WTR54GS v1, v2 & v2.1 (Linksys Travel Router) now suppor

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22  Next
Author Message
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:03    Post subject: WTR54GS v1, v2 & v2.1 (Linksys Travel Router) now suppor Reply with quote
Hi,

Linksys WTR54GS v1, v2 and v2.1
Travel Router is now supported by DD-WRT. It can be flashed without JTAG cable following rather special procedure (using Sercomm utility). Version 1 has 4MB flash and 16MB RAM. Version 2 or 2.1 has 2MB flash, 8MB RAM .

v1: serial num.: SJH0... (no version printed)
v2 & v2.1: serial num.: SJH1.... (version printed: v2 or v2.1)

(It turned out that some SJH0... bought in UK are v2 too)

Reversion to Linksys's vxWorks firmware is also possible.

Eko

PS: Special thanks to Tornado and donators of test units: dshlyam and stevel227

* * * * FLASHING INSTRUCTIONS * * * *

- download and install Sercomm utility
- download and unzip WTR upgrade file
-- for v1: WTRv1_sercomm.zip
-- for v2 and v2.1: WTRv2x_sercomm.zip
- download latest
-- for v1: RC5 mini or RC5 nokaid
-- for v2 and v2.1: RC5 micro
- download Linksys TFTP utility

1) Set your PC's IP to 192.168.16.10
2) Log into WTR at 192.168.16.1, password: admin
3) Go to: Administration -> Factory defaults -> "Restore factory Defaults"
4) Click "Continue"
5) Close your browser window
6) Set your PC's IP to 192.168.1.10
7) Start Sercomm "Upgrade Utility"
8) Select your ethernet adapter
9) Press "Browse target" button
10) MAC of your WTR will apear in "Devices List"
11) Press "Files", select: for v1: WTRv1_sercomm.bin; for v2 and v2.1: WTRv2x_sercomm.bin, press OK
12) Press "Upgrade", wait until upgrade completes, press OK
13) Important: WAIT ANOTHER 3 MINUTES
14) Start ping to 192.168.1.1 -t
15) When reply with TTL=100, start tftp (command line or Linksys TFTP utility), transfer RC5 mini or nokaid for v1, for v2 & v2.1 you can only use RC5 micro.
16) Observe ping, when TTL=64, you have dd-wrt installed.
17) CONGRATULATIONS!

PS: If you don't get ping reply at 15), reboot (power cycle) and wait another 3 min.



wtr54gsv1.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  18.15 KB
 Viewed:  166714 Time(s)

wtr54gsv1.gif




Last edited by Eko on Wed May 21, 2008 6:00; edited 35 times in total
Sponsor
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nobody interested?


WTR-ddwrt.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  76.89 KB
 Viewed:  166636 Time(s)

WTR-ddwrt.jpg


Treb
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Posts: 92
Location: Netherlands, The Hague

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh dear... Despite a lack of interest at the moment I think it's a welcome addition to the line up of supported routers. Great work!
_________________
WRT54GL v1.1 @ 216MHz
2x HGA7T
DD-WRT v24 RC-5 (11/22/07) std nokaid
slimey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 330
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think its great also, cant ever have too many supported devices Wink
Good work everyone.
a9988cd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 83
Location: Taipei,Taiwan

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where can take rc-5? Shocked
dacman61
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Buckhannon, West Virginia, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 16:07    Post subject: RC5 Reply with quote
Where can I find RC5? I've look all throughout the Downloads section, but found nothing.
olmari
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Vaasa, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko is teh developer... RC-5 is something he (and brainslayer etc) has access to jsut of this moment... because he is developing it, it is becoming public when they feel RC-5 is free (eenough) of known bugs...
_________________
Site 1:
P3 1GHz Coppermine with DD-WRT v24 as main router
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP

Site 2:
AMD64 4200+ Dualcore AM2 with DD-WRT v24 as main router
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP
tdtran1025
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Oct 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 0:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
The router is beautiful and potent. But how do people get a hold of version 1 of these things? Ebay sellers don't even have it. What a sad beginning and end. Linksys is not very smart about this. If they would just keep their routers beefed up with dirt cheap RAM and hefty flash module, they would be able so sell hundreds of thousand more without any rebate that eats up into corporate profit. And the this community would grow by exactly the same figure. The rest of the public would just shell out the money for their higher priced models without even knowing any difference.
Like anything else in the hack world, manufacturers always put forth futile attempts because they think wrong. In the end, the minute percentage of hackers prevail. And it doesn't even put a dent in their profit.
Then why do it Linksys?
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
We would support 2v too if only had JTAG on PCB. I hear there are some v2 models arround with v2 flash/memory configuration but but with v1 PCB with JTAG.
If anybody can get hold of such unit, I'd love to have it.
stevel227
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Location: Louisville, KY USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
We would support 2v too if only had JTAG on PCB. I hear there are some v2 models arround with v2 flash/memory configuration but but with v1 PCB with JTAG.
If anybody can get hold of such unit, I'd love to have it.

==========================
I have a WTR54GS V2.0. How can I tell what the flash/memory configuration is, and whether it has JTAG on PCB?

_________________
=============
Dell desktop
WHR-HP-G54
DSL Westell modem
DD-WRT v24 RC-2 (09/04/07) std
DD-WRT donater
dicksons
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 980
Location: Coal Creek Canyon, Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
This post spawns have many questions...

what's inside this thing ?

how could we strap it up to be a client or repeater ?

what's its radio like ?

what's its internal power transformer like ?

can we feed it DC instead ?

can we canibalize its transformer for nefarious PoE designs ?

Eko, Tornado - thanks !

_________________
linksys GSv2, Gv4, Gv2, GLv1, G-TM, Buffalo wbr2, whr, whr-hp, whr-g125, wli-tx4-g54hp, Moto wr850gp, Alix.3C2
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
stevel227 wrote:

I have a WTR54GS V2.0. How can I tell what the flash/memory configuration is, and whether it has JTAG on PCB?

Well, open the box. 1 screw is under the label. (PCB color (green/blue in NOT the indication of version))
I need v1 board with flash MX29LV160 or equivalent (2 MB).



wtr54gsv1.jpg
 Description:
v1: You can see JTAG pins
 Filesize:  91.43 KB
 Viewed:  166420 Time(s)

wtr54gsv1.jpg



wtr54gsv2.jpg
 Description:
v2: no JTAG pins
 Filesize:  71.77 KB
 Viewed:  166420 Time(s)

wtr54gsv2.jpg




Last edited by Eko on Tue Oct 30, 2007 8:22; edited 3 times in total
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ Dicksons:
1) you can see pictures on fcc site, search for q87-wtr
2) You can with dd-wrt
3) like any other broadcom
4) switching, 3.3 V, 1.5 A
5) Why not?
6) I guess... but 3.3V is little low...
dshlyam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
stevel227 wrote:
Quote:
We would support 2v too if only had JTAG on PCB. I hear there are some v2 models arround with v2 flash/memory configuration but but with v1 PCB with JTAG.
If anybody can get hold of such unit, I'd love to have it.

==========================
I have a WTR54GS V2.0. How can I tell what the flash/memory configuration is, and whether it has JTAG on PCB?


If you really have v2.0 and not v2.1 please open it and take a picture of PCB if you can.

If your router has a JTAG, I can send you a brand new v2.1 and you can sent your v2.0 to eko for testing.
stevel227
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Location: Louisville, KY USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 0:11    Post subject: PCB of v2.0 Reply with quote
Here is a pic of the PCB of my WTR54GS v2.0. It is definitely marked as a 2.0 but it looks like the v1 pic posted above.


WRT54GS.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.93 KB
 Viewed:  166327 Time(s)

WRT54GS.JPG



_________________
=============
Dell desktop
WHR-HP-G54
DSL Westell modem
DD-WRT v24 RC-2 (09/04/07) std
DD-WRT donater
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 22
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum