D'link DIR-868L Optimum, Need help with flashing.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
Acumen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
ziddey wrote:
...
Connect the green wire to the first one, the black to the 3rd (in between the cluster of 3), and the white to the rightmost one. Unless you have a high wattage iron, you may have difficulty with the ground (black) one. Feel free to use any ground if necessary. The red wire does not need to be attached.
...

I have a 868L RevB and am wondering if I am having the right interpretation the quoted text above. See the arrows, where G = Green; B = Black; W=White
The image is a bit large and the BBCode to resize is not working, so here is the image:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20804642/DD-WRT%20Forum/D-Link%20DIR868L%20Serial%20connection.jpg

And if so, I guess you have to solder when you have a RevB, right?

_________________
Netgear WNDR4300v1 DD-WRT v3.0 BS r29837 | Netgear R6400 DD-WRT v3.0 KB r33525M | Tickets: 5429
IPv4 & IPv6-PD | ProFTP & Samba to USB thumb | DNSMasq DHCPv6 | Pi-Hole on RasPi

Found a bug, report it so the it can be fixed: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/
Sponsor
deslatha
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="devz3ro"][quote="ziddey"]You will need a serial connection in order to flash this. USB TTL cables are cheap. If you don't want to wait weeks for shipping from China, this one is available via Prime at $7: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QT7LQ88

To open the router, you'll need to remove the rubber feet on the bottom to expose 3 screws. Then, you'll need to remove the circular sticker up top (it's a very sturdy piece of plastic and can be removed easily without damage). Underneath is another 3 screws.

Use 115200/8/N/1, and keep trying ctrl+c on powerup. You should land at CFE> if successful.

Now, issue: flash -noheader : flash1.trx

flash -noheader : flash 192.168.0.1:CFE.bin flash0.bin
CFE.bin where which one you want due CFE.bin from Xvortex ea6900 or RT-AC68u or DIR868 or trendnet818 all are compatible.
vistazifta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
i know this thread is old but having a problem, when i
Code:
CFE> flash -noheader : flash1.trx


i get:
Code:
Reading :: Failed.: Timeout occured
*** command status = -21
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
First of all try flash -noheader : nflash1.trx
I suspect since you are getting a timeout, LAN ports may not be working.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
vistazifta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 19:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
tied, same error.
why would lan port affect it? its on local nand?

and i can ping both ways
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
What are your ping responses?
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
vistazifta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
from CFE i get
Code:
CFE> ping 192.168.1.2
192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.2) is alive
192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.2): 1 packets sent, 1 received
*** command status = 0


from windows i get

Code:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64


edit: typo
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's why. 64 means there is firmware running on it. It's not waiting for firmware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
vistazifta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
any way for me to delete the current firmware or overwrite it?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Set a continuous ping in a cmd window. Stop the cfe and type erase nvram. It should then give you a ttl=100, then you can try the procedure you were doing.

Or you an try the dlink emergency room.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
vistazifta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
what to you mean by stopping cfe?

"erase nvram" changes ttl to 100 but it still won't flash

and from what i understood, the flash1.trx was supposed to bring you into the emergency room so that we can flash the tomato or dd-wrt trx of our choosing. Please correct me if i am wrong
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 20:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you trying to flash stock on it or third party?
When you get the ttl=100, you then type: flash -noheader : nflash1.trx?
What are you using to upload the firmware? Which firmware are you using?

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
frodrick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Feb 2017
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
This seem to be the latest 2017 release issue with 868L.

the noflash command is a bust.
use "nvram erase" then reboot
all the 2017 i tried floods nvram with ssh securitykeys or something like that, and it hangs an when rebooted it wont work util nvram erase command then it reboots to normal state of the installed DDWRT with settings to default. Have not tried hte latest 3 releases.

currently running r30284 std (07/25/16) wich works ok.
gonna try the latest and see how it goes with hangs.
vistazifta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 22:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
done both, nflash and flash neither work

when i do manage to get it into reovery mode, i will prob flash advanced tomato
Miroku
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 2:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
vistazifta wrote:
done both, nflash and flash neither work

when i do manage to get it into reovery mode, i will prob flash advanced tomato


Did u figure out what the problem was?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 4
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum