Peculiar behaviour on Belkin F5D7230-4 v1000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
jbanj
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 15:45    Post subject: Peculiar behaviour on Belkin F5D7230-4 v1000 Reply with quote
I am new to DD-WRT. I have a Belkin F5D7230-4 v1000. I have succesfully flashed this unit with the v23_micro_generic (SP1) load.

For whatever it's worth, I did not encounter the same level of difficulties as some users had when flashing this router. I had a direct connection from my laptop to the router. After following the flashing instructions and had a few unsuccessful attempts, I was successful when I initiated the the tftp transfer as soon as I see the four green port LEDs come on. Waiting after 1 second when the active port amber light came on resulted in tftp time out persistently.

After my successful "micro" load flash and playing with it for a while, I decided to upgrade to the Standard and VPN loads, separately of course. I used the web interface for these upgrades and were "successful" both times. Here are my observed "peculiar problems":

1. I have a v1000, but the status display always showed v1444 with all the loads (micro, Standard, and VPN), why?

2. The status display also showed the load as being "micro" even with the Standard or VPN load "successfully" flashed. Is this normal and why?

3. I am not familiar with OpenVPN but I expect to see a tab for configuring OpenVPN but did not see any configuration settings for OpenVPN with the VPN load. Should there be configuration settings for OpenVPN?

4. This is not related to the load. v1000 is supposed to have a 4MB flash. Is there a way to verify that?

I apologize for these newbie questions. Your responses and comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks you all in advance!
Sponsor
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote