Wippies WifiBox

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
Jacxz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, here is some pictures of the wifibox, what do you think, is it possible to get into the device and run dd-wrt on it?
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jacxz wrote:
...8Mb Flash memory ( M25P64 )
http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/10987/m25p64.pdf

256Mb SDRAM ( IS42S16160B )
http://biznet.issi.com/ISSIMigration/PSearch/ViewPSearchPDF.aspx?DocName=42S83200B-16160B.pdf
...


its 32mb ram

looks like a ap61 with more ram and flash then a standard dir300 or similar

but it would be nice that i have one donated device here this would speed up things cause i can help BS doing stuff he hasnt sparetime for.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Jacxz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:

its 32mb ram

looks like a ap61 with more ram and flash then a standard dir300 or similar

but it would be nice that i have one donated device here this would speed up things cause i can help BS doing stuff he hasnt sparetime for.

Yea, this would be the hardware I guess: http://forum.wippies.com/wiki/WifiBox_-_Hardware

Sorry for being lazy with this but it's not really like I need the box flashed ASAP so...
But now I got a working network at home so I guess I could send this away.

Just a question though, this device has a nice feature that lets you bridge it, not a wlan bridge but a bridge function for the lan ports. This makes the lan ports work like a switch and the wlan to, so maybe that's a wlan bridge... anyway is there such an option in dd-wrt? (I plug in the box(bridged) to another router through the WAN port and the LAN ports work like extra ports on the other router)
The reason why i would want to use this is that my ISP can give my 2 IP's with dhcp...

And also, I only have one device. Where would you want me to send it? Could I try and to some simple hacking myself with a few guidelines? The device has a local firmware upload/flash function...
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
we only accept donated devices
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Jacxz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
we only accept donated devices

oooh, I guess that means you won't send the device back. Never mind then, thx for your time Smile and good luck with the future development of dd-wrt!
I'll just use the device as is then and take advantage of its service...
mattiasr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is happening? Some progress?
nurpa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 14:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
Jacxz wrote:
...8Mb Flash memory ( M25P64 )
http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/10987/m25p64.pdf

256Mb SDRAM ( IS42S16160B )
http://biznet.issi.com/ISSIMigration/PSearch/ViewPSearchPDF.aspx?DocName=42S83200B-16160B.pdf
...


its 32mb ram
...


There seems to have been some confusion with Megabits and MegaBytes... A quick googling tells us that "M25P64 is a 64 Mbit (8M x 8) Serial Flash Memory". (64 Mbit = 8 MByte, so it has 8 MB not 8 Mb)

IS42S16160B's 256 Mb(it) SDRAM on the other hand is correct, it equals 32 MB(yte) :P

Sash wrote:
but it would be nice that i have one donated device here this would speed up things cause i can help BS doing stuff he hasnt sparetime for.


Yes it's silly how people have gotten their FREE Wippies Wifiboxes and won't donate... New ones have a prize tag of only 34,90 euros on Wippies shop - maybe I'll buy one so I can donate :D
goodeye
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
i'd give away my wippiesbox if only i have another wifi router in house(doesn't matter if DD-WRT or not).
I really want dd-wrt capable router but have no money to buy these
goodeye
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where can i send my WifiBox now? i got my other (dead) AP to work. and i am ready to give it away.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 22:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok.
as i wrote above i would need one unit to speed up things. but maybe we will have to jtag to get ddwrt running i we wont find another easy way but its jsut guessing from here right now

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
SSCC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Feb 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 22:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seems that this box got the same hardware as Belkin F5D7230-4 1000yy (or 7002uk). But the Belkin one has less RAM and flashmem.
FCC ID: RAXWG4005G
TheD
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 22:17    Post subject: Philips SNB5600 also based on same hardware Reply with quote
Hi there.

The Phillips SNB5600 also seems to be based on the same hardware.

I haven't read the whole thread, so sorry if this isn't something new. There are quite a few routers (Belkin F5D7230, Bewan APG61, USR5463, Phillips SNB5600) that are, my guess, custom builds of the "wg4005g" manufactured by Arcadyan. http://www.arcadyan.com/english/products/product_detail.asp?PROD_L1ID=00000002&PROD_ID=00000007

I've got two SNB5600, which I wanted to use as simple APs. Sadly wifi freezes after long periods of time, or when the router gets heavy traffic.

I'd donate one, with the hope of dd-wrt running on the other one, some time in the future, fixing the wifi.

Where to send to?

Edit:
An observation I forgot to mention. During startup the router responds to pings on 192.168.1.100, for a period of about 10 seconds. Quick tries to connect via tftp and telnet weren't successful.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
try to jtag flash the right microredboot onto the board
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
pete8192
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 2:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I will donate my useless wifibox. Who to PM/send mail?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
where are u from?
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum