Airlink AR-430w wan port issue & latest build question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
n2locarz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 20:01    Post subject: Airlink AR-430w wan port issue & latest build question Reply with quote
Hello everyone. I have been excited to get dd-wrt running. Loaded it on my Airlink ar430w. Got it configured and it worked great for a couple of weeks. For some reason now, the WAN port is unable to get an IP address from my cable modem. I have enabled/disabled the WAN port, verifed link lights, even plugged in my old Netgear WRG614 v6 which gets an ip address and works. I even went so far as to clone the mac of the Netgear and also tried manually assigning a static ip. No luck. Any thoughts?

Router: Airlink AR-430W
DD-WRT Firmware: DD-WRT v24 RC-5 (11/23/07) std - build 8426M
Cable Modem: Motorola SB5120
Cable Modem Levels: SB5120-2.19.0.10-SCM01-NOSH
Hardware Version: 4
MIB Version: II
GUI Version: 1.0
VxWorks Version: 5.4



Also, what is the latest build for the ar430w? I know it's the Atheros AR2315 chipset, so how do I know which RC builds I can use. I fear installing an incompatible level and bricking my router. Thanks
Sponsor
remaker
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 22:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know the answer to your question, but I will still hazard a guess.

I suspect the DHCP database (which would be stored in NVRAM) is corrupt. Try a full NVRAM reset (factory default) and reconfigure the device. You can do it with the reset button (hold for 30 seconds or so) or I think there is also a way to do it in the UI.

Probably a bug. Maybe it is http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/bugtracker/view.php?id=2931

I too would love to know the test builds.
n2locarz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have found something interesting. I am able to connect to the cable modem (Motorola SB5120) even though it's not giving me an IP address on the WAN port. This would indicate the WAN port is working. I have attempted to reset the modem but haven't had any luck there either. Will post more findings later.

If anyone knows of a stable v7 build, I would be interested in testing it. I read that v6 may brick my router. Not too excited to try that build!
n2locarz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I found the solution to my problem. Since my last update I tried factory settings again - no luck. So then I reflashed the firmware to the same level. This worked. I have no idea how this made a difference but I'm happy.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum