Netgear R7000

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 112, 113, 114 ... 269, 270, 271  Next
Author Message
Iceman_jkh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been following your thread and work for a little while Kong. Just wanted to say a big thank you (even though I'm not yet using your firmware)! Smile

I've recently purchase an R7000 (cos it offers superior hardware to the AC68u) and am looking at updating to your "K3-23550" firmware instead of my currently installed Netgear beta (V1.0.3.24_1.1.20).

I figured that buying the most powerful hardware, coupled with your excellent firmware, would result in a win-win situation Cool

I've not been terribly impressed with the Netgear firmware (for the 48 hours I've had this router) - occasional high (wifi-N) pings to the router (5-10ms, 100ms) and my HP wifi printer often seems to drop off the w-lan Sad. (The HP never dropped out on my old Billion 7700n).

My main needs for this router are internet gaming (low latency+Qos), p2p (Qos), net surfing and rock solid reliability (not dropping packets/connections).
In search for those features I basically ended up here, and becoming a fan of your work Smile
</long winded thank you note>

In my travels, I noticed the work these guys were doing on 'buffer bloat' and low latency, "CeroWRT"
http://www.bufferbloat.net/projects/cerowrt
Just wondering what your thoughts were in terms of whether your firmware performs/provides a similar thing when it comes to gaming and low latency performance and/or whether anything from that code might be useful/make its way into your work (but only if not already there)?

Thanks
Sponsor
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Setting the DDR memory clock to 933MHz is illegal and results in decreased router performance.
Here's why:

Set the DDR memory clock to 933MHz and reboot:

root@NetR7000RT1:~# nvram set clkfreq=1400,933
root@NetR7000RT1:~# nvram commit && reboot

Excerpt from PuTTY serial console log during boot-up:

CFE for Foxconn Router R7000 version: v1.0.21
Build Date: Wed Aug 7 19:11:17 CST 2013
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot up from NAND flash...
Bootcode Boot partition size = 524288(0x80000)
DDR Clock: 400 MHz
Info: DDR frequency set from clkfreq=1400,*933*
Warning: invalid DDR setting of 933 MHz ignored. DDR frequency will be set to 400 MHz.
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 6.37.15.1 (r407936)
CPU type 0x0: 1400MHz
Tot mem: 262144 KBytes

Examine CPU performance:

root@NetR7000RT1:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
model name : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
processor : 0
BogoMIPS : 2786.91 <== CPU0 clk = 1400 MHz, DDR memory clk = 400MHz
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant : 0x3
CPU part : 0xc09
CPU revision : 0

model name : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
processor : 1
BogoMIPS : 2786.91 <== CPU1 clk = 1400 MHz, DDR memory clk = 400MHz
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant : 0x3
CPU part : 0xc09
CPU revision : 0

Hardware : Northstar Prototype
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000

Examine clkfreq and set the DDR memory clock to 800MHz and reboot:

root@NetR7000RT1:~# nvram get clkfreq
1400,933
root@NetR7000RT1:~# nvram set clkfreq=1400,800
root@NetR7000RT1:~# nvram commit && reboot

Excerpt from PuTTY serial console log during boot-up:

CFE for Foxconn Router R7000 version: v1.0.21
Build Date: Wed Aug 7 19:11:17 CST 2013
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot up from NAND flash...
Bootcode Boot partition size = 524288(0x80000)
DDR Clock: 800 MHz
Info: DDR frequency set from clkfreq=1400,*800*
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 6.37.15.1 (r407936)
CPU type 0x0: 1400MHz
Tot mem: 262144 KBytes

Examine CPU performance:

root@NetR7000RT1:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
model name : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
processor : 0
BogoMIPS : 2793.47 <== CPU0 clk = 1400 MHz, DDR memory clk = 800MHz
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant : 0x3
CPU part : 0xc09
CPU revision : 0

model name : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
processor : 1
BogoMIPS : 2793.47 <== CPU1 clk = 1400 MHz, DDR memory clk = 800MHz
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant : 0x3
CPU part : 0xc09
CPU revision : 0

Hardware : Northstar Prototype
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000

DDR memory clock settings greater than 800MHz are ignored and default to 400MHz.

- Magnetron1.1
muronghan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Dec 2013
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
GPz1100 wrote:
Perhaps someone can some light on this.

I have 2 routers, r7000 (primary), rt-ac68u (wired AP). The problem is my wifi device don't roam on 5GHz. That is I'll be very near the slave router, but the client (galaxy s4) is still connected to the master router and vice versa. If I disable/reenable wifi on the device it does connect to the closest AP.

Both routers are set to different channels, though I did try same channel with same results. The routers are separated by a number of walls and ~50ft apart.

My guess is that is just not enough distance between the two to hit whatever threshold the s4 wants before seeking a stronger connection.

I'm open to any suggestions.

Thanks!


That can be a problem from S4 itself. I got the same problem on my Samsung Galaxy S3 and it was reported as :http://gs3.wonderhowto.com/how-to/fix-wi-fi-roaming-bug-your-samsung-galaxy-s3-0140840/
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Iceman_jkh wrote:
I've been following your thread and work for a little while Kong. Just wanted to say a big thank you (even though I'm not yet using your firmware)! Smile

I've recently purchase an R7000 (cos it offers superior hardware to the AC68u) and am looking at updating to your "K3-23550" firmware instead of my currently installed Netgear beta (V1.0.3.24_1.1.20).

I figured that buying the most powerful hardware, coupled with your excellent firmware, would result in a win-win situation Cool

I've not been terribly impressed with the Netgear firmware (for the 48 hours I've had this router) - occasional high (wifi-N) pings to the router (5-10ms, 100ms) and my HP wifi printer often seems to drop off the w-lan Sad. (The HP never dropped out on my old Billion 7700n).

My main needs for this router are internet gaming (low latency+Qos), p2p (Qos), net surfing and rock solid reliability (not dropping packets/connections).
In search for those features I basically ended up here, and becoming a fan of your work Smile
</long winded thank you note>

In my travels, I noticed the work these guys were doing on 'buffer bloat' and low latency, "CeroWRT"
http://www.bufferbloat.net/projects/cerowrt
Just wondering what your thoughts were in terms of whether your firmware performs/provides a similar thing when it comes to gaming and low latency performance and/or whether anything from that code might be useful/make its way into your work (but only if not already there)?

Thanks


Since we are on K3.10 or newer we already include codel fq_codel

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Iceman_jkh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
Since we are on K3.10 or newer we already include codel fq_codel

Awesome! Cool
Definitely puts my mind at rest.
I appreciate your prompt response Kong.

I just DLed and installed (what I thought was) the latest firmware. I got it from the MyOpenRouter 'Downloads' section, and (after double checking) it's clearly not the latest version (it is 23430M). My fault for not checking your signature until now.

I'll grab it from the link in your signature instead: http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/r23550-R01/

Thanks.
Iceman_jkh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is anyone having trouble with the DD-WRT GUI becoming inaccessible after a few (5-10) rapid refreshes/page loads?

If I use the back button on my browser(I know shouldn't) to skip back a few (5-10) screens, the GUI often becomes no longer available. Internet, wifi and LAN all still work, but I have to reboot the R7000 in order to be able to get access via the GUI again.

Perhaps a bug?
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Iceman_jkh wrote:
Is anyone having trouble with the DD-WRT GUI becoming inaccessible after a few (5-10) rapid refreshes/page loads?

If I use the back button on my browser(I know shouldn't) to skip back a few (5-10) screens, the GUI often becomes no longer available. Internet, wifi and LAN all still work, but I have to reboot the R7000 in order to be able to get access via the GUI again.

Perhaps a bug?


On some pages there is a lot of background work like starting stopping services writing nvram etc. . When appyling any changes it is always good to wait a few 5-10s before appyling new changes.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Iceman_jkh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
On some pages there is a lot of background work like starting stopping services writing nvram etc. . When appyling any changes it is always good to wait a few 5-10s before appyling new changes.


Noted. It's happened to me a few times, but I might have just been unlucky with which pages I was on when refreshing. I'll simply be more careful next time Smile.
tonijjj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
GPz1100 wrote:
Etheric, is there a particular reason you skipped steps 1 and 2 in the guide you link?

If you don't enable jffs, where will these files reside? Are you putting them on a usb drive (flash or otherwise)?

I'm a complete novice with this, so keep the answers dumbed down please Smile

Also, looks like there's an update to the print server module - http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/brcm47xx/packages/p910nd_0.95-3_brcm47xx.ipk

Etheric wrote:

Indeed!

I'm happy to report that I managed to successfully configure the usb printer attached to my R7000 to be shared on my network.

I used the following guide, starting at Step 3: Installing the print server (but using the opkg method):
https://sites.google.com/site/wl520gu/

Edited the following files, changing /dev/usb/lp0 to /dev/lp0:
/jffs/etc/config/p910nd
/jffs/watchprinter

The printer wasn't auto-detected and I had to select the model for drivers to be installed in Windows 7.

Is there a better/easier way to set this up?

---

The next thing I'd like to setup is a nfs server (should I use nfs-kernel-server?) and a tftp server (can I use the already installed dnsmasq or do I need to install tftp-hpa or atftp?)



I would really like to know as well if there is an easier way to do this?? Its almost plug and play in the stock firmware, and honestly, it kind of sucks that you have to play around with a lot of code 2014 to get a printer to work!
lilstone87
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I got couple question's regarding QoS, and don't know what exactly i should pick between a couple option's within QoS.

1. Packet Scheduler - Should I just use the default selected HTB?

2. Queueing Discipline - Should I use the default SFQ?

Here is my setup, which includes multiple gaming consoles, some torrenting, streaming over samba, and the normal usage of web browsing with multiple device's. I would like to keep gaming at it's best, so i want to prioritize it, keep latency, and such at a minimum. So I would appreciate any suggestions from you guy's who use, and know QoS on DD WRT.
calbear88
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 19:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Guys, I'm planning on upgrading from r23550 to r23550-R01. Is it ok to backup my settings, upgrade to the new version with a factory reset, and then restore my settings? I know in general restoring settings from a different firmware versions may cause problems, but are these versions close enough that it is ok?

Thanks so much.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
calbear88 wrote:
Hi Guys, I'm planning on upgrading from r23550 to r23550-R01. Is it ok to backup my settings, upgrade to the new version with a factory reset, and then restore my settings? I know in general restoring settings from a different firmware versions may cause problems, but are these versions close enough that it is ok?

Thanks so much.


This build contains only bugfixes, thus no need to reset.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
dblue21
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong,

I'm currently on 23350...to go to the latest (23550-R01), would you recommend wiping settings?
XenonKilla
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
dblue21 wrote:
Kong,

I'm currently on 23350...to go to the latest (23550-R01), would you recommend wiping settings?


Seriously bro? What's the post right above yours say?
MrDoh
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2012
Posts: 647

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
XenonKilla wrote:
dblue21 wrote:
Kong,

I'm currently on 23350...to go to the latest (23550-R01), would you recommend wiping settings?


Seriously bro? What's the post right above yours say?


Yeah, I misread the posting the first time, too. Difference between 23350 and 23550 doesn't jump out at you *smile*.

Yes, I'd definitely reset and re-enter your settings if I were you.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 112, 113, 114 ... 269, 270, 271  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 113 of 271
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum