New build is out 23838(BS) K2.6 and K3.X

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7029
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
ah and one another important note. not all broadcom devices can be supported by brcm3x builds. it simply depends on the cpu features. some mips cpu's are a little bit to old, some are not. mips16e and mips32 R2 support is required
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Sponsor
pgotze
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 56
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:02    Post subject: RE Reply with quote
Updated on E3000, K3x version. No issues, both wifi works properly, WDS bridge with another E3000 works as well.
_________________
1 x Asus RT-N18U
1 x Linksys E3000 DD-WRT build 23838 NEWD-2 K3.x mega
1 x Linksys E3000 DD-WRT build 23919 NEWD-2 K3.x mega
1 x Linksys E3000 DD-WRT build 25628 NEWD-2 K3.x mega
goRt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
ah and one another important note. not all broadcom devices can be supported by brcm3x builds. it simply depends on the cpu features. some mips cpu's are a little bit to old, some are not. mips16e and mips32 R2 support is required


Is there a command to identify the CPU's features?

Thanks
Newbrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Dec 2013
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 15:05    Post subject: ASUS RT-N66U & Linksys E2000 Reply with quote
Asus RT-N66U WiFi seems more stable than previous k3x builds - specifically I've been running Kernel 3 build 23598 on those for a while.

E2000 bricked, serially recovered to 21676 for now, as Kernel 3 builds 23598 and 23720 seems to bring it to its knees after 12-24 hours

/NewBrain
bskchaos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Feb 2009
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 18:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
if the gui does not show linksys e3000 but wrt54g or something like that it simply means that the nvram is screwed up. because the wrt54g string is the default name if the device cannot be detected. an the detection is done by nvram. so the nvram is in inconsistent state and contains wrong values. this may finally also lead to non working wifi


I have the same issue with Asus N12B1 and k3.x builds. Is there anyway to fix it?
deeproot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:35    Post subject: Re: ASUS RT-N66U & Linksys E2000 Reply with quote
Newbrain wrote:
Asus RT-N66U WiFi seems more stable than previous k3x builds - specifically I've been running Kernel 3 build 23598 on those for a while.

/NewBrain


Asus RT-AC66U wifi seems to be much more stable also.
nolimitz
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
if the gui does not show linksys e3000 but wrt54g or something like that it simply means that the nvram is screwed up. because the wrt54g string is the default name if the device cannot be detected. an the detection is done by nvram. so the nvram is in inconsistent state and contains wrong values. this may finally also lead to non working wifi


i think there is something wrong with the detection of E3000 in this build. i upgraded from 21676 K3.X without a reset, it was detected fine. i did a 30-30-30 reset, now it is detected as a wrt54g with wrong / 00 MAC addresses, i flashed several times just to make sure the flash went fine, back to 21676 for now.
ddwrtomni
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just flashed this new FW in my WRT610n V2 but:

* The wifi don't work.
* Olivetti olicard 145 don't work. In /tmp/ppp/options.pppoe the connection are configured on /dev/usb/tts/4 but in the mobile broadband web page the connection should be done with tts5


Step1: dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt610nv2
Step2: dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_big

Can I try something?

Logs:
cat /proc/bus/usb/devices
Code:
T:  Bus=02 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=12  MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  0/900 us ( 0%), #Int=  0, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0001 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.24.111 ohci_hcd
S:  Product=OHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:04.0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   2 Ivl=255ms

T:  Bus=01 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#=  1 Spd=480 MxCh= 2
B:  Alloc=  1/800 us ( 0%), #Int=  1, #Iso=  0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1d6b ProdID=0002 Rev= 2.06
S:  Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.24.111 ehci_hcd
S:  Product=EHCI Host Controller
S:  SerialNumber=0000:00:04.1
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=  0mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=09(hub  ) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   4 Ivl=256ms

T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=  3 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=0b3c ProdID=c003 Rev= 0.00
S:  Manufacturer=USBModem
S:  Product=HSPA Data Card
S:  SerialNumber=1234567890ABCDEF
C:* #Ifs= 6 Cfg#= 1 Atr=a0 MxPwr=500mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=4ms
I:* If#= 1 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
E:  Ad=82(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=4ms
I:* If#= 2 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
E:  Ad=83(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=03(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=4ms
I:* If#= 3 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
E:  Ad=84(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=04(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=4ms
I:* If#= 4 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=option
E:  Ad=05(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=85(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
I:* If#= 5 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=option
E:  Ad=86(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=  64 Ivl=2ms
E:  Ad=87(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=06(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 512 Ivl=4ms


dmesg
Code:
br0: port 1(vlan1) entering forwarding state
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial
drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial Driver core
drivers/usb/serial/usb-serial.c: USB Serial support registered for GSM modem (1-port)
usbcore: registered new interface driver option
drivers/usb/serial/option.c: USB Driver for GSM modems:
usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 2
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
option 1-1:1.0: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0
option 1-1:1.1: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB1
option 1-1:1.2: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB2
option 1-1:1.3: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB3
option 1-1:1.4: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB4
option 1-1:1.5: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 1-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB5
SCSI subsystem initialized
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
device vlan1 left promiscuous mode
br0: port 1(vlan1) entering disabled state
device eth1 left promiscuous mode
br0: port 2(eth1) entering disabled state
device eth2 left promiscuous mode
br0: port 3(eth2) entering disabled state
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
device vlan1 entered promiscuous mode
br0: port 1(vlan1) entering learning state
device eth1 entered promiscuous mode
br0: port 2(eth1) entering learning state
device eth2 entered promiscuous mode
br0: port 3(eth2) entering learning state
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
device br0 left promiscuous mode
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 1(vlan1) entering forwarding state
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 2(eth1) entering forwarding state
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 3(eth2) entering forwarding state



some test:
Code:
root@MyWi:/tmp# export COMGTDIAL='ATD*99#'
root@MyWi:/tmp# /usr/sbin/comgt DIAL -d /dev/usb/tts/4

Dialling with custom string:ATD*99#

No Connect
root@MyWi:/tmp# /usr/sbin/comgt DIAL -d /dev/usb/tts/5

Dialling with custom string:ATD*99#

FINITO
eetommyj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just wanted to report that I was able to flash my E3000 with dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin. I did the standard 30/30/30 before and after the upgrade. I use my E3000 primarily as a wired NAT router so I haven't tested the radios. So far, so good.

The only thing I have to report is that on the status page it is reporting that I have 256kB of NVRAM. My previous K3.x build (dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin) only reported 64kB.

Should I be worried?

EDIT: Nevermind. This seems like a known issue with these newer builds. http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/3115#comment:2
ioan.pintican
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Will this do for brcm3x builds?

root@gateway:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type : Broadcom BCM4716 chip rev 1
processor : 0
cpu model : MIPS 74K V4.0
BogoMIPS : 239.20
wait instruction : no
microsecond timers : yes
tlb_entries : 64
extra interrupt vector : no
hardware watchpoint : yes
ASEs implemented : mips16 dsp
shadow register sets : 1
VCED exceptions : not available
VCEI exceptions : not available

dcache hits : 2147483648
dcache misses : 4157210433
icache hits : 2147483648
icache misses : 3984636480
instructions : 2147483648
_Robb_
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 324
Location: Wr PL

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA6700 - uptime 2 days.

Due to the nvram 32,000b limit(cfe bug), had to disable traf info & can't enable ssh. If I do configure then 2GHz is switched off after any reboot because various nvram configuration vars disappear.

Configured both wifi with aes security and other settings for max performance.
Tested performance with iperf to NAS.
5GHz N performance(2 stream): max - 150Mbits, min - 70Mbits, avg - 98 Mbits. Transfer speed diagram is saw/wave shaped, with around 12sec between peaks.

EDIT:
Did another test when all other devices disconected.
bin/iperf.exe -c 192.168.1.XX -P 1 -i 1 -m -p 5001 -w 4096.0K -N -l 4.0M -f m -t 30

Result: a very fast transfer
[224] 0.0-30.2 sec 656 MBytes 182 Mbits/sec
Code:
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[224]  0.0- 1.0 sec  20.0 MBytes   168 Mbits/sec
[224]  1.0- 2.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224]  2.0- 3.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224]  3.0- 4.0 sec  16.0 MBytes   134 Mbits/sec
[224]  4.0- 5.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224]  5.0- 6.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224]  6.0- 7.0 sec  16.0 MBytes   134 Mbits/sec
[224]  7.0- 8.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224]  8.0- 9.0 sec  16.0 MBytes   134 Mbits/sec
[224]  9.0-10.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 10.0-11.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 11.0-12.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 12.0-13.0 sec  16.0 MBytes   134 Mbits/sec
[224] 13.0-14.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 14.0-15.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 15.0-16.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 16.0-17.0 sec  20.0 MBytes   168 Mbits/sec
[224] 17.0-18.0 sec  20.0 MBytes   168 Mbits/sec
[224] 18.0-19.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 19.0-20.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 20.0-21.0 sec  16.0 MBytes   134 Mbits/sec
[224] 21.0-22.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 22.0-23.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 23.0-24.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 24.0-25.0 sec  16.0 MBytes   134 Mbits/sec
[224] 25.0-26.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 26.0-27.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] 27.0-28.0 sec  20.0 MBytes   168 Mbits/sec
[224] 28.0-29.0 sec  20.0 MBytes   168 Mbits/sec
[224] 29.0-30.0 sec  24.0 MBytes   201 Mbits/sec
[224] MSS size 1460 bytes (MTU 1500 bytes, ethernet)
Done.

_________________
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3915993898.png

DO NOT 30-30-30 or erase nvram newer routers! It can brick them.

EA6700: Build 27745 (nvram below 32K, ipv6 - HE 6in4)
E4200: Build 26587
WRT54GL: Retired - waiting in the closet for an emergency.
justin.freitas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 13:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
E3000

21676 -> 23838

No problems with the upgrade and everything seems to be working just fine. Thanks for everything!
databoy2k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 17:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I managed to post my feedback in the Atheros forum.

Build Flashed: dd-wrt.v24_vpn_generic (Not k2.6 or k3.x)
Router Model: WRT-310n V.1
Status: Online and alive (sshd tested and working)
Reset: None (30/30/30 pre and post install)
Errors: "Deadlock Detected, try to fix it"

Router itself is working and seems stable; below are only commments of weird things happening.

I get the above error in my ssh terminal any time I run nvram commit (or if I'm logged into my terminal while applying changes through my web interface). Earlier searches suggested that this is a bug in the firmware on certain routers.

I noted in the Atheros forum that each tab change on the web gui results in a white screen (almost a timeout) that when I press Stop on my browser shows that much of the page has been loaded. It's almost like the last few elements of the page don't load at all. I'm using the current version of Chrome on Windows 7.

Are these connected?
Xirrus45
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 14:58    Post subject: Netgear WNDR3700v3 Reply with quote
Netgear WNDR3700v3

Flashed successfully with
dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin
with reset, but Wi-Fi is not working.

Reverted to
dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin
Twingo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Dec 2007
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 15:25    Post subject: Re: Netgear WNDR3700v3 Reply with quote
Xirrus45 wrote:
Netgear WNDR3700v3

Flashed successfully with
dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin
with reset, but Wi-Fi is not working.

Reverted to
dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin

Same here, the wifi would work on my 3700v3 only after you manually disable in wireless setting, then enable again, but after reboot wifi will stop working again, this should be a driver problem.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum