PPPoE bridge only

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
sWORDs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 16:37    Post subject: PPPoE bridge only Reply with quote
How do I set a dd-wrt router to only do PPPoE.

Basically what it want it to do is make a PPPoE connection (with username and pass) and DHCP the public ip to a router behind dd-wrt. Like turning it in to a PPPoE modem. If possible it would be perfect if it could make that PPPoE connection to a tagged VLAN in a trunk (But I could untag it on a managed switch first if needed).
Sponsor
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2411

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 17:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've never tried to do a PPPoE bridge, but you may try:
Setup -> Basic -> DHCP Type = DHCP Forwarder and/or disable DHCP Server right below it.

You might also read this:
http://lab.stefanoperna.it/archives/tutorial-2/networking/linking-dd-wrt-routers-with-dhcp-forwarder-option/

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31924 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
sWORDs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
With router behind ddwrt I ment a router on the LAN side, not WAN, or I'm not understanding your solution.
NTU (fiber to ethernet)->DDWRT (PPPoE on VLAN)->Asus AC87U (DHCP Client WAN and NAT, DHCP Server LAN)

If it's possible without the VLAN I can put a managed switch in front of the dd-wrt router to untag first.

The reason for this weird solution is that I want to use level 2 CTF on the Asus for NAT and it can't with PPPoE.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum