TP-Link Archer C7 (ac1750)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 143, 144, 145
Author Message
physis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 16:34    Post subject: Question about throughput Reply with quote
Hi,

I have a v2 version, and I am thinking about flashing a DD-WRT firmware on it.

My current internet download speed is 1 Gbit/s with the archer c7 v2 (TP-Link firmware).

Will my archer c7 v2 + DD-WRT firmware will be able to sustain the same throughput ?

(I read somewhere that DD-WRT does not use the hardware accelerated feature, am I wrong ?)

Thanks
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7097
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
iirc it could get close, with sfe on, but that was long ago and theres been lots of sfe issues/changes etc, and that on ethernet, and obviously with qos off (ull need x86 for that kind of qos throughput).

when i tried on my dir-862L it was like 885mbps or something, and it has the same cpu/soc as archer c7

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150 ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41321 std
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41321 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41321 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41321 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Emineminero
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Mar 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 23:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys, I'm completly new to dd-wrt, I got my archer c7 v5 on friday and I flashed (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2019/08-06-2019-r40559/tplink_archer-c7-v5/) on saturday.
Saturday and Sunday were great, no issues at all.
But today (Monday), I came back from work and none of my devices were able to connect to the router, not even through lan. I had to manually reboot it and unplug it.
Unfortunatly I was dumb enough to not have logs enabled, I do have them now, but nothing has happened yet.

I remember I was playing around with TX power on the 2.4ghz band, nothing too crazy, I think I just setted 35 instead of 30 (default value in the US).

Any one else experienced the same issue?
I will post the log if this ever happen again
Odewise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 10:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there a specific build that has taken care of the slow WiFi issue I have seen posted on the C7 v5? Was thinking about going this route but have seen a few posts about WiFi (maybe wired as well?) Download speed capping at 30mps.
msoengineer
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jan 2017
Posts: 554
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Odewise wrote:
Is there a specific build that has taken care of the slow WiFi issue I have seen posted on the C7 v5? Was thinking about going this route but have seen a few posts about WiFi (maybe wired as well?) Download speed capping at 30mps.


I think the issues with 30mbps are behind us.
I am running a Archer A7v5 on beta build 41113 and get ~70mbps on 2.4ghz and ~150mbps on 5ghz wifi. My line is 150/10 (overprovisioned to 180/12). I would say things are just fine. 2.4ghz performance maxes out somewhere in the 70-80 range under ideal lab conditions on the C7/A7

If you use QOS you must use HFSC/PIE to yield the best results. All other QOS options will eat CPU and memory and cause slower performance. For maximum performance you can turn on the Shortcut Forward Engine and must disable QOS. Your bufferbloat may turn to crap, though. So if all you care about is speed...use SFE w/o QOS. (QOS and SFE will not work together, still)

The C7v5 and A7v5 are identical hardware wise, just different flash layout. the C7v2 has a slightly older SOC/CPU and results might be slightly lower; disclaimer is YMMV on the C7v2.

That said, use 41113, it's a solid build.

See my signature below and use my wifi tips to set up your router the same way.

_________________
[r9000]BS 41269 (Main Router)
[EA8500]Kong 40270M (Offsite)
[R7800]taking a nap
[WDR3600]BS 36808 (Offsite)


TIPS/TRICKS:

Best QCA Wifi settings to use|Latency tricks|QoS Port priority||NEVER USE MU-MIO

Why to NOT use MU-MIMO||Max Wifi Pwr by Country||MCS Index Speeds||Correct QCA 5Ghz chnls to use||WIFI Chnl Freq WIKI
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 143, 144, 145 Display posts from previous:    Page 145 of 145
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum