Kodi and DD-WRT with Archer C9: Cannot install any add-ons

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
fmll
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:19    Post subject: Kodi and DD-WRT with Archer C9: Cannot install any add-ons Reply with quote
I have several devices on which I use Kodi. Prior to installing dd-wrt firmware on my TP-Link Archer C9 I had no issues whatsoever. I immediately regretted my decision to flash the firmware, as I had no idea that I could not easily revert it back to stock on the C9, and now I am in a bind.

Therefore, I am left to ask a question. What could possibly be the cause for me to not be able to download add-ons in Kodi? I am by no means an expert in networking. The devices which already have Kodi installed function perfectly. But when trying to reinstall Kodi on a device, I have not been able to download any add-ons. My PC will simply freeze for a few seconds, and then not install anything.

I am at a loss, and am desperate for help. Anyone who could please shed some light on the issue, I would greatly appreciate it.
Sponsor
js1662
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2014
Posts: 1237
Location: BC, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you verified that the problem is indeed caused by dd-wrt on your router? In case you have a modem router, your main router, have you tried connecting your device to the main router and see if the problem goes away?

Since you suspect that the problem is related to C9, I will move this thread to the correct forum which is Broadcom.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:40    Post subject: Re: Kodi and DD-WRT with Archer C9: Cannot install any add-o Reply with quote
fmll wrote:
I have several devices on which I use Kodi. Prior to installing dd-wrt firmware on my TP-Link Archer C9 I had no issues whatsoever. I immediately regretted my decision to flash the firmware, as I had no idea that I could not easily revert it back to stock on the C9, and now I am in a bind.

Therefore, I am left to ask a question. What could possibly be the cause for me to not be able to download add-ons in Kodi? I am by no means an expert in networking. The devices which already have Kodi installed function perfectly. But when trying to reinstall Kodi on a device, I have not been able to download any add-ons. My PC will simply freeze for a few seconds, and then not install anything.

I am at a loss, and am desperate for help. Anyone who could please shed some light on the issue, I would greatly appreciate it.

I have Kodi running on several Fire Sticks and x86 PCs on all of my 3 routers. Everything smoothly so it must be something else. In case you are desperate issue erase nvram && reboot, use it with vainilla config and try kodi again.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
fmll
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 20:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was able to dismiss Kodi itself by using my Phone's 4G connection, and it was able to connect to repositories and download/install add-ons.

Now I'm seeing it might have been entirely a huge coincidence, after reading this article http://koditips.com/cant-install-kodi-addons-could-not-connect-to-repository/

I've read that ISPs may now be blocking the source urls, hence why I can connect through 4G but not through my router. I've read that using a VPN may help fix this issue.

Can anyone shed some light on this before I purchase a VPN service?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5219
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Determine if it's a DNS lookup issue or you cannot reach the server.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well as the article says, try on a PC to access addons git repositories, like this https://offshoregit.com/exodus/ If that works then it's not the router. And if that doesn't work chances that it's because of the router are not high either. You could try using your phone as a hotspot, then connecting the router to your phone's wifi and see how that goes.
_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
inyourserve
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello, At my end, Kodi is running very well and I am able to install all the Kodi addon. Are you following proper method to installing the addon?

I am installing all the best kodi addon using this tutorial http://kodidownloadapp.net

If problem is not solved can post your exact device info
inyourserve
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:25    Post subject: I am also facing issue with kodi addons Reply with quote
I am also unable to install some kodi addons in my kodi krypton.

I followed this reference

https://kodidownloadapp.net/
Brimmy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 16:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Early last year say about February, i installed Kodi and many addons on my PC and had no issues accessing content or without any long buffering times or lag. My router is always DHCP and i used Kodi 15.2_Isengard.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1405
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 18:05    Post subject: Re: I am also facing issue with kodi addons Reply with quote
inyourserve wrote:
I am also unable to install some kodi addons in my kodi krypton.

I followed this reference

https://kodidownloadapp.net/


Kodi has become very strict on what is loaded or addons it will allow. Do a search for kodi allow unknown sources.

I can't see this being a DD-WRT issue unless all devices are having issues are having Internet issues.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway WiFi 3xVPN - KONGAT 39855M
E3000 - Gateway Wired IPTV - DDWRT r35531 Mega
WHR-HP-G54 - Internal Routing - DDWRT r35531 std-special

______________________
Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway, WiFi & VPN - KONGAC 39855M
WRT610Nv1 - Repeater Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

__________________________
Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - KONGAC 39855M
E2000 - Wired PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531

__________________
YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
jheide44
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 729

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
FWIW, sometimes when using "those types of Repos" you may need to disable add blocking (or setup an exception).

Services > Ad Blocking > Privoxy

that was my "secret sauce" a while back...

but I can't remember what I was updating, or whose repo it was... one of the add-ons, openELEC, one of the RetroPi things? (probably not openHAB)

I just remember a RaspPi, an issue & after disabling Privoxy I was able to get run the update.


EDIT:
PS. you also realize that many "unofficial" add on repos are getting shut down and re-opening at a new URL... copyright crackdowns & such. You may also need to setup new repos for your add-ons & the dd-wrt cause/effect might have just been timing thing from your point of view.

_________________
reenignE esreveR
Resistance is NOT futile... It's Voltage divided by Current!

[size=9]
_.-:Curently Deployed Devices:-._
Loc_1.0: R6400 -- Kong PTB 35550M 03-28-2018
Loc_2.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 35550M 03-28-2018
Loc_3.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 35030M 02-19-2018
Loc_4.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 28600M 12-31-2015 (Radios OFF) & 5 Ubiquity UniFi APs
Loc_4.1: E4200 -- BrainSlayer K2.6 30880
Others: too many others to list

UNofficial Repo Kong's old builds HERE.

R7000 (& similar HW) Tips/Tricks HERE.

Assumptions:
1. Everyone on the forum has read the relevant forum section announcements.
2. For Broadcom section we have ALL at least tried to understand the "Peacock" thread,
HERE
JNehru
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can use kodi via DDWRD but keep in mind to stay anonymous during the stream.
Because streaming kodi is illegal in many countries so use a kodi VPN to hide your identity.
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
JNehru wrote:
You can use kodi via DDWRD but keep in mind to stay anonymous during the stream.
Because streaming kodi is illegal in many countries so use a kodi VPN to hide your identity.

Don't resurrect old threads unless you have something to say related to the topic. The vpn is not the issue discussed here, they already know about it.

_________________
R6400v2 (boardID:30) - Kong 36480 running since 03/09/18 - (AP - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq - AdBlocking - QoS)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq - AdBlocking)
nathandev
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 22:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had done this a different way In my case it has little or nothing to do with DDWRT, With my firestick which I'm still using I installed with the guide,( I followed: https://techloris.com/install-kodi-on-fire-stick/. )
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum