DNSMasq goofed up....

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jsmiddleton4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 15:19    Post subject: DNSMasq goofed up.... Reply with quote
I'm not a Linux_router_code guy so I can't get beyond reporting symptoms. I have no idea about causes.

I also realize this kind of thing is not a big deal, not a high priority thing.

But DNSMasq and the GUI reporting part of the firmware is messed up. I can duplicate the symptoms easily.

In the Status section where we are supposed to be able to see and manage dhcp leases if I use DNSMasq sometimes that lease information isn't even reported.

I thought it was only when I used JIFFS to store the dhcp database. Not so.

DNSMasq does seem to "work" in the sense my clients get their dhcp reserved IP's. However I've noticed sometimes despite having google dns ip's in the DNSMasq configuration some times clients do not get the 8.8.8.8, etc., but instead have my cable isp provider's dns ip information.

It is as if the DNSMasq module shut down. Again not a code guy so I am in no way certain about causes.

When bypassing DNSMasq, turning it off completely, clients report the Google dns, Status LAN reports correctly, etc.

Something between the FW and DNSMasq is not playing well with others.

I've rebooted after changing settings, refreshed clients, etc. I'm confident that the symptoms I'm seeing is as I've reported something going on in the interplay between DNSMasq and the FW.

I've also noticed pages load, web sites resolve, etc., just a bit faster if I don't use DNSMasq. I have no way to objectify that. But it is the case.

_________________
Jim
Netgear R7000
Kong's 24800M OC to 1200,800
Previously:
Asus RT-N66U
Linksys E3000
Linksys WRT54GS Version 2.1
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Linksys WRT54G Version 1.1
Sponsor
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
First of all, you have not reported what kind of router you are using.

Secondly, you need to specify the revision of the firmware you are using. (Use numbers not the date.)

Because, with out this information, the most people can do for you is recommend you to read the "Peacock" thread so solutions and quite possibly update your firmware to something more recent.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
jsmiddleton4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
My bad and I was just thinking about what I left out as well.

But it is in my signature.

I'm not expecting anyone to "fix it". I've banged on it enough to know it is something Kong or Brainslayer once stuff of higher priority get addressed need to take a look at.

Netgear R7000
Kong 23435 OLD

uDHCP and setting the DNS server address to the router in setup works fine.

_________________
Jim
Netgear R7000
Kong's 24800M OC to 1200,800
Previously:
Asus RT-N66U
Linksys E3000
Linksys WRT54GS Version 2.1
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Linksys WRT54G Version 1.1
jsmiddleton4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried blasting nvram, erase nvram via telnet, loaded the NEW driver and started over. Same experience.

Once I get to 12 dhcp reserved IP's DNSMasq quits working.

Disable it and everything is fine.

_________________
Jim
Netgear R7000
Kong's 24800M OC to 1200,800
Previously:
Asus RT-N66U
Linksys E3000
Linksys WRT54GS Version 2.1
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Linksys WRT54G Version 1.1
jsmiddleton4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Left DNSMasq disabled over night. Used the FW's default and uDHCP.

Just for kicks I tried one more time enabling DNSMasq this morning. This kind of thing can drive me nuts. So I wanted to try one more time.

Everything worked. Did the DNSMasq app need time to clear its information?

I don't get why it works this morning.

_________________
Jim
Netgear R7000
Kong's 24800M OC to 1200,800
Previously:
Asus RT-N66U
Linksys E3000
Linksys WRT54GS Version 2.1
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Linksys WRT54G Version 1.1
jsmiddleton4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Left DNSMasq disabled over night. Used the FW's default and uDHCP.

Just for kicks I tried one more time enabling DNSMasq this morning. This kind of thing can drive me nuts. So I wanted to try one more time.

Everything worked. Did the DNSMasq app need time to clear its information?

I don't get why it works this morning.

_________________
Jim
Netgear R7000
Kong's 24800M OC to 1200,800
Previously:
Asus RT-N66U
Linksys E3000
Linksys WRT54GS Version 2.1
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Linksys WRT54G Version 1.1
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum