Kong R7000 Configuration Best Practices or Working Solutions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
phinn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Sep 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
Restore to def, flash that file and then erase nvram

Ok so it does seem like there's misinformation in Barfoot's post above. Thanks for the help.
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6403
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 21:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are already on dd-wrt, upload this from the GUI http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin
Select reset after flash or wait till it boots up then select to reset it or telnet and do an erase nvram.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 21:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
phinn wrote:
Quote:
Restore to def, flash that file and then erase nvram

Ok so it does seem like there's misinformation in Barfoot's post above. Thanks for the help.

There is a lot indeed. 30-30-30 is not the same as erase nvram, apart from what I have already replied. If you want to try Kong's build try what Malachi said.

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
azekiel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
As per my information my MBP 15" 2015 does have MIMO 3x3, so I should see TX Rates of about 1300mbps with my R7000 Netgear, am I correct?

I've tried plenty of options and read a dozens of threads here on the forums, but I am not sure if I set up everything correctly.

Any help is appreciated, thank you in advance



Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-05 um 19.37.25.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  101.09 KB
 Viewed:  12045 Time(s)

Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-05 um 19.37.25.png



Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-05 um 19.37.21.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  100.71 KB
 Viewed:  12045 Time(s)

Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-05 um 19.37.21.png



Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-05 um 19.37.13.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  118.57 KB
 Viewed:  12045 Time(s)

Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-05 um 19.37.13.png


Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
azekiel wrote:
As per my information my MBP 15" 2015 does have MIMO 3x3, so I should see TX Rates of about 1300mbps with my R7000 Netgear, am I correct?

I've tried plenty of options and read a dozens of threads here on the forums, but I am not sure if I set up everything correctly.

Any help is appreciated, thank you in advance

And how are you confirming that?

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
azekiel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
"/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/Current/Resources/airport -I"
maxRate is 1300, but lastTxRate never above 8xx

Even if I am the only wireless client sitting right next to the router.

Also with Alt+Click on the wireless symbol in the upper right corner.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
azekiel wrote:
"/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/Current/Resources/airport -I"
maxRate is 1300, but lastTxRate never above 8xx

Even if I am the only wireless client sitting right next to the router.

Also with Alt+Click on the wireless symbol in the upper right corner.

Have you tried iperf or transferring something from LAN-WLAN?

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
azekiel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
iperf does not seem to work quite well with my Synology, the only device connected to LAN.

But usual transfer speed from wireless to the synology are 25-40mb/s write.

If I connect a LAN cable its 100-105mb/s

will test with iperf asap!

//edit:

Tx rate showed 878mbit

[ 4] local 192.168.1.108 port 63708 connected to 192.168.1.141 port 4000
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 4] 0.00-1.00 sec 55.2 MBytes 463 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 1.00-2.00 sec 59.4 MBytes 499 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 2.00-3.00 sec 59.1 MBytes 495 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 3.00-4.00 sec 57.7 MBytes 485 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 4.00-5.00 sec 59.3 MBytes 498 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 5.00-6.00 sec 55.5 MBytes 466 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 6.00-7.00 sec 59.0 MBytes 495 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 7.00-8.00 sec 59.1 MBytes 496 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 8.00-9.00 sec 59.7 MBytes 500 Mbits/sec
[ 4] 9.00-10.00 sec 59.2 MBytes 497 Mbits/sec
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 4] 0.00-10.00 sec 583 MBytes 489 Mbits/sec sender
[ 4] 0.00-10.00 sec 583 MBytes 489 Mbits/sec receiver
azekiel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any idea? Sad
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
azekiel wrote:
Any idea? Sad

From what I see on your screenshots the only weird thing that I see is using Tx power in manual. Leave that in auto unless you know what it's used for (which isn't give you more power).

Apart from that I would try lower channels like 48 or higher channels 149+. Also check on the connected wifi devices table on ddwrt panel that your MBP is shown with VHT80 width channel.

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
azekiel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
116 is the highest channel I can choose?

(Regulatory Domain Germany)
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 20:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
azekiel wrote:
116 is the highest channel I can choose?

(Regulatory Domain Germany)

In Germany yes.

_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
azekiel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried with 149 US and 116 Germany, both got up to 70mb/s now.
Don't know why. Only changed TX power to Auto. Maybe that was the problem.



Seems to be good for now. Thanks for your support.
fezster
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 May 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am using the following version on my R7000:

v3.0 r31160M (01/18/17)

And seem to have an intermittent problem with wifi using multiple vap's / ssid's.

I have 6 virtual interfaces in total - three on the 2.4ghz band and three on the 5ghz band. I see variations of the following problems:

1. Some ssid's disappear randomly for a few minutes at a time.

2. Occasionally, an ssid is duplicated and you cannot connect to it (it either says authentication failed or just keeps trying to connect - this is from an android phone).

3. Connectivity sometimes just drops for up to 5 minutes at a time. But then restores itself. Wired connections are unaffected, which means the WAN interface is up.

I'm now trying to run with fewer ssid's. Utilising the 2.4gz band only for most of them. I'll see how that goes over the next week.

Are there known issues with too many ssid's? Is it better to use different ssid's for 2.4ghz/5ghz bands? Any other suggestions?
nirphon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Sep 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 21:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
fezster wrote:
I am using the following version on my R7000:

v3.0 r31160M (01/18/17)

And seem to have an intermittent problem with wifi using multiple vap's / ssid's.

I have 6 virtual interfaces in total - three on the 2.4ghz band and three on the 5ghz band. I see variations of the following problems:

1. Some ssid's disappear randomly for a few minutes at a time.

2. Occasionally, an ssid is duplicated and you cannot connect to it (it either says authentication failed or just keeps trying to connect - this is from an android phone).

3. Connectivity sometimes just drops for up to 5 minutes at a time. But then restores itself. Wired connections are unaffected, which means the WAN interface is up.

I'm now trying to run with fewer ssid's. Utilising the 2.4gz band only for most of them. I'll see how that goes over the next week.

Are there known issues with too many ssid's? Is it better to use different ssid's for 2.4ghz/5ghz bands? Any other suggestions?



I have the same issue. Already made a topic and a bugreport for it. No solution found yet.

Topic : http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308391&highlight=

Bug report: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5865
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 9 of 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum