r7000 won't update

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
asylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 21:23    Post subject: r7000 won't update Reply with quote
I can't figure out for the life of me why this router won't apply any updates at all no matter what I do. I followed the directions on the wiki and various forum threads about doing a factory reset before applying (and after) and how I should perform a "30/30/30" before and after, clear my browser cache and use IE to apply the update, etc. Still, the router refuses to apply any update at all. It'll go through the process and the countdown notification will pop up telling me to wait 5 mins (299 seconds) and "act" like it's applying the update. However, the power led light won't blink like it's supposed to which informs me of a update in progress, and even after I wait for 5 mins and it reboots, it's still the same firmware that was on it before... what's going on? Am I stuck on this version forever? I am using version 23900m at the moment. The reason for the upgrade is because the router seems to take forever to restart after it crashes my net every so often so I thought upgrading to version 24200m or even 24170m might help, but I cant for the life of me get it apply any damn update at all lol. If anybody has anything that can help, that would be perfect... Thanks!
Sponsor
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 22:01    Post subject: Re: r7000 won't update Reply with quote
asylum wrote:
I can't figure out for the life of me why this router won't apply any updates at all no matter what I do. I followed the directions on the wiki and various forum threads about doing a factory reset before applying (and after) and how I should perform a "30/30/30" before and after, clear my browser cache and use IE to apply the update, etc. Still, the router refuses to apply any update at all. It'll go through the process and the countdown notification will pop up telling me to wait 5 mins (299 seconds) and "act" like it's applying the update. However, the power led light won't blink like it's supposed to which informs me of a update in progress, and even after I wait for 5 mins and it reboots, it's still the same firmware that was on it before... what's going on? Am I stuck on this version forever? I am using version 23900m at the moment. The reason for the upgrade is because the router seems to take forever to restart after it crashes my net every so often so I thought upgrading to version 24200m or even 24170m might help, but I cant for the life of me get it apply any damn update at all lol. If anybody has anything that can help, that would be perfect... Thanks!


Which build are you trying to flash?

What is the output of:

nvram show | grep DD_BOARD

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
asylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 23:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
the output responds with:

size: 36079 bytes (29457 left)
ping_ip=nvram show | grep DD_BOARD
DD_BOARD=Netgear R7000

----------------------------
I tried to flash build 24170m off of your website. I've tried both OLDD and STDD versions and neither will work. I was originally going to flash 24200m but then I realized it stated !!!Currently under test!!! so I didn't want that build.
bb12489
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Aug 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 0:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having the same issue with my R7000. I try to upgrade or downgrade and it simply says "upgrade failed"
asylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Also After messing around with settings in the gui, i've found out that enabling QoS crashes my connection on build 23900m.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
asylum wrote:
the output responds with:

size: 36079 bytes (29457 left)
ping_ip=nvram show | grep DD_BOARD
DD_BOARD=Netgear R7000

----------------------------
I tried to flash build 24170m off of your website. I've tried both OLDD and STDD versions and neither will work. I was originally going to flash 24200m but then I realized it stated !!!Currently under test!!! so I didn't want that build.


OK, can you give me the output of:

cat /dev/mtd4ro | grep NET

Did you make sure that the md5 for the downloaded firmware file matches?

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
bb12489 wrote:
I'm having the same issue with my R7000. I try to upgrade or downgrade and it simply says "upgrade failed"


That's a different error, your is complaining right away without reboot, this means it wasn't uploaded correctly. Use a different browser or computer.

asylums error however is different it happens if you upload the wrong or corrupted firmware.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
asylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 14:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:

OK, can you give me the output of:

cat /dev/mtd4ro | grep NET

Did you make sure that the md5 for the downloaded firmware file matches?


output says:

U12H270T00_NETGEAR
NETGEAR42
NETGEAR42-5G

--------------

I checked the md5 on two different file versions the old and latest wifi drivers without zabbix.

dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_BT_NEWD
(dbaabf5673a774fac2482f26d11db2f9)

dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_BT_OLDD
(b3a5a02e1b9025a46f4fe91421857ed4)

they match checksum values.

strange, what else could it be?



edit: this is what the led lights do when I attempt to install upgraded firmware to the unit. The power led lights up with both the white/orange leds at the same time giving off this pinkish color and the wan/wifi connections dont reset, i have googled this and i havn't found out what this means..
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
asylum wrote:
<Kong> wrote:

OK, can you give me the output of:

cat /dev/mtd4ro | grep NET

Did you make sure that the md5 for the downloaded firmware file matches?


output says:

U12H270T00_NETGEAR
NETGEAR42
NETGEAR42-5G

--------------

I checked the md5 on two different file versions the old and latest wifi drivers without zabbix.

dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_BT_NEWD
(dbaabf5673a774fac2482f26d11db2f9)

dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_BT_OLDD
(b3a5a02e1b9025a46f4fe91421857ed4)

they match checksum values.

strange, what else could it be?



edit: this is what the led lights do when I attempt to install upgraded firmware to the unit. The power led lights up with both the white/orange leds at the same time giving off this pinkish color and the wan/wifi connections dont reset, i have googled this and i havn't found out what this means..


Well we have checked 2 things that the update routine checks before it actually writes the bin to the flash.

Thus I'm sure it tries to flash, but most likely hits a bad block in flash and then it will be stuck. Because before it flashes it stops all services you cannot access webif or ssh.

I'm afraid in that case you have a problem, did you try flashing oem firmware for the R7000, I think it is much smaller and there is a chance it fits before a bad block.

If you have a serial cable you can watch the output of the flash process, which will show bad block error when it hits one.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
asylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
tried the stock firmware but it wouldn't install that either. so... a RMA is out of the question.

I dont have a serial cable but I ran dmesg and it does show bad blocks:

Northstar brcmnand NAND Flash Controller driver, Version 0.1 (c) Broadcom Inc. 2012
NAND device: Manufacturer ID: 0xec, Chip ID: 0xf1 (Samsung NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit), 128MiB, page size: 2048, OOB size: 64
Spare area=64 eccbytes 56, ecc bytes located at:
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63
Available 7 bytes at (off,len):
(1,1) (16,2) (32,2) (48,2) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0)
Driver must set ecc.strength when using hardware ECC
Scanning device for bad blocks
Bad eraseblock 89 at 0x000000b20000
Bad eraseblock 513 at 0x000004020000
Bad eraseblock 660 at 0x000005280000
Bad eraseblock 747 at 0x000005d60000


so... its now a frisbee/pellet gun target? lol
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
asylum wrote:
tried the stock firmware but it wouldn't install that either. so... a RMA is out of the question.

I dont have a serial cable but I ran dmesg and it does show bad blocks:

Northstar brcmnand NAND Flash Controller driver, Version 0.1 (c) Broadcom Inc. 2012
NAND device: Manufacturer ID: 0xec, Chip ID: 0xf1 (Samsung NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit), 128MiB, page size: 2048, OOB size: 64
Spare area=64 eccbytes 56, ecc bytes located at:
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63
Available 7 bytes at (off,len):
(1,1) (16,2) (32,2) (48,2) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0) (0,0)
Driver must set ecc.strength when using hardware ECC
Scanning device for bad blocks
Bad eraseblock 89 at 0x000000b20000
Bad eraseblock 513 at 0x000004020000
Bad eraseblock 660 at 0x000005280000
Bad eraseblock 747 at 0x000005d60000


so... its now a frisbee/pellet gun target? lol


Well those badblocks from above are normal and not a problem, since these are included in the bad blocks table and therefore will be skipped by the write process.

What you could try is, erase the partition where the firmware sits, after you erased and rebooted the router it will start tftpd. The power light will blink and it waits for you to upload a new fw in *.chk format.

If that does not work either I would just rma it, as it is an obvious hardware failure then.

I can give you instructions via pm if you want, just don't want to post it here, others may have different problems and try this without exactly knowing what they are doing.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
asylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alrght, I've sent you a prvate message. Awaiting a response when you have the time.

Thanks.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4045
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
bb12489 wrote:
I'm having the same issue with my R7000. I try to upgrade or downgrade and it simply says "upgrade failed"


And did you also overclock your unit. The debug info I got from asylum shows, that his unit has been overclocked, which obviously causes his strange behavior of corrupt mtd names.

I don't want to see any bugreports unless they are done with std cpu clock. I already told the folks over at myopenrouter, that it means nothing if the unit is able to boot with a higher clock, in my cpu and memtests, I saw several problems. Some units might run fine @1200Mhz, most don't and they produce errors e.g. with vpn connections.

P.S. A Resets through webif will not change the clkfreq, so if you overclocked it, then you have to set it back to default.

nvram set clkfreq=1000,800
nvram commit

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
dugless
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 18:25    Post subject: R7000 Build 24500 Will Not Flash Reply with quote
I cannot flash the router after flashing to build 24500. The router is functioning fine, it just refuses to update and reports back the flash has failed. I have tried to tftp flash from 2 different pc's and also my MacBook pro. Still no love. Any suggestions? Thanks
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6410
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 19:59    Post subject: Re: R7000 Build 24500 Will Not Flash Reply with quote
dugless wrote:
I cannot flash the router after flashing to build 24500. The router is functioning fine, it just refuses to update and reports back the flash has failed. I have tried to tftp flash from 2 different pc's and also my MacBook pro. Still no love. Any suggestions? Thanks


Which fw are you trying to flash?

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum