Optware (aditional installable packages for DD-WRT)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Author Message
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am well aware of this method. I call this destructive chip removal. And it only works for QFP and not with TSOP(II) packages. If unshure, try above method and mine with surplus SDRAM module for practice, before even trying to remove chips from router board.

For cheap non-destructive desoldering I would recommend butane solder torch like Iroda SolderPRO 70 with some home made alu screening.


Last edited by oleo on Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:43; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
i added these lines (the only ones from your config that could improve browsing speed)

socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
local master = no
os level = 33
domain master = yes
preferred master = yes

nothing...router hits 100% CPU utilization when trying to browse samba

I am not using samba mounted on asus from remote server it was a wrong expression
all i wanted was options in samba config that could improve asus samba share browsing speed from XP machine
obviously there arent any and samba is terribly slow (too slow to be used)
unless im wrong

PS and something off topic ... i disable radio with the EZ setup button (dd-wrt) and i give command wl radio
i get radio is off (WL_RADIO_SW_DISABLE 1 WL_HW_DISABLE_0)
(when operating normaly it is WL_RADIO_SW_DISABLE 0 WL_HW_DISABLE_0)
that means that the radio is transmitting although invisible to other PCs ?
what is radio hardware disable ?
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am attaching global part of my samba2 master browser on Oleg firmware:
Code:
[global]
        interfaces = br0
        bind interfaces only = yes
        workgroup = WORKGROUP
        guest account = nobody
        security = share
        browseable = yes
        guest ok = yes
        guest only = yes
        log level = 2
        log file = /opt/var/log/smbd-%m.log
        max log size = 100
        local master = true
        preferred master = true
        os level = 65
        encrypt passwords = no
        preserve case = yes
        short preserve case = yes
        server string = "OLEO NAS"

[share]
        path = /tmp/harddisk
      comment = "Whole disk (read-only)"
....



Browing work seamlesly. I never hit any percentage for browsing. Only smbd takes up 40% of CPU at transfer.

Youl could also try smbclient -L 192.168.1.1 -N to list your shares and smbclient //192.168.1.1/share -N to connect.

Maybe there is a problem that you do not have DNS server configured and that this slows down browsing. Edit /etc/hosts , add hosts and enable dnsmasq local DNS.
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
at transfer i get about 75-90%
maybe its a memory thing ? are you getting this number on the 64 MB upgraded router ?
i am running traqnsmissiond at the same time and i have always free memory less than 800-900kB
dns cannot be a reason in this once the transfer has started
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is top from router onboard testing:
Code:
top - 11:04:16 up 3 days, 15:58,  0 users,  load average: 0.44, 0.66, 0.56
Tasks:  35 total,   2 running,  33 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):  12.9% user,  34.6% system,   0.0% nice,  52.5% idle
Mem:     62524k total,    61092k used,     1432k free,     3364k buffers
Swap:   524276k total,     2144k used,   522132k free,    48448k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                           
15876 admin     14   0  1624 1360 1128 S 25.2  2.2   0:21.41 smbd                               
15871 admin     15   0  1296 1292  708 S 17.6  2.1   0:13.84 smbclient                           
15264 admin     15   0   676  676  512 R  4.1  1.1   0:06.95 top         

Tested with
Code:
[admin@oleo root]$ smbclient //oleo/tmp -N
added interface ip=192.168.1.20 bcast=192.168.1.255 nmask=255.255.255.0
Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 2.2.12]
smb: \> get opt.tar.gz /dev/null
getting file \opt.tar.gz of size 0 as /dev/null (2060.3 kb/s) (average 2060.3 kb/s)
smb: \> get opt.tar.gz /dev/null
getting file \opt.tar.gz of size 0 as /dev/null (2869.7 kb/s) (average 2398.6 kb/s)
smb: \> get opt.tar.gz /dev/null
getting file \opt.tar.gz of size 0 as /dev/null (2866.8 kb/s) (average 2536.7 kb/s)
smb: \>


And this is what I get out from router to router testing
Code:
top - 11:08:04 up 3 days, 16:02,  0 users,  load average: 0.49, 0.59, 0.55
Tasks:  33 total,   3 running,  30 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):   4.1% user,  64.6% system,   0.0% nice,  31.3% idle
Mem:     62524k total,    60456k used,     2068k free,     3476k buffers
Swap:   524276k total,     2044k used,   522232k free,    48496k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                           
16506 admin     16   0  1540 1276 1064 R 59.9  2.0   0:36.87 smbd                               
16507 admin     15   0   668  668  512 R  2.5  1.1   0:02.54 top                                 
    1 admin      8   0   188   68   68 S  0.0  0.1   0:04.25 init                               
    4 admin      9   0     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0  14:12.01 kswapd     

with
Code:
root@boleo:/opt/share/www/cgi-bin# smbclient //oleo/tmp -N
added interface ip=192.168.1.1 bcast=192.168.1.255 nmask=255.255.255.0
Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 2.2.12]
smb: \> get opt.tar.gz /dev/null
getting file \opt.tar.gz of size 0 as /dev/null (1370.5 kb/s) (average 1370.5 kb/s)
smb: \>  get opt.tar.gz /dev/null
getting file \opt.tar.gz of size 0 as /dev/null (1364.4 kb/s) (average 1367.5 kb/s)
smb: \>  get opt.tar.gz /dev/null
getting file \opt.tar.gz of size 0 as /dev/null (1366.9 kb/s) (average 1367.3 kb/s)
smb: \>


Both routers have 64MB RAM upgrade.
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
man its crazy...do you know what it seems that was the cause of this ?
Logging level set to 8 by default...after set it to 3 like you it was better and now i set to 0 its almost OK

how should i have suspected that such a 'light' operation like logging would have such a big impact ?

a few things more....user nobody seems to not be able to create directories and save in the samba shares...shouldnt he be able to ? i have Read Only set to No do i need to set permissions too ?

can you help me with the other issue as well ?
why my wl-500gP in Client mode doesnt pick up ANY SSID.... even stations in the same room that are "shouting up its ear"
nothing
in AP it works ok
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
default log level is 0 as shipped with default config with samba2. Setting to 8 was done by you. This is not very clever thing to do even on full featured linux server.

For writtable guest shares with increased leve of security I recommend force user option and setting /etc/group for non samba access permissions.

I recommend client bridge mode not client itself. There is no automatic association unless SSID is set the same as the AP SSID.
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 13:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
my problem is that either Client or Client Bridge mode DONT work

i set the WRT and WL-500gP side by side (wrt with v23sp2 and WL-500gP with V23sp3)
and they dont detect the other with scan
both work fine in AP mode (linksys has not as good radio as the asus)
but in Client mode they dont detect anything
Even in AP mode the scan doesnt find anything only other clients (network cards , laptopts) can find them and connect to them (with no problem)

also do you know what it means in command
wl radio
radio is on (WL_RADIO_SW_DISABLE 0 WL_HW_DISABLE 0)
--->
the WL_HW_DISABLE_0 can never be 1 (HW=hardware ?)
(when you switch the radio off the WL_SW_DISABLE 0 becomes 1)

this means that the radio is NEVER really OFF it just isnt transmitting any data
(and thats why it isnt detected) when you switch it off (either by web interface or by the EZ setup button)

maybe the modulation and the transmitter is always ON which is a bad thing if
you have it inside your room like i do and you just want to turn radio on occasionally to connect with the laptop
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is Optware offtopic but anyway:

It is notmal hat clients does not see each other if both in AP mode.
client/AP mode is set by wl ap 0/1
lan bridging is controlled by
Quote:
wl wet

NVRAM variables are there for firmware and not for drivers itself. Which firmware uses which NVRAM variable is up to the firmware although many use common Broadcom sourcecode.
X-wrt uses iwconfig instead of wl.

Do you turn off mobile phone when not using it and why using EZ button for occasional use with laptop whe it can allways be turned on without any notable power saving.
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 13:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
hehe i wasnt concerned with power saving but radiation exposure (24h a day)
thats why i was asking and unfortunately you verified that it isnt indeed turned really off
so it is radiating inside the room (eventhough it is doing that with the very small output of 0mW - whatever that means...actually it makes no sense this setting in advanced
wireless settings - if it was 0dB or 0dBm i could understand it)

as for the mobile phone i dont use one i just turn on one when i am going somewhere that there is no phone so i can be found and reached

As for the wireless problem i dont really undestand what i should do
I tried a scan in wl ap 0 and in wl ap 1
nothing is found (although something exists to be found)
I also tried one in AP mode and one in Client mode (i tried it on both units)
NOTHING is found...only wireless cards find them when they are in AP mode
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
anybody knows :
im trying to run a .php page on php-thttpd and i it doesnt display
all i get is
<?xml version="1.0"?>Direct Access to this location is not allowed.

in /var/log/messages
10.0.0.100 - - [14/Mar/2007:19:52:41 +0000] "GET /index.php HTTP/1.1" 200 138 "" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)

do i need extra packages or its some setting ?
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
To complete the installation, you must edit /opt/etc/thttpd.conf,
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
theres nothing there...i copied your thttpd.conf from the optware installation guide
thttpd is working fine with transmission (even php-thttpd that i replaced it with)
it just cannot display the joomla template i downloaded to set up a small web page too
its on www.joomla.org

its gives the error i wrote when you try to view index.php
oleo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was running php-thttpd lon time ago without a problem. But PHP speed was not what one would expect. Expecially I do not recommend it for large interpreting like yoomla. I thik that such king of php is not suited for low end servers like gP. I recommend you to use nanoblogger which precompiles all pages from given template. Instead of running PHP use CGI programming.
vlahos
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 19:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
transmission is not starting from the web interface with the error

transmissiond: can't load library 'libpthread.so.0'

it happened after i made a restore of the jffs partition i had kept

please HELP i cannot manually reinstall anything its impossible

now transmission daemon is not running and no logs

Jun 4 22:10:14 (none) user.info : transmissiond: can't load library 'libpthread.so.0'
Jun 4 22:10:14 (none) user.info : : transmissiond: can't load library 'libpthread.so.0'
Jun 4 22:10:14 (none) user.warn transmission_watchdog: Transmission daemon restarted!
Jun 4 22:23:36 (none) user.warn transmission_watchdog: Transmission daemon restarted!
Jun 4 22:40:47 GP user.warn transmission_watchdog: Transmission daemon restarted!


the library IS present (i removed and reinstalled it to be sure)

UPDATE i copied from /jffs/lib the lib to /opt/lib but now i have there 2 versions libpthread 0.27 and 0.28 who knows why
i dont care it works again
OK
forget it
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17, 18  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 16 of 18
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum