OpenDNS and the new DNS-O-Matic

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
Giuliano1969
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 22:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to give my piece of information on the topic.
I had for quite a long time the same problem, and could not determine which was the root of the problem.

Finally i choose to remove any special characters in the password (that worked for many years) and suddenly everything started working again.
Only used number, lower-case and upper-case.

Could not determine if the problem is caused in ddwrt or in dnsomatic, but it anyway removing the special character made it work.
Sponsor
JoeShmoe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Excuse a noob here, but what exactly is the difference between having a DDNS service like no-ip for example and DNS-o-Matic?

DDNS services update your dynamic IP by themselves don't they? what need is there for DNS-o-Matic then?
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
JoeShmoe wrote:
Excuse a noob here, but what exactly is the difference between having a DDNS service like no-ip for example and DNS-o-Matic?

DDNS services update your dynamic IP by themselves don't they? what need is there for DNS-o-Matic then?

DSN-O-Matic simply forwards your IP to different DDNS services, it's a convenient solution when other solutions fail. So you only need to use it if you have no alternative or if you use multiple services, like OpenDNS and NO-IP at the same time.

_________________
2 times RT-AC56U running 33772 with entware-ng, Yamon 3 (SFE disabled).

Asus RT-N16 running Merlin LTS fork RT-N16_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-25E8j9527.trx with entware-ng.

2 times Asus RT-N16 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.bin with entware-ng

E4200 V1 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin (bridged with LAN cable)

slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cobra1582 wrote:
Sun Jun 3 02:20:36 2012: I:INADYN: IP address for alias '**************' needs update to '***********'

but never updates, also dnsomatic never picks up the update.

tried all the settings listed in this topc and no joy, can anyone suggest anything??

Firmware: DD-WRT v24SP2-MULTI (03/21/11) std
On a Buffalo WZR-D1800H : AirStation™ 1750 Gigabit Dual Band Route

I have tried everything listed on this topic, as well as on the dnsomatic site as well as this page of the dd wrt wiki http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/OpenDNS

and yet it never update dnsomatic

cheers

Damien

Here are my DDNS settings:

DDNS Service: Custom
DYNDNS Server: updates.dnsomatic.com
Username: someemail@somedomain.com
Password: *********
Hostname: myownhostname
URL: https://updates.dnsomatic.com/nic/update?hostname=
Do not use external ip check: No
Force update interval: 1

My crontab contains:
Code:
20 3 * * * root sh /opt/script/ina.sh > /dev/null 2>&1 &

My ina.sh is:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
killall -9 inadyn
#cp /opt/etc/inadyn.conf /tmp/ddns
inadyn --input_file /tmp/ddns/inadyn.conf -u someemail@somedomain.com -p ********

Of course, cron has to work properly!

_________________
2 times RT-AC56U running 33772 with entware-ng, Yamon 3 (SFE disabled).

Asus RT-N16 running Merlin LTS fork RT-N16_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-25E8j9527.trx with entware-ng.

2 times Asus RT-N16 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.bin with entware-ng

E4200 V1 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin (bridged with LAN cable)

thatguyerik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Giuliano1969 wrote:
Just to give my piece of information on the topic.
I had for quite a long time the same problem, and could not determine which was the root of the problem.

Finally i choose to remove any special characters in the password (that worked for many years) and suddenly everything started working again.
Only used number, lower-case and upper-case.

Could not determine if the problem is caused in ddwrt or in dnsomatic, but it anyway removing the special character made it work.


This was the exact problem I was having. I had an "&" in my password and it was causing the update to fail. I would imagine this is because the password does not get URL encoded before being sent, and so any characters that are significant in a URL (like '?', '=', and '&') will likely cause the same issue.

Since OpenDNS has changed their password requirements so that passwords now MUST have at least one special character, make sure you avoid those 3 at least.
danzg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2012
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have tried to set this up on my E3000, but it just says "DDNS Status: Connecting to server" and does not update.

Any way to troubleshoot this?



Screenshot 2017-11-27 10.06.26.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  48.05 KB
 Viewed:  1963 Time(s)

Screenshot 2017-11-27 10.06.26.png


Cobra11Murderer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2013
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
danzg wrote:
I have tried to set this up on my E3000, but it just says "DDNS Status: Connecting to server" and does not update.

Any way to troubleshoot this?


Man I hate bringing up a old thread but this doesnt work at all.. No matter what I do even trying different urls in the thread.. I'm stumped
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1434
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is working perfectly for me, you probably misconfigured it...

tapr00t
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

on left side is my dnsomatic user/password, and the only special char in password is a "dot" (.)

on the right side is my user/pass for google domains, which i had working previously with ddns under openwrt.

HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 732
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 2:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
tapr00t wrote:
Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

on left side is my dnsomatic user/password, and the only special char in password is a "dot" (.)

on the right side is my user/pass for google domains, which i had working previously with ddns under openwrt.


I'm willing to bet the dot in your password is the issue. Try changing it to letters/numbers only and see if it works, then change the password to include more complexity once you've validated the configuration is correct and working.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Currently Unused~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2 - V24 STD Build 22118 configured as AP
WRT54Gv8.2 - V24 Micro Build 22118 configured as AP
tapr00t
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 23:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
dnsomatic requires the password to have a special character. I've tried @ $ . none of them work, I'm thinking it might be someother problem? Do you have a recommendation of which special character to use?

HalfBit wrote:
tapr00t wrote:
Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

on left side is my dnsomatic user/password, and the only special char in password is a "dot" (.)

on the right side is my user/pass for google domains, which i had working previously with ddns under openwrt.


I'm willing to bet the dot in your password is the issue. Try changing it to letters/numbers only and see if it works, then change the password to include more complexity once you've validated the configuration is correct and working.
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 732
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
tapr00t wrote:
dnsomatic requires the password to have a special character. I've tried @ $ . none of them work, I'm thinking it might be someother problem? Do you have a recommendation of which special character to use?

HalfBit wrote:
tapr00t wrote:
Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

on left side is my dnsomatic user/password, and the only special char in password is a "dot" (.)

on the right side is my user/pass for google domains, which i had working previously with ddns under openwrt.


I'm willing to bet the dot in your password is the issue. Try changing it to letters/numbers only and see if it works, then change the password to include more complexity once you've validated the configuration is correct and working.

I think I have a + in mine. You could try that.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Currently Unused~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2 - V24 STD Build 22118 configured as AP
WRT54Gv8.2 - V24 Micro Build 22118 configured as AP
tapr00t
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, still doesn't work, same error, I'm stumped.

[/quote]
I think I have a + in mine. You could try that.[/quote]
RhodWulf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 2:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
tapr00t wrote:
Yeah, still doesn't work, same error, I'm stumped.


I think I have a + in mine. You could try that.[/quote][/quote]

Hi,
Did you try with " /nic/update?hostname= " ?.
That is the way that works for me.
The first slash (/) looks like be important. Try it and tell us if works for you.
Regards!.
tapr00t
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
RhodWulf wrote:
tapr00t wrote:
Yeah, still doesn't work, same error, I'm stumped.


I think I have a + in mine. You could try that.
[/quote]

Hi,
Did you try with " /nic/update?hostname= " ?.
That is the way that works for me.
The first slash (/) looks like be important. Try it and tell us if works for you.
Regards!.[/quote]

with that change I'm getting a "401 unauthorized" error, before I was getting a "400 bad request" error

Code:
Tue Jul 9 08:36:37 2019: W:INADYN: Response Code: 1
Tue Jul 9 08:36:37 2019: W:INADYN: Error validating DYNDNS svr answer. Check usr,pass,hostname! (HTTP/1.0 401 Unauthorized
date: Tue, 09 Jul 2019 12:36:36 GMT
server: opendns
www-authenticate: Basic realm="DNSOMATIC"
content-length: 7
content-type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
x-xss-protection: 1; mode=block
x-ingress-point: ash
connection: close

badauth)
[/code]
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 6 of 7
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum