R7000 and IPv6

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
GenaM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 17:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Unfortunately it works only after I unplug and plug back WAN cable. If I do it right after reboot it does not work. All symptoms are quite similar to the ones described in the first post on Netgear forum: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=89422
Sponsor
JAMESMTL
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2014
Posts: 856
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interesting MrDoh who is the other person with the wan issue has a TM-722G.

I wonder if Kong has an idea why these issues are happening with these modems and not the surfboards. Tomato does not seem affected by the issue


*** pure speculation on my part. When MrDoh was testing ipv6 via dhcp-pd any script that started dhcp6c at startup caused the loss of wan connectivity, requiring a cable pull. If I remember correctly He was able to aquire ipv4 and ipv6 when dhcp6c was started manually via CLI.

I wonder if a delayed dhcp6c startup would be the answer to the issue. Also curious what the full tomato logs show

_________________
IPv6 Ready - HE IPv6 Tunnel
http://test-ipv6.com (10/10)
http://ipv6-test.com (20/20)
http://test-ipv6.netiter.dk (20/20)

<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
JAMESMTL wrote:
Interesting MrDoh who is the other person with the wan issue has a TM-722G.

I wonder if Kong has an idea why these issues are happening with these modems and not the surfboards. Tomato does not seem affected by the issue


*** pure speculation on my part. When MrDoh was testing ipv6 via dhcp-pd any script that started dhcp6c at startup caused the loss of wan connectivity, requiring a cable pull. If I remember correctly He was able to aquire ipv4 and ipv6 when dhcp6c was started manually via CLI.

I wonder if a delayed dhcp6c startup would be the answer to the issue. Also curious what the full tomato logs show


Only problem I know is, that some modems have trouble with the mac address change at boot, these modems are just buggy and don't handle it right, if that occurs, then usually it helps to first power up the router, then the modem, then connect them.

And it is not just an IPV6 problem, a lot of people(with only ipv4) contacted me on this before and in 90% of the cases upgrading the modems firmware was enough to fix it.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
GenaM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 0:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Before R7000 I was using ASUS RT-N66U with the stock firmware and never had issue with IPv6. While modem is definitely a suspect, it also seems that router could be causing problem as well.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
GenaM wrote:
Before R7000 I was using ASUS RT-N66U with the stock firmware and never had issue with IPv6. While modem is definitely a suspect, it also seems that router could be causing problem as well.


Yes and there are probably workarounds for the problem if it works with tomato, but first I have to implement the basics and since my and BrainSlayer both have no IPV6 from ISP we need a few advanced users that can deliver a few infos and debug the stuff I implement.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
GenaM wrote:
Before R7000 I was using ASUS RT-N66U with the stock firmware and never had issue with IPv6. While modem is definitely a suspect, it also seems that router could be causing problem as well.


Yes and there are probably workarounds for the problem if it works with tomato, but first I have to implement the basics and since my and BrainSlayer both have no IPV6 from ISP we need a few advanced users that can deliver a few infos and debug the stuff I implement.


Hi. I'm in Ireland on vacation, and haven't actually had a chance to try the new releases yet. However, yes, ipv6 works for me both with tomato and even the new stock Netgear debug firmware I've been using with the R7000, so I know it does work if implemented properly.

When I get back from vacation in a couple of weeks, I'll be trying the newest release then, and see what happens *smile*.
jsmiddleton4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Isn't Tomato open source? As in can't how it is implementing IPV6 be reviewed? Not copied, not talking about pirating it. But can't it be examined so how it is implementing IPV6 be one way to evaluate how DD-WRT is doing IPV6? Since one seems to be working better then the other.

I hesitate to say "better" but not sure which work do use.

_________________
Jim
Netgear R7000
Kong's 24800M OC to 1200,800
Previously:
Asus RT-N66U
Linksys E3000
Linksys WRT54GS Version 2.1
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
Linksys WRT54G Version 1.1
BasCom
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 1378
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 15:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
ask your providers offering native ipv6. it is working fine. cant talk bout kongs latest, cause i dont have it, but it uses the same componets as i do about a year "manually"

since there is no new mipsel build ( KONG and BS ), i cannot help with any debugging.

And BS latest bricks RT-N66U, so i do not believe, next one will do better Razz

_________________
RT-N66U @ Build 25697M K3.10.63
TL-WR842ND v1 @ BS-build 23919 WDS AP
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 WDS Client
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 Client Bridge ( Routed )
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Running 24760M (on my Buffalo WZR-1750DHP) and simply did Setup > IPV6 > Enable and "DHCPv6 with PD" on my Comcast connection and... it just works. Or at least it seems to. Wink

No custom config entered, and I'm assuming DHCPv6/PD is the right option with Comcast, yes (or should I be using "Native IPv6 from ISP"?)

All my computers get IPv6 addresses now, and tests work. The only way I can see my router's IPv6 address is by SSHing into it... Am I correct in assuming that there's nothing (yet) in the UI to show this on the web interface?

And lastly... I have 3 DD-WRT boxes here... one acting as a router (this one), and then two others running DD-WRT but with the WAN connection disabled, essentially in "Access Point Only" mode (all connected via Ethernet backbone). What is the best way to enable IPv6 on those boxes? I'm running the same 24760M build, but I fear if I enable IPv6 on that the same way it will grab a new /64, right? Or am I confused? Smile

Thanks! Great work on all of this.
JAMESMTL
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2014
Posts: 856
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
Running 24760M (on my Buffalo WZR-1750DHP) and simply did Setup > IPV6 > Enable and "DHCPv6 with PD" on my Comcast connection and... it just works. Or at least it seems to. Wink

No custom config entered, and I'm assuming DHCPv6/PD is the right option with Comcast, yes (or should I be using "Native IPv6 from ISP"?)

All my computers get IPv6 addresses now, and tests work. The only way I can see my router's IPv6 address is by SSHing into it... Am I correct in assuming that there's nothing (yet) in the UI to show this on the web interface?

And lastly... I have 3 DD-WRT boxes here... one acting as a router (this one), and then two others running DD-WRT but with the WAN connection disabled, essentially in "Access Point Only" mode (all connected via Ethernet backbone). What is the best way to enable IPv6 on those boxes? I'm running the same 24760M build, but I fear if I enable IPv6 on that the same way it will grab a new /64, right? Or am I confused? Smile

Thanks! Great work on all of this.


Correct dhcp-pd for comcast.

There is no info displayed in UI

Just try enabling ipv6 native

_________________
IPv6 Ready - HE IPv6 Tunnel
http://test-ipv6.com (10/10)
http://ipv6-test.com (20/20)
http://test-ipv6.netiter.dk (20/20)

NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
Running 24760M (on my Buffalo WZR-1750DHP) and simply did Setup > IPV6 > Enable and "DHCPv6 with PD" on my Comcast connection and... it just works. Or at least it seems to. Wink

No custom config entered, and I'm assuming DHCPv6/PD is the right option with Comcast, yes (or should I be using "Native IPv6 from ISP"?)

All my computers get IPv6 addresses now, and tests work. The only way I can see my router's IPv6 address is by SSHing into it... Am I correct in assuming that there's nothing (yet) in the UI to show this on the web interface?

And lastly... I have 3 DD-WRT boxes here... one acting as a router (this one), and then two others running DD-WRT but with the WAN connection disabled, essentially in "Access Point Only" mode (all connected via Ethernet backbone). What is the best way to enable IPv6 on those boxes? I'm running the same 24760M build, but I fear if I enable IPv6 on that the same way it will grab a new /64, right? Or am I confused? Smile

Thanks! Great work on all of this.


these sites will show ur IP:

http://test-ipv6.comcast.net/
http://ipv6-test.com/

_________________
NETGEAR R9000 | RT | 40134
NETGEAR R7800 | AP | 40134

DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
NiTrus wrote:
these sites will show ur IP:

http://test-ipv6.comcast.net/
http://ipv6-test.com/


But they'll show my specific computer's IP, not my router's IP, right?
s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
NiTrus wrote:
these sites will show ur IP:

http://test-ipv6.comcast.net/
http://ipv6-test.com/


But they'll show my specific computer's IP, not my router's IP, right?


yes
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Some of these IPv6 test sites are complaining that ICMPv6 packets are being filtered. http://ipv6-test.com/pingtest/ specifically shows that I can't respond to ICMPv6 pings that are WAN-generated pings (I can definitely respond to them from my LAN, FWIW).

Seems from the IPv6 spec that ICMPv6 is a pretty important thing as we move forward... is it being intentionally disabled in DD-WRT for some reason I'm not yet grokking?[/url]


Last edited by DaveTheNerd on Mon Aug 04, 2014 20:25; edited 1 time in total
JAMESMTL
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2014
Posts: 856
Location: Montreal, QC

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
DaveTheNerd wrote:
Some of these IPv6 test sites are complaining that ICMPv6 packets are being filtered. http://ipv6-test.com/pingtest/ specifically shows that I can't respond to ICMPv6 pings that are WAN-generated pings (I can definitely respond to them from my LAN, FWIW).

Seems from the IPv6 spec that IMVPv6 is a pretty important thing as we move forward... is it being intentionally disabled in DD-WRT for some reason I'm not yet grokking?[/url]


Correct the default firewall blocks all icmpv6 forwarding to clients behind the router. Most people feel more secure in having this traffic blocked however rfc4890 and the rfcs mentioned within state that all hosts should permit some of icmpv6 traffic to pass. Failing to do so can have some negative implications with ipv6, however most home users will probably not notice.

Somewhere back on page 5 or so I posted a slightly modified rfc4990 reference script which can be used with ddwrt.

Note ipv6 via ddwrt webif is brand new and kong is working on implementing various ipv6 components.

_________________
IPv6 Ready - HE IPv6 Tunnel
http://test-ipv6.com (10/10)
http://ipv6-test.com (20/20)
http://test-ipv6.netiter.dk (20/20)

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16 ... 35, 36, 37  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 15 of 37
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum