DD-WRT + eucalyptus (DNSMasq ignore)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
chisleu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 23:53    Post subject: DD-WRT + eucalyptus (DNSMasq ignore) Reply with quote
I'm setting up a virtual computing environment on my home LAN and I'm trying to avoid buying another router to segment my internal network.

I like using DD-WRT's DHCP but need to run another DHCP server on my eucalyptus cloud controller so it can manage IP's for the instances.

I read this link in the wiki:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DNSMasq_as_DHCP_server#Extra_DNSMasq_options

I need to block all MAC addresses that start with d0:0d (dude!) from the DHCP server on the DD-WRT. What is the easiest way to accomplish this? I tried using the information above to do this:

Code:
dhcp-host=d0:0d:*:*:*:*,ignore


Maybe this should have been:
Code:
dhcp-host=d0:0d:*,ignore


I tried the first one and the DD-WRT exploded. The config looked correct but the dhcp/dns from DNSMasq crashed and I couldn't fix it. I had to do a reset and reconfigure everything on the network (tons of work because of forwards/etc.)

I'm trying to avoid grenading the box again. What is the easiest way to accomplish this? I'm comfortable with Linux environments if I have to ssh in to get the job done.

Thanks for this amazing resource. This has been terribly useful for me.
Sponsor
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1551
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, if DNSMasq does not work, the router is still available for telnet/ssh and you could do DNSMasq configuration with vi or nano and start DNSMasq again from command prompt. You may need to set a static IP if you don't get a lease.
_________________
2 times RT-AC56U running 33772 with entware-ng, Yamon 3 (SFE disabled).

Asus RT-N16 running Merlin LTS fork RT-N16_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-25E8j9527.trx with entware-ng.

2 times Asus RT-N16 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.bin with entware-ng

E4200 V1 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin (bridged with LAN cable)

chisleu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 23:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Of course I did this. I ssh'd in but the configuration was wrecked. I don't know much about the internals of dd-wrt's setup, but the config file I found was completely empty.

I've already recovered. I'm just trying to accomplish the task without blowing up the box again.
chisleu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 0:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
The lack of a "--" makes it appear to be in a config file, not a command line argument, so I shouldn't have to escape the "*"s.

DNSMasq does support wildcards like that.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum