Support for netgear R6300 / R6300v2 ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 51, 52, 53  Next
Author Message
samhones
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:14    Post subject: Support for netgear R6300 / R6300v2 ? Reply with quote
Is this model supported?

The v2 is not on the supported list (I have one of these in my hands right now).

I could not find in the download area the FW for v1...

Can I help get the v2 box supported? I could put in a couple of hours (if there is clear docs on how to get the toolset set up, etc. I have never done this before).

thanks!
Sponsor
ronan_zj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 5:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
if someone can donate V2 equipment, it will be out soon, and this is the only reason that V2 has no DDWRT support.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4050
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 5:59    Post subject: Re: Support for netgear R6300 / R6300v2 ? Reply with quote
samhones wrote:
Is this model supported?

The v2 is not on the supported list (I have one of these in my hands right now).

I could not find in the download area the FW for v1...

Can I help get the v2 box supported? I could put in a couple of hours (if there is clear docs on how to get the toolset set up, etc. I have never done this before).

thanks!


There is a search feature in this forum if you enter: R6300
Since the 2nd results besides your post shows a link to the R6300v1 build you should be able to find it, may require a bit of reading though:-)

As for the v2. I can only advise people to nag OEMs and ask for dd-wrt support, sometimes this helps and they send a unit.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
samhones
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 17:33    Post subject: Re: Support for netgear R6300 / R6300v2 ? Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
There is a search feature in this forum if you enter: R6300
Since the 2nd results besides your post shows a link to the R6300v1 build you should be able to find it, may require a bit of reading though:-)


No kidding!

Any chance the v1 can be added to the supported list, and some more "middle of the road" docs? (it will take some time to figure out the story from the threads).


<Kong> wrote:
As for the v2. I can only advise people to nag OEMs and ask for dd-wrt support, sometimes this helps and they send a unit.


Done!
ronan_zj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
will OEM actually send equipment to 3rd party for FW support?
ronan_zj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
FYI:
someone posts V2 DDWRT here, but I am not sure how good it is, you can check it.

http://www.myopenrouter.com/download/52007/DD-WRT-Firmware-for-NETGEAR-R6300v2/
samhones
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Oct 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
ronan_zj wrote:
FYI:
someone posts V2 DDWRT here, but I am not sure how good it is, you can check it.

http://www.myopenrouter.com/download/52007/DD-WRT-Firmware-for-NETGEAR-R6300v2/


Thanks. When I looked at that before, I thought it was a year old, and the reviews made it sound flaky.

What is the process to get his mods into the dd-wrt core, so support for this model becomes part of the core dd-wrt work?
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4050
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
samhones wrote:
ronan_zj wrote:
FYI:
someone posts V2 DDWRT here, but I am not sure how good it is, you can check it.

http://www.myopenrouter.com/download/52007/DD-WRT-Firmware-for-NETGEAR-R6300v2/


Thanks. When I looked at that before, I thought it was a year old, and the reviews made it sound flaky.

What is the process to get his mods into the dd-wrt core, so support for this model becomes part of the core dd-wrt work?


These builds are bad hacks, as they are not done with dd-wrt kernel but just include a netgear kernel. Last build had an upgrade routine that was not dd-wrt compatible and it contained a lot more bugs, that only existed in this build. Some things will not work at all since some features for this platform require a K3 kernel etc.

The code that's added in these builds is not the difficult part, if I have a unit it takes me about 30min to extract the basic info from the unit.

The kernel work and the bugs that show up on a new platform is the difficult and time consuming part.

If we don't have a unit we have to wait for a tester with serial setup, we have to guide him etc. that takes additional time, lots of time. I'm not willing to waste time on that.
Besides that I doubt that there are many people out there that are able to test these units the way I test them.

Thus while in theory it is possible to add support for a unit we don't have it is not a good idea and the quality is in question.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4050
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
R6300V2 is now supported you can grab the latest build from the links in my signature. Just upload the

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/Initial/dd-wrt.K3_R6300V2.chk

via netgear webinterface. Flashing back to netgear firmware is supported and tested. Have fun with it, for future updates you can checkout my changelogs:

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

BrainSlayer will probably publish builds for it once he does his next public release.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
jimfree
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 195
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
A big thank you to kong for putting this out there for the R6300v2. I gave it a shot last night and the firmware load went without a hitch. I only put a few hours of testing and then went back to the stock Netgear firmware. The problem I encountered was a big drop in the 2.4Ghz wifi signal strength. Even with power set at max it wasn't as strong as stock firmware. I took the measurements using a android app on my tablet in several locations in the house. I also encountered a problem when trying to save settings via the webui. Finally got them to take by hitting apply first instead of the save button. After doing that one time the problem ceased. I don't have any 5Ghz devices so couldn't test that aspect. I will likely play with it again when I have more time to see if I can do something to improve the wifi signal.
robo872
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
jimfree wrote:
A big thank you to kong for putting this out there for the R6300v2. I gave it a shot last night and the firmware load went without a hitch. I only put a few hours of testing and then went back to the stock Netgear firmware. The problem I encountered was a big drop in the 2.4Ghz wifi signal strength. Even with power set at max it wasn't as strong as stock firmware. I took the measurements using a android app on my tablet in several locations in the house. I also encountered a problem when trying to save settings via the webui. Finally got them to take by hitting apply first instead of the save button. After doing that one time the problem ceased. I don't have any 5Ghz devices so couldn't test that aspect. I will likely play with it again when I have more time to see if I can do something to improve the wifi signal.



I was the same situation. 2.4Ghz wifi signal strength is very poor. After set up on web gui, wan is disconneted.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4050
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
jimfree wrote:
A big thank you to kong for putting this out there for the R6300v2. I gave it a shot last night and the firmware load went without a hitch. I only put a few hours of testing and then went back to the stock Netgear firmware. The problem I encountered was a big drop in the 2.4Ghz wifi signal strength. Even with power set at max it wasn't as strong as stock firmware. I took the measurements using a android app on my tablet in several locations in the house. I also encountered a problem when trying to save settings via the webui. Finally got them to take by hitting apply first instead of the save button. After doing that one time the problem ceased. I don't have any 5Ghz devices so couldn't test that aspect. I will likely play with it again when I have more time to see if I can do something to improve the wifi signal.


Did you reset the router after flashing? I'm using 2.4Ghz at home with the R6300V2 and signal is quite good. 405 Mbps connection speed through a concrete ceiling.
Also make sure if you have a intel wifi card to use the latest driver. And always important, setup correct auth WPA2Personal-AES.

Poor signal strength is always a problem with bad init parameters. Since it works on my side parameters are correct. Thus only explanation I have is a missing reset after flashing to dd-wrt.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
robo872
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Mar 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
jimfree wrote:
A big thank you to kong for putting this out there for the R6300v2. I gave it a shot last night and the firmware load went without a hitch. I only put a few hours of testing and then went back to the stock Netgear firmware. The problem I encountered was a big drop in the 2.4Ghz wifi signal strength. Even with power set at max it wasn't as strong as stock firmware. I took the measurements using a android app on my tablet in several locations in the house. I also encountered a problem when trying to save settings via the webui. Finally got them to take by hitting apply first instead of the save button. After doing that one time the problem ceased. I don't have any 5Ghz devices so couldn't test that aspect. I will likely play with it again when I have more time to see if I can do something to improve the wifi signal.


Did you reset the router after flashing? I'm using 2.4Ghz at home with the R6300V2 and signal is quite good. 405 Mbps connection speed through a concrete ceiling.
Also make sure if you have a intel wifi card to use the latest driver. And always important, setup correct auth WPA2Personal-AES.

Poor signal strength is always a problem with bad init parameters. Since it works on my side parameters are correct. Thus only explanation I have is a missing reset after flashing to dd-wrt.


Thank you for your reply.
My english is bad, please understand.
I did reset the router after flashing. initial status is normal strength, but it may be happen situation after 5Ghz setting.Another problem is WAN disconnected after usb transfer for samba is interupted.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4050
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
robo872 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
jimfree wrote:
A big thank you to kong for putting this out there for the R6300v2. I gave it a shot last night and the firmware load went without a hitch. I only put a few hours of testing and then went back to the stock Netgear firmware. The problem I encountered was a big drop in the 2.4Ghz wifi signal strength. Even with power set at max it wasn't as strong as stock firmware. I took the measurements using a android app on my tablet in several locations in the house. I also encountered a problem when trying to save settings via the webui. Finally got them to take by hitting apply first instead of the save button. After doing that one time the problem ceased. I don't have any 5Ghz devices so couldn't test that aspect. I will likely play with it again when I have more time to see if I can do something to improve the wifi signal.


Did you reset the router after flashing? I'm using 2.4Ghz at home with the R6300V2 and signal is quite good. 405 Mbps connection speed through a concrete ceiling.
Also make sure if you have a intel wifi card to use the latest driver. And always important, setup correct auth WPA2Personal-AES.

Poor signal strength is always a problem with bad init parameters. Since it works on my side parameters are correct. Thus only explanation I have is a missing reset after flashing to dd-wrt.


Thank you for your reply.
My english is bad, please understand.
I did reset the router after flashing. initial status is normal strength, but it may be happen situation after 5Ghz setting.Another problem is WAN disconnected after usb transfer for samba is interupted.


OK, I don't have 5G enabled so I'll check what happens if it is enabled.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
jimfree
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 195
Location: Sacramento CA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong, thanks for the tips. The only thing I'm not sure of is if I did a reset after the initial load. I don't remember either way. All of the other things you mention were ok. I'll try it again tomorrow.

Jim
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 51, 52, 53  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 53
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum