Kong R7000 Configuration Best Practices or Working Solutions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11
Author Message
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2071
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 16:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys,

Great work! I successfully was able to get Country Block working on my RT-AC68U with latest Kong F/W using built in router JFFS2 (I know, R/W cycles and all that jazz).

This is stuff that used to take OTRW and OTRW2 to make work and was extremely convoluted with no one to keep up the repos or support for it.

I think, and hope many of you guys do as well, that this information be added to the WiKi!

Having to go through thread after thread and post after post for the correct answer is time consuming.

If permissible, I'd like to add alot of this material to the Wiki (and you guys can too, it's easy).

Please let me know what you think.


Thanks and it's been a long time!

-Masterman

_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-AC68U
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Engenious ECB350
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ105W
Sponsor
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1241
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 23:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Customize Your WPS Button
_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| SSH | DDNS | DNSCrypt-Proxy | DHCP/Static IPs | Ad-Blocking |
| USB Storage - Scripts Only | VLANs/BRs | WiFi - APs/VAPs |
| OpenVPN-Client | YAMon3 | Telus-IPv6 | ebtables | ip6tables |

Gateway R7000 - KONGAC 36410M Release 2018-07-28
Wireless R7000 - KONGAC 35550M Release 2018-03-28

______________________
YAMon 3.0 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT
DDWRT 60-day Timeline/changelogs
Kong Builds | DD-WRT Beta Builds
CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
joshw3
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys,

I have what now seems like an ancient build of DDWRT v3.0-r29300M kongac 3/30/16 on my Netgear R700, that I'm looking to upgrade. I have had issues as of late where the router just randomly reboots and I'm not sure if its the router or the firmware so wanting to update to a newer more stable build and assess the situation. Can someone give me some insight into the process of going from such an old firmware to one of the newer ones and which one they recommend for stability these days on the Netgear R700?

Thank you


Last edited by joshw3 on Thu Apr 05, 2018 20:26; edited 1 time in total
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1225

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
joshw3 wrote:
Hey guys,

I have what now seems like an ancient build of DDWRT v3.0-r29300M kongac 3/30/16 on my Netgear R700, that I'm looking to upgrade. I have had issues as of late where the router just randomly reboots and I'm not sure if its the router or the firmware so wanting to update to a newer more stable build and assess the situation. Can someone give me some insight into the process of going from such an old firmware to one of the newer ones and which one they recommend for stability these days on the Netgear R700?

Thank you

Erase nvram before and after flashing. To know which one read new build threads for feedback.

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
tumex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Everyone, I recently bought Netgear R7000, tried AdvancedTomato and TommatoShiby, both are working well, but I wanted to run 5Ghz radio as AP Client. I reverted back to stock firmware and tried few versions of dd-wrt:

http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/
dd-wrt.K3_R7000.chk
dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin


http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/K3-AC-Arm/
initial/dd-wrt.K3_R7000.chk
25100m/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin


ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/04-20-2018-r35770/netgear-r7000/
factory-to-dd-wrt.chk
netgear-r7000-webflash.bin

1. Before initial flash always router had factory reset and nvram clear / browser cache cleared.
2. After initial again factory reset/nvram clear
3. Update to standart image and again nvram reset
4. Config as AP Client....
And Router WAS WORKING in CLIENT mode, but after power outage or reboot Router is reverting back to default settings.. on each versions..
5. Revert to stock img and start whole procedure for other version.

I wasted 3 days and now I get back to Tomato and It's keeping settings on it, also on orginal fw it keeps settings after reboot.


I would like to use DD-WRT but WHY IT IS LOOSING SETTINGS ? Am I missing something? Evil or Very Mad

When I enabled log, there was only that error showing up:
Code:
Apr 23 19:15:54 DD-WRT syslog.info syslogd started: BusyBox v1.28.3 
Apr 23 17:16:00 DD-WRT daemon.err httpd[1640]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period. 
Apr 23 17:16:00 DD-WRT cron.info cron[1083]: (crontabs) ORPHAN (no passwd entry) 
Apr 23 17:17:00 DD-WRT daemon.info httpd[1640]: Authentication fail 
Apr 23 17:17:00 DD-WRT daemon.err httpd[1640]: Request Error Code 401: Authorization required. please note that the default username is "root" in all newer releases 
Apr 23 17:20:04 DD-WRT daemon.err httpd[1640]: Request Error Code 408: No request appeared within a reasonable time period. 
Slafko
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Location: Radenci, Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, it is actually pretty simple... After many lost nerves with ddwrt for R7000...

Use XWRT-VORTEX firmware for R7000 and all your problems will be gone...

http://xvtx.ru/xwrt/
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6640
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Be careful. The latest xvortex messes up the cfe. You will have problem.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
phinn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Sep 2014
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Slafko wrote:
Well, it is actually pretty simple... After many lost nerves with ddwrt for R7000...
Use XWRT-VORTEX firmware for R7000 and all your problems will be gone...
http://xvtx.ru/xwrt/


I've heard XWRT is excellent but I find this very odd. R7000 has worked extremely well the latest builds for a while now. Especially with Kong's due to being more tested.
BergRD
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 23:39    Post subject: Kong Build Repo Reply with quote
Could someone link the Kong Repo URL that has all the older versions? I cannot seem to find it [again] but was an FTP site but not his.

Someone was updating a site with all the builds so stupid people like me could get an earlier build if need be to go flashback.

Thanks so very much!
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6640
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 0:25    Post subject: Re: Kong Build Repo Reply with quote
BergRD wrote:
Could someone link the Kong Repo URL that has all the older versions? I cannot seem to find it [again] but was an FTP site but not his.

Someone was updating a site with all the builds so stupid people like me could get an earlier build if need be to go flashback.

Thanks so very much!


Look here http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
BergRD
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 0:45    Post subject: Re: Kong Build Repo Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:

Look here http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr


That's the one! Thanks Malachi and surely BM'ing this time!
mistera
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 18:42    Post subject: R7000 losing settings after reboot Reply with quote
Has anybody run into the same problem that after every reboot the router reverts back to factory default settings?

Tried different versions including latest, but every time the router forgets its settings after a reboot. Before I reboot the box it's working great however, with great performance.
MvEICT
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2018
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:59    Post subject: Re: R7000 losing settings after reboot Reply with quote
mistera wrote:
Has anybody run into the same problem that after every reboot the router reverts back to factory default settings?

Tried different versions including latest, but every time the router forgets its settings after a reboot. Before I reboot the box it's working great however, with great performance.


Then I think your CFE is corrupt.

You can search this forum how to restore a working CFE file.

_________________
Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
Current firmware: r36596
Mode: Router, WAN disabled, SPI firewall disabled (filter multicast)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 Display posts from previous:    Page 11 of 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum