New build is out 23838(BS) K2.6 and K3.X

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
TeutonJon78
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 15:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
After playing with the build more, I can't verify 5 GHz with any build, as my only compatible clients have issues on that band.

I did experience other issues, namely the router ended up thinking it was a WRT54G in the nvram and had problems being restored.

My original post is updated:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=888977#888977

_________________
Linksys E3000 v1 - r27506, K3.x

Previous Stable Builds: 21676/K3.x/mega
Bad Builds: r23838/K3.x (issues with flashing/NVRAM, seems to work once there)

E3000 WAN Serial Cable
Sponsor
lobotron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:41    Post subject: same procedure as every newer flash Reply with quote
Router:Belkin F7D3302 v1 (BCM4718 32KB nvram)
firmware:dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin
reset by GUI

result:
need to power cycle
wifi again not working till apply something
wifi again not working after reboot
mutiny
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
newnews wrote:
Flashed dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega.bin on my e2000 and e3000 router (originally with dd-wrt.v24-23720_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega.bin installed), the E3000 works fine, wireless 2.4GHz and 5GHz ok. The E2000 got bricked. I am able to ping e2000, but cannot open GUI or telnet.

For some reason on the E2000 with newer 3.X builds, when trying to flash ANYTHING will result in the router getting stuck in a persistent state waiting for a TFTP firmware transfer. This makes it annoying to revert or update, but the recovery is simple: just tftp an older or stock firmware over.

Also, all the more recent 3.X builds on E2000 have the wireless interface randomly dying/restarting.
Busmaster
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 23:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Buffalo WZR-900DHP

Unusable, Low wireless signal (inssider ~-90), stock firmware ~-40 (reverted back).

Same problem on all previous releases for this model.


Did, but does not help:
Flash factory-to-dd-wrt-new.bin
Flash factory-to-dd-wrt.bin

Erase NVRAM and nflash1.brcmnand and nflash1.bbt partition's.

P.S. Sorry, if post incorrect topic.
SpyrosB
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 136
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 0:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
mutiny wrote:

For some reason on the E2000 with newer 3.X builds, when trying to flash ANYTHING will result in the router getting stuck in a persistent state waiting for a TFTP firmware transfer. This makes it annoying to revert or update, but the recovery is simple: just tftp an older or stock firmware over.


Confirmed

_________________
WRT320N converted to E2000 : DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/21/10) std-usb-nas - build 15778
studio1b
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
TeutonJon78 wrote:
Linksys E3000

previous: 21676 K3.X
upgrade: dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

procedure: "erase nvram", flash, hard reset

booted up and configured with no problems (including the setup of the 5 GHz setup)

WiFi signal is much better than 21676. However, 5 GHz wifi isn't able to connect at all. My phone can see it -- however, it appears to be in a rolling reboot, as the signal goes up, then goes to nothing, then back up.

Edit: so, I went back to 21676 and then to stock to check the 5 GHz band. It behaved the same on all the FW. Then I looked for the N4 and found out it was a known 5 GHz regression that shows that behavior.

So, I don't really know if the 5 GHz band is working or not, as I don't have any reliable clients at the moment.

Although, in flashing around to the various builds, I ran into a problem where the device thought that it was a "WRT54GS/GL/GT" and wouldn't boot up fully anymore. Doing hard reset and "erase nvram" didn't clear the situation. I was still able to access the GUI for a bit and it said the same thing for the router version. Eventually, it bricked and I had to serial recover (the problem was I think when I went back between 21676 and 23838).

Once I was on stock, I couldn't go directly to 23838 because it kept thinking it was the wrong router. I had to go to 21676 first following full procedure, and then go to 23838. I then did a hard reset on that build to make sure it wasn't an issue with the hard reset on the 23838, and it did the reset correctly. So, I don't know what caused the problem, but from the forum, someone else had the issue as well.

There may be a problem going directly from stock to 23838 for the E3000.


I flashed : dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
This is what happend to me almost the same as above.
I was lucky and was able not to brick the router.
ADVISE DO NOT FLASH E3000 K30 BUILD.

The one thing i knew that something was wrong is when i clicked APPLY it would load for 1 sec and then throw a weird page : 192.168.1.1/192.168.1.1/apply.cgi?819267000
and then it would not do anything.
also the next thing i saw was : WRT54GS/GL/GT as the device name and i was like HMMM thats just funny.

I never unplugged the router at this point i was already thinking it was bricked. all lights on the router where on but the power light was blinking like crazy.
WAN 0.0.0.0 no internet
I could 192.168.1.1 no problem

I had a hard time reflashing back to a dd wrt build.
I ping the router from my win7 pc no problem i jumped on the xp pc and ping it no problem.

i went in to the gui on my win7 pc and try to upgrade but it failed so i had to switch to a xp and ping the router and then upgrade from gui on that. it finally went back to K26.

now when i go to FTP for K26 no mega or big build of E3000 ? whats up , i thought we where should never flash anything that does not have E3000 in the title or you will brick it. or a nv60 in the title

what is this K30 about ?

we have bugs that need fixing

wifi bug i'm having in this version i had to flash back to : dd-wrt.v24-23720_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
the channel of a 2.4GH and it always goes back to AUTO and then on the status page it shows CHANNEL 1 i was able to get around this bug by setting channel 1 are the channel on the page and it seems never to revert to auto then.

i just updated to : dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k.bin

it still has the WIFI bug
on a factory upgrade
status page shows CHANNEL 1
i go to wifi page it is set to channel 6

whats up


Last edited by studio1b on Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:34; edited 2 times in total
deeproot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:05    Post subject: Asus RT-AC66U Reply with quote
Asus RT-AC66U
reset: yes
30/30/30: no

everything seems to be working.
TeutonJon78
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
studio1b wrote:

I flashed : dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
This is what happend to me almost the same as above.
I was lucky and was able not to brick the router.
ADVISE DO NOT FLASH E3000 K30 BUILD.

The one thing i knew that something was wrong is when i clicked APPLY it would load for 1 sec and then throw a weird page : 192.168.1.1/192.168.1.1/apply.cgi?819267000
and then it would not do anything.
also the next thing i saw was : WRT54GS/GL/GT as the device name and i was like HMMM thats just funny.

I never unplugged the router at this point i was already thinking it was bricked. all lights on the router where on but the power light was blinking like crazy.
WAN 0.0.0.0 no internet
I could 192.168.1.1 no problem

I had a hard time reflashing back to a dd wrt build.
I ping the router from my win7 pc no problem i jumped on the xp pc and ping it no problem.

i went in to the gui on my win7 pc and try to upgrade but it failed so i had to switch to a xp and ping the router and then upgrade from gui on that. it finally went back to K26.

now when i go to FTP for K26 no mega or big build of E3000 ? whats up , i thought we where should never flash anything that does not have E3000 in the title or you will brick it. or a nv60 in the title

what is this K30 about ?

we have bugs that need fixing

wifi bug i'm having in this version i had to flash back to : dd-wrt.v24-23720_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
the channel of a 2.4GH and it always goes back to AUTO and then on the status page it shows CHANNEL 1 i was able to get around this bug by setting channel 1 are the channel on the page and it seems never to revert to auto then.

i just updated to : dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k.bin

it still has the WIFI bug
on a factory upgrade
status page shows CHANNEL 1
i go to wifi page it is set to channel 6

whats up


On the newer K2.6 builds, WIfi is shown from several people to not be working.

And the 23838 build does work, it just was some issues getting it on the router. It works fine going from 21676.

There are some lurking issues for the e3000 though.

_________________
Linksys E3000 v1 - r27506, K3.x

Previous Stable Builds: 21676/K3.x/mega
Bad Builds: r23838/K3.x (issues with flashing/NVRAM, seems to work once there)

E3000 WAN Serial Cable
studio1b
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
well i had a fun night till almost 2am
so i thought i would be brave again and flash my e3000 with the K30 build. This time is was even more of a nightmare then before.
when it did reboot and still acting like it did before when the K30 image was installed all lights acted normal but the power light would just flash over and over. also this time LAN would not open gui or even ping the router.
i took my laptop and i could see DD-WRT wifi point i was like that is some crazy so i connected and bam i was able to GUI and ping from the laptop.
i open 192.168.1.1 and saw the following

DD-WRT
Router Model
Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
LAN MAC
00:00:00:00:00:02
WAN MAC

Wireless MAC
00:00:00:00:00:02
WAN IP

LAN IP
192.168.1.1

at this point i was like dam i really did something wrong. i go over to the upgrade firmware tab and went to flash the mini version of e3000 and it did not work. router was at the upgrade screen longer then the count down and then 5+ mins later it error web page.

I left it sit for another 5 mins before trying a 30/30/30
i did that and then when it came back again NO LAN but wifi was able to connect. i repeated the above step go back in to firmware update but this time when i flash it it worked Smile i was back to a MINI 3000 build. and it was working fine again.

again the WIFI BUG is still in the build
factory reset on any version status page shows CHANNEL 1 but when u go to wifi setup page it is set to CHANNEL 6


again NO NOT FLASH K30 BUILD on the router you will end up in some trouble
Smart-Travler
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 22:18    Post subject: Netgear WNDR4000 Reply with quote
Upgraded from dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin

To dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k.bin would not load.

Tried dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin uploaded but no wireless.

Back to dd-wrt-.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-nv64k.bin

No issues.

dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin would not load.


I guess the big and mega bins are just to large.
newnews
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think probably you did something wrong. Mine E3000 has no such wifi problem at all. I set to channel 1 on 2.4GHz and status show channel 1. My laptop also connected to channel 1

studio1b wrote:
well i had a fun night till almost 2am
so i thought i would be brave again and flash my e3000 with the K30 build. This time is was even more of a nightmare then before.
when it did reboot and still acting like it did before when the K30 image was installed all lights acted normal but the power light would just flash over and over. also this time LAN would not open gui or even ping the router.
i took my laptop and i could see DD-WRT wifi point i was like that is some crazy so i connected and bam i was able to GUI and ping from the laptop.
i open 192.168.1.1 and saw the following

DD-WRT
Router Model
Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
LAN MAC
00:00:00:00:00:02
WAN MAC

Wireless MAC
00:00:00:00:00:02
WAN IP

LAN IP
192.168.1.1

at this point i was like dam i really did something wrong. i go over to the upgrade firmware tab and went to flash the mini version of e3000 and it did not work. router was at the upgrade screen longer then the count down and then 5+ mins later it error web page.

I left it sit for another 5 mins before trying a 30/30/30
i did that and then when it came back again NO LAN but wifi was able to connect. i repeated the above step go back in to firmware update but this time when i flash it it worked Smile i was back to a MINI 3000 build. and it was working fine again.

again the WIFI BUG is still in the build
factory reset on any version status page shows CHANNEL 1 but when u go to wifi setup page it is set to CHANNEL 6


again NO NOT FLASH K30 BUILD on the router you will end up in some trouble
goRt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
N16 big.
Unstable WiFi (only connects for a minute)
Router reboots every 8-9 minutes.

Thanks
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
studio1b wrote:
TeutonJon78 wrote:
Linksys E3000

previous: 21676 K3.X
upgrade: dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

procedure: "erase nvram", flash, hard reset

booted up and configured with no problems (including the setup of the 5 GHz setup)

WiFi signal is much better than 21676. However, 5 GHz wifi isn't able to connect at all. My phone can see it -- however, it appears to be in a rolling reboot, as the signal goes up, then goes to nothing, then back up.

Edit: so, I went back to 21676 and then to stock to check the 5 GHz band. It behaved the same on all the FW. Then I looked for the N4 and found out it was a known 5 GHz regression that shows that behavior.

So, I don't really know if the 5 GHz band is working or not, as I don't have any reliable clients at the moment.

Although, in flashing around to the various builds, I ran into a problem where the device thought that it was a "WRT54GS/GL/GT" and wouldn't boot up fully anymore. Doing hard reset and "erase nvram" didn't clear the situation. I was still able to access the GUI for a bit and it said the same thing for the router version. Eventually, it bricked and I had to serial recover (the problem was I think when I went back between 21676 and 23838).

Once I was on stock, I couldn't go directly to 23838 because it kept thinking it was the wrong router. I had to go to 21676 first following full procedure, and then go to 23838. I then did a hard reset on that build to make sure it wasn't an issue with the hard reset on the 23838, and it did the reset correctly. So, I don't know what caused the problem, but from the forum, someone else had the issue as well.

There may be a problem going directly from stock to 23838 for the E3000.


I flashed : dd-wrt.v24-23838_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin
This is what happend to me almost the same as above.
I was lucky and was able not to brick the router.
ADVISE DO NOT FLASH E3000 K30 BUILD.

The one thing i knew that something was wrong is when i clicked APPLY it would load for 1 sec and then throw a weird page : 192.168.1.1/192.168.1.1/apply.cgi?819267000
and then it would not do anything.
also the next thing i saw was : WRT54GS/GL/GT as the device name and i was like HMMM thats just funny.

whats up


What browser did you use when this happened?

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
s_razvan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:54    Post subject: Upgrade to 23838 is worth it Reply with quote
Asus RT-N66U

Problems Before upgrade from 21676
    After reboot guest wireless did not work
    download speed 45-50MB
    40MHz channel bandwidth killed the WiFi 2.4


After upgrade to 23838
    Reboot does not break guest WiFi
    download speed went to 75MB (2 days tests) and ping dropped from 5ms to 2 ms
    Long range wireless is awful > dropped from 15-20 Mb/s to 0-5 Mb/s


Using 2Vlans, VPN, 2DHCP, some firewall scripts, ProFTPD (with a FAT32 usb pen drive) and SSH.[/b]

Edit:
Reverted back to 21676 and the WiFi performance seems a bit better.
Reverted back to stock firmware and the WiFi performance is better, but not by much . This might be due to the weather and new vegetation.


Last edited by s_razvan on Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:58; edited 2 times in total
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7029
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
if the gui does not show linksys e3000 but wrt54g or something like that it simply means that the nvram is screwed up. because the wrt54g string is the default name if the device cannot be detected. an the detection is done by nvram. so the nvram is in inconsistent state and contains wrong values. this may finally also lead to non working wifi
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum