AC900/AE6200 DD-WRT firmware

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
nicolas.apel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:05    Post subject: AC900/AE6200 DD-WRT firmware Reply with quote
Hey,
I am new to this forum.

I want to know if the Linksys AC900/AE6200 support the DD-WRT firmware?

Another question, does the DD-WRT firmware contain VPN configuration?

Thanks
Sponsor
Pedaalemmer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any information on this? I also own a EA6200 linksys router i have it running with the Linksys E4200 and a Linksys E1000.

The e4200 and e1000 are running ddwrt, I also want to implement it on the EA6200 but cannot find it in the router database.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pedaalemmer wrote:
Any information on this? I also own a EA6200 linksys router i have it running with the Linksys E4200 and a Linksys E1000.

The e4200 and e1000 are running ddwrt, I also want to implement it on the EA6200 but cannot find it in the router database.


http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Cisco_Linksys_.28Wireless_a.2Fb.2Fg.2Fn.29

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Pedaalemmer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, no version available I see.
Darryl Licht
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 23:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I too am waiting patiently for a version that's compatible with the EA6200 which is advertised as an AC900 router, but is actually an AC1200! It's also identical to the EA6300 according to smallnetbuilder. Here: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/32156-another-gift-from-linksys


Any idea when a version will be out for these two nice offerings from Cisco/Linksys? I hate the dumbed down stock UI! I've been using ddwrt for over 12 years, and I hate not having it on this router! I'll even pledge some $ to this end. Can we donate to a specific HW beta project? If not, it would be a nice addition!
Pedaalemmer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am still hoping that a realese will happen for this type of router.

I really do not like the Original firmware from Linsys.
l_sanchezv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 18:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
From what I've read, the hardware on the Asus RT-AC56U is the same as the EA6200 and that the firmware works as-is on it but I haven't tried it myself.

Check this thread (specifically the last post)

https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=771573&sid=f888550e27314c94327bf0a29833ab4b

If someone has the courage to try it here is the latest Brainslayer build for the RT-AC56U (Jun 23 2014)

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/2014/06-23-2014-r24461/asus-rt-ac56u/

I just PM Shinto Z to verify the version he installed, how did he do it and functionality level.
cyberstorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 22:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
It is possible to flash the asus rt-ac68u firmware on it. It works flawlessly.

From status page:
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24-sp2 (01/04/15) - build 25760
Kernel Version Linux 3.10.63 #3294 SMP Sat Jan 3 08:03:15 CET 2015 armv7l

I actually flashed from console (I had ssh access on my linksys firmware) and from there you can just run:

image_writer ddr_wrt_fw_to_flash.trx /dev/mtd2
nvram set bootpartition=0
nvram commit
reboot
cyberstorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 21:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually RT-AC56U and RT-AC68U are exactly the same firmware, apart from the final signature. So any of them would work.
heywire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cyberstorm, any chance you could point me to the exact firmware you loaded on the Linksys EA6200? Can it be flashed from the factory web UI or does it need to be flashed from the command line? Also, how did you get ssh access on the stock firmware? I read about the "packages" folder trick for older firmware on some of the older Linksys routers, but couldn't get it to work on the 6200.

Thanks!
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
heywire wrote:
Cyberstorm, any chance you could point me to the exact firmware you loaded on the Linksys EA6200? Can it be flashed from the factory web UI or does it need to be flashed from the command line? Also, how did you get ssh access on the stock firmware? I read about the "packages" folder trick for older firmware on some of the older Linksys routers, but couldn't get it to work on the 6200.

Thanks!


1. Download this FW and flash from web UI
link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/kfcjbwjgcwtrdxd/FW_EA6200_1.1.41.bin?dl=0
2. Now You have ssh access on factory FW

3. To flash dd-wrt to EA6200 I used asus-rt-ac56u build 24461 (06/23/14)
For me this buid was working Perfect.
With newer builds i have problems with VPN and USB storage

Connect with ssh and ...
Next do as cyberstorm posted:

image_writer ddr_wrt_fw_to_flash.trx /dev/mtd2
nvram set bootpartition=0
nvram commit
reboot

P.S.
Important!!!
DO NOT reset NVRAM it will brick your EA6200 router!!!
heywire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the detailed info, and for porting the firmware! Are you able to use the 5Ghz radio on this dd-wrt build?
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2015 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
heywire wrote:
Thanks for the detailed info, and for porting the firmware! Are you able to use the 5Ghz radio on this dd-wrt build?


Yes 5 Ghz working.
l_sanchezv
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:13    Post subject: 2 questions Reply with quote
Hi guys I am very excited cause now I can flash the ea6200 with DD-WRT Very Happy but before taking the dive I have a couple of questions:

Does DD-WRT come with a media server for USB Storage?

@Raito77 When you say do not reset the nvram that means that you cannot reset the router using the button or the admin page anymore?

Thank you.
moppa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Northern Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:17    Post subject: ea6300 Reply with quote
Sorry for hijacking this thread - so in theory this should work on the ea6300 as well?
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 11
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum