576)
Stack:      0x0108C4BC - 0x0108E4BC (8192)
Text:       0x00F00000 - 0x00F4BFEC (311276)
Boot:       0x0108F000 - 0x010CF000
Reloc:      I:00000000 - D:00000000

Board Name: WRGAC02
SVN revision: 1006
We disable the arp for self.
We disable the arp for self.
Device eth0:  hwaddr 00-90-4C-1F-F0-18, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:nflash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: Image compressed with unsupported method
Failed.
Could not load nflash0.os:: Unsupported function
CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
Reading :: Failed.: I/O error
*** command status = -4
CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
Reading :: Failed.: I/O error
*** command status = -4
CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
Reading :: Failed.: I/O error
*** command status = -4
CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx
Reading :: Done. 28196864 bytes read
Programming...done. 28196864 bytes written
*** command status = 0
CFE> nvram unset devpath1
*** command status = 0
CFE> nvram commit
*** command status = 0
CFE> reboot
CFE> reboot^C
¦Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
SVN revision: 1006
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V

R 1.13
07DC06011801080000000000001A103F01000000

S3004027B
00001DC0

00000004
00000045
0000003100000031

SVN revision: 1006
Decompressing...done
Found a ST compatible (Marconix) serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB


CFE version 6.30.163.18 (r377098) based on BBP 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,)
Build Date: Wed Jan 15 12:23:42 CST 2014 (joely@Porsche)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found a AMD NAND flash:
Total size:  128MB
Block size:  128KB
Page Size:   2048B
OOB Size:    64B
Sector size: 512B
Spare size:  16B
ECC level:   8-bit
Device ID: 0x01 0xf1 0x00 0x1d 0x01
DDR Clock: 533 MHz
Info: DDR frequency set from clkfreq=800,*533*
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 6.30.163.18 (r377098)
CPU type 0x0: 800MHz
Tot mem: 262144 KBytes

CFE mem:    0x00F00000 - 0x0108E4BC (1631420)
Data:       0x00F564A4 - 0x00F569E8 (1348)
BSS:        0x00F569F8 - 0x00F8C4BC (219844)
Heap:       0x00F8C4BC - 0x0108C4BC (1048576)
Stack:      0x0108C4BC - 0x0108E4BC (8192)
Text:       0x00F00000 - 0x00F4BFEC (311276)
Boot:       0x0108F000 - 0x010CF000
Reloc:      I:00000000 - D:00000000

Board Name: WRGAC02
SVN revision: 1006
We disable the arp for self.
We disable the arp for self.
Device eth0:  hwaddr 00-90-4C-1F-F0-18, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
[/home/joely/bootcodes/bcm4708_ARM/src/cfe/cfe/arch/common/board/bcm947xx/src/ui_bcm947xx.c alpha_load 298] seama header magic mismatched
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:nflash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: Image compressed with unsupported method
Failed.
Could not load nflash0.os:: Unsupported function
CFE>
Martian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh wow! I just flashed tomato on top of everything I had and it all worked! These are the instructions I used (Except I used Tftpd64 to flash
rather than a browser): https://klseet.com/index.php/242-tomato/tomato-d-link/337-d-link-dir-868l-a1-flash-to-tomato-by-shibby

Now I have Tomato version 1.28 by Shibby and 5Ghz working with devz3ro's suggested "nvram unset devpath1","nvram commit", "reboot".

I would have like to try dd-wrt firmware instead but still happy with the results. Also, I don't know if I can upgrade the Tomato firmware to anything newer and not break anything.
quarkysg
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2015
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 14:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Martian wrote:
Oh wow! I just flashed tomato on top of everything I had and it all worked! These are the instructions I used (Except I used Tftpd64 to flash
rather than a browser): https://klseet.com/index.php/242-tomato/tomato-d-link/337-d-link-dir-868l-a1-flash-to-tomato-by-shibby

Now I have Tomato version 1.28 by Shibby and 5Ghz working with devz3ro's suggested "nvram unset devpath1","nvram commit", "reboot".

I would have like to try dd-wrt firmware instead but still happy with the results. Also, I don't know if I can upgrade the Tomato firmware to anything newer and not break anything.


I tried Shibby's build for the DIR-868L. It does not seem stable for me. Besides, the kernel used for the Shibby build is quite dated (2.6.x)

DD-WRT's Linux kernel already at 4.4.x.

Also, Shibby's build for the DIR-868L does not have OpenVPN and SSH installed because it will overflow the router's nvram and brick it, requiring a serial recovery.

If you want to use the latest features of the DD-WRT you can flash the build I've uploaded. Refer to my post below:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311166&start=15&p=1096741#1096741

Do NOT flash the firmware uploaded in the DD-WRT website as any version after 30432 will send your DIR-868L into a boot loop.

You should be able to flash my build for your DIR-868L directly in Shibby's Tomato build.

HTH.
Martian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
quarkysg wrote:
Martian wrote:
Oh wow! I just flashed tomato on top of everything I had and it all worked! These are the instructions I used (Except I used Tftpd64 to flash
rather than a browser): https://klseet.com/index.php/242-tomato/tomato-d-link/337-d-link-dir-868l-a1-flash-to-tomato-by-shibby

Now I have Tomato version 1.28 by Shibby and 5Ghz working with devz3ro's suggested "nvram unset devpath1","nvram commit", "reboot".

I would have like to try dd-wrt firmware instead but still happy with the results. Also, I don't know if I can upgrade the Tomato firmware to anything newer and not break anything.


I tried Shibby's build for the DIR-868L. It does not seem stable for me. Besides, the kernel used for the Shibby build is quite dated (2.6.x)

DD-WRT's Linux kernel already at 4.4.x.

Also, Shibby's build for the DIR-868L does not have OpenVPN and SSH installed because it will overflow the router's nvram and brick it, requiring a serial recovery.

If you want to use the latest features of the DD-WRT you can flash the build I've uploaded. Refer to my post below:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311166&start=15&p=1096741#1096741

Do NOT flash the firmware uploaded in the DD-WRT website as any version after 30432 will send your DIR-868L into a boot loop.

You should be able to flash my build for your DIR-868L directly in Shibby's Tomato build.

HTH.


Thank You! I'm going to give it a try later today.

Do you know if this version will also require the nvram fix for 5Ghz after a hard refresh? If so, any way to do it without a serial connection after dd-wrt firmware is running?
quarkysg
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2015
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 21:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Martian wrote:

Do you know if this version will also require the nvram fix for 5Ghz after a hard refresh? If so, any way to do it without a serial connection after dd-wrt firmware is running?


Not necessary.
Martian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Sep 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 22:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
quarkysg wrote:
Martian wrote:

Do you know if this version will also require the nvram fix for 5Ghz after a hard refresh? If so, any way to do it without a serial connection after dd-wrt firmware is running?


Not necessary.


Sweet! Well, I setup a Repeater Bridge on both antennas and everything works on max like a charm. Thanks again..

Oh btw, AC did not work on Tomato but works fine now.
Cherkowski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 15:28    Post subject: KRACK Reply with quote
Are there any updates for this router with the KRACK problem fixed that will not brick this router? (Ver B)
quarkysg
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 May 2015
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 21:39    Post subject: Re: KRACK Reply with quote
Cherkowski wrote:
Are there any updates for this router with the KRACK problem fixed that will not brick this router? (Ver B)


AFAIK routers running dd-wrt with Broadcom wireless chipset are not patched. Broadcom have to released patched version of their drivers.

My builds should work for DIR-868L Rev A/B/C. I can only test on Rev A as that’s the point not one I had.

Avoid the firmware images from the dd-wrt website until the dev team fixed the problem. Until then I’ll try to upload working builds for the 868 and 880 routers.
TheGlow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys, I've had one of these from Optimum sitting in a box for 3 years and now have a need to increase my range since more going on other side of the apartment.
Now I dont have the pin headers to put on the board, so Im using a regular usb/serial adapter. I took a cisco management cable db9 to rj45, confirmed the pin outs, then cut the rj45 tip off and just using the wires.
I solded ground to ground, cables transmit to the receive on the board, and cable receive to boards transmit.
Now I'm trying putting, 115200/8/N/1, and as soon as I power on the router I'm getting gibberish/spam feedback in the console. Ctrl+c isnt doing anything. So im not sure if that gibberish is normal or not. Do I need to swap transmit/receive? Although I assume I wouldnt get anything on screen otherwise.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum