How to set wan connection to GB speed?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
engjull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:19    Post subject: How to set wan connection to GB speed? Reply with quote
Hi there, i have unlimited internet speed using gigabit fiber media converter, and gigabit router.
When i connect my Mac directly on media converter i get internet speed more than 100mb/s but when i connect it through router Link WR1043ND V3 with gigabite wan and lan ports i don't get more than 99mb internet speed.
I need your help to setup wan settings on my router:
System
Router NameLUKI
Router ModelTP-Link WR1043ND V3
Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r37305 (10/10/18)
Kernel VersionLinux 3.18.123 #23473 Wed Oct 10 06:05:20 CEST 2018 mips
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3796
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 15:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
well i have 1043v2 witch has the same specs like v3
and those are not capable to do 1Gig its max speed without SFE turned on is like 150-180Mbit, to utilize a better speed you need to use SFE from basic setup page turn it on...but do not use it with QoS as they interfere...

to utilize 1Gig WAN speed you need router like Netgear R7800 or something like...

1000 Mbit ports does not mean your router is capable of seen 1Gig on WAN port.... do your homework and read here and there many many questions like your answered on GGL

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
johnnyNobody999
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 0:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was wondering why my WAN port wasn't achieving speeds above 100 Mb until I came across this. But, I'm wondering why SFE and QoS interfere with each other and if they do interfere with each other then why can both be activated? Also, I had turned off SFE because of some other post that said that it impacts WDS. It's nice to have all these features but it's quite difficult getting stuff to work properly without experimenting. There are still a LOT of options that I haven't had a chance to even learn about let alone experiment. So much to learn, too little time.
bushant
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2015
Posts: 1406

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
johnnyNobody999 wrote:
But, I'm wondering why SFE and QoS interfere with each other and if they do interfere with each other then why can both be activated?

Somewhere around 40441 enabling QOS disables SFE even though it is still enabled in gui.
To check when sfe is enabled do lsmod from command line.
You will see fast_classifier.
Enable QOS and run command again and that is no longer there.
johnnyNobody999
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like you're right. Interesting. Thanks.
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 811

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
They interfere with each other because SFE create a table that effectively shortcuts the processing, with QOS the system needs to process each packet fully. So they are mutually exclusive currently.
johnnyNobody999
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jan 2014
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
So is there a way to manage bandwidth usage while using SFE? Or is there a way to get the WAN to support 300+ Mb without SFE? One would want to use the maximum paid WAN bitrate while still being able to manage user and app bandwidth.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7203
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would need the device in question in the environment in question to test some tweaks.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Wildlion
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 May 2016
Posts: 811

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 0:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could always through more hardware at the problem, then in theory disable SFE and have QOS on.

Based on when SFE was initially mentioned (https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=310099&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15)

The R7000 had ~350 Mbps with default DD-WRT

There may be tweaks such as what kernel-panic69 is speaking to.
cchabay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:10    Post subject: wr1043nd v1.6 wan port speed Reply with quote
I have a wr1043nd v1.6 now running dd-wrt build 33006. According the specs support 1Gbit in. all 5 ports (1 wan + 4 lan) but the wan port only auto-negotiate 100Mbit with any device. Same problem with others firmwares like the OpenWRT and the original. Can I force the link speed with some tool like ethtool?. Thank you!.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3796
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
what is your rj45 cable type says?
what is your router CPU speed ?
those old routers do not see Gigabit speeds, only switch is
Giga capable, kind of.....and WAN is 100Mbit...as its CPU is slow...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5768
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
The physical WAN port on that model is 100M only.

http://en.techinfodepot.shoutwiki.com/wiki/TP-LINK_TL-WR1043ND_v1.x
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7203
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
The physical WAN port on that model is 100M only.

http://en.techinfodepot.shoutwiki.com/wiki/TP-LINK_TL-WR1043ND_v1.x


The migrated WikiDevi says otherwise:

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/TP-LINK_TL-WR1043ND_v1.x

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5768
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 9:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
His got a V3, not a V1.3.

swconfig dev switch0 show

will show the conection speed of the ports.


You are running a to old build of dd-wrt to have SFE implemented.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 3796
Location: UK, London, just across the river..

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
well ...with stock firmware there is a hardware acceleration chip
that helps at least v2 v3 ....have, sadly its a proprietary stuff and
Ddwrt does not utilise it
if your PC port is 1giga go to stock and check it
i will check later and will report tomm if my v2
chained to gigaport shows 1gig connection, but i doubt
as well what is the reason you want that hassle as
400mghz cpu is slow on DdWrt for 1 gig on wan anyway

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv1 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS AP,NAT
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ------DD-WRT 44251 BS WAP/Switch
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 444406 BS AP,NAT,AP Isolation,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ----Gargoyle OS 1.12.0 AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,NAT,AD-Block,AP&Net Isolation,VLAN's,Firewall,Local DNS,DoT
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 -------DD-WRT 44340 BS AP,Wi-Fi OFF,NAT,AD-Block,Firewall,Local DNS,Forced DNS,DoT,VPN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stubby for DNS over TLS I DNSCrypt v2 by mac913
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum