New build is out 22118 (BS) K2.6 and K3.X

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 0:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
DrGamut wrote:
Router: WNDR3700v3

The 2.6 version of this build killed my wireless.

The 3.X version of this build killed my LAN ports, just as the 3.X 21605 build did (thus far it seems this router does not like the 3.X kernel).

I haven't tried 21605-2.6, but for now I've reverted back to Netgear firmware.


Confirmed on K 2.6 Version on E2500 kills wireless..
wl status shows the following below.. It looks like the wifi adapter gets stuck in ADHOC mode.


root@DD-WRT b3a1fe:~# wl status
SSID: "TEST-2"
Mode: Ad Hoc RSSI: 0 dBm noise: -22 dBm Channel: 1
BSSID: 00:00:00:00:00:00 Capability: IBSS
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 6 9 11(b) 12 18 24 36 48 54 ]
802.11N Capable:
Chanspec: 2.4GHz channel 1 20MHz (0x2b01)
Control channel: 1
802.11N Capabilities:
Supported MCS : [ 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ]

-Fractal
Sponsor
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 0:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
upgrading for K 2.6 build of 22118 to K 3.x fixes wireless mode and puts it back into managed.

-Fractal
SHoTTa35
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 May 2011
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 1:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Echoing all the rest and Fractal.

Flashed K26 MEGA on my Linksys E4200 and it booted but no wireless. I checked via telnet and it showed wireless being up but -21dBm NOISE. :p The channels in the web GUI showed as being enabled but no signals (SSID) showed up on any device I tried from.

Flashing K3x Mega has it working but still locks speeds to 60Mbps (or so). I have a 100-120Mbps connection so via LAN I would expect it to go all the way there. Still doesn't though, laptop connected via CAT6 cable at 1Gbps only maxes 60Mbps. When I swap routers to my Netgear WNDR4300 it gets full 120Mbps via LAN or WLAN.
kingsmill
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:09    Post subject: Re: DD-WRT K3 installation on RT-N16 Reply with quote
madman999 wrote:
kingsmill wrote:

Setup, Basic Setup
Connection Type, Disabled
Set Local IP Address, Subnet Mask, Gateway and Local DNS
Assign WAN Port to Switch
Setup, Advanced Routing, Router
Setup, VLANS
Change VLAN1 WAN to VLAN2 WAN, LAN
Change VLAN0 Port 1 to 4 to VLAN1 Port 1 to 4, LAN
Administration, Commands, add the following and then Save Startup
nvram set et0macaddr=00:22:15:00:01:00
nvram set lan_hwaddr=00:22:15:00:01:00
nvram set wan_hwaddr=00:22:15:00:01:01
nvram set wl0_hwaddr=00:22:15:00:01:02
nvram commit
brctl addif br0 vlan2


i did the nvram part and seems like my mac addresses are display correctly now. I did run into an issue where making a change to the WAN connection method crunched the LAN and WAN mac addresses-got assigned 3 generic ones and I could only get reconnected via wifi.

what is the implications of not moving the vlan assignments and leaving that as the default? My wifi and wan access seems to work fine.

also, the command

brctl addif br0 vlan2

is that run once only or save to run in startup?


madman999,

The DD-WRT Wiki page at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Bridging_WAN_and_a_LAN_port#Second_WAN_port indicates that 100mbs ports typically use vlan0 and vlan1 whilst gigabit ports typically use vlan1 and vlan2.

I could not get networking to work using vlan0. The network worked fine after I moved away from vlan0. The vlan remapping steps I supplied were necessary for me to get networking to working reliably.

The "brctl addif br0 vlan2" is a volatile command and needs to be run during each boot.

Geoff..
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 14:18    Post subject: Re: DD-WRT K3 installation on RT-N16 Reply with quote
kingsmill wrote:

madman999,

The DD-WRT Wiki page at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Bridging_WAN_and_a_LAN_port#Second_WAN_port indicates that 100mbs ports typically use vlan0 and vlan1 whilst gigabit ports typically use vlan1 and vlan2.

I could not get networking to work using vlan0. The network worked fine after I moved away from vlan0. The vlan remapping steps I supplied were necessary for me to get networking to working reliably.

The "brctl addif br0 vlan2" is a volatile command and needs to be run during each boot.

Geoff..


I tried the vlan remapping as you suggested but it didn;t work for me. my WAN port would not auto dhcp to my isp. So for the time being, I am back at the defaults and all is still working correctly for me.

thanks again

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
okaegi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2012
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
upgrade wndr4500v1 with dd-wrt.v24-22118_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNDR4500.bin
upgrade wndr4000 with dd-wrt.v24-22118_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega.bin
upgrade wndr3700v1 with wndr3700-webflash22118.bin
upgrade wndr3700v2 with wndr3700v2-webflash22118.bin
Everything okay so far...

_________________
WNDR3700v1 (Dhcp,Wlan-G,Openntpd) build 23802
WNDR3700v2 (Client Bridge, Sony DPF-HD1000) build 23802
WNDR4000 (Client Bridge, Camera) built 22118
WNDR4000 (Nas-only 1 TB, Synology Save Server) built 22118
WNDR4500v1 (Wlan-N) build 22118
WNDR4500V1 (Nas-only 2 TB) built 23802
R6300 (Wlan-AC) Netgear
routertinkererer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 3:47    Post subject: Linksys E900 Reply with quote
Tested K2.6 version by upgrading from build 21676 K2.6 through web interface without 30-30-30 reset.

It seemed to work fine at first and noticed that WiFi speed improved a little (was getting 7.x MBps at first, now 8.x MBps) but then hung, after power cycle there was no wireless (UI shows channel number and TX power but no packets moving at all and no signal). Did factory reset from within the web interface, brought back wireless, but killed LAN ports.

Did 30-30-30 reset, killed wireless again.
Upgraded from within web interface again to build 21676 K2.6, followed by 30-30-30 reset followed by restore of configuration backup (taken before doing anything) and again working.

I should note that build 21676 has stability issues with WiFi on E900 when WiFi set to 40 MHz mode (sometimes channels would appear in the info page -1 + 1) and it would cut out intermittently at random.
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:18    Post subject: Re: Linksys E900 Reply with quote
routertinkererer wrote:
Tested K2.6 version by upgrading from build 21676 K2.6 through web interface without 30-30-30 reset.

It seemed to work fine at first and noticed that WiFi speed improved a little (was getting 7.x MBps at first, now 8.x MBps) but then hung, after power cycle there was no wireless (UI shows channel number and TX power but no packets moving at all and no signal). Did factory reset from within the web interface, brought back wireless, but killed LAN ports.

Did 30-30-30 reset, killed wireless again.
Upgraded from within web interface again to build 21676 K2.6, followed by 30-30-30 reset followed by restore of configuration backup (taken before doing anything) and again working.

I should note that build 21676 has stability issues with WiFi on E900 when WiFi set to 40 MHz mode (sometimes channels would appear in the info page -1 + 1) and it would cut out intermittently at random.


This is reproducible on the E2500, what router are you testing on?
What is happening is the wifi driver is getting stuck in ADHOC mode therefor you dont see ssid broadcast, we are trying to narrow down the changeset that had last working driver... so far I have gone back to 22000 and it worked, so it broke sometime after that for K26.

-Fractal
Dutchman01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did run this build fine until yesterday on my ASUS RT-N66U, now the situation has changed for me.

I have cable internet at home that has been upgraded to 150 Mbit downstream and 15 Mbit upstream.

This speeds and even higher are now more common in our country, 200/20 is also offered in some area's.
By no way DD-WRT is able to handle this speed at all on this router:(

The max speed I could get out of the router was around 125Mbits for a few seconds and than drops to around 110 Mbit downstream. it can't go faster.
I have tried practical everything and I only use CAT6 cables.

So I had to flash back to merlins-RT-N66U_3.0.0.4_372.30_3.trx build to gain the full download speed at 149.7 Mbit downstream Smile

Brainslayer: If you read this, you think there is a speed solution?

I really hope DD-WRT will work on the wan speed of the routers as it will loose users here because of High internet speeds coming in whole Europe.

DD-WRT is still what I like to use as many others do, but when it can't keep up with the cable speeds that is soon a bigger problem for a lot more users.
this means we have to stay stock or merlins builds.

I will come back to DD-WRT when it can keep up again or you offer a test build.

Regards,
Dutchman
zhekas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Aug 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 15:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router Cisco Linksys e1200v2

First installed mini build over OEM, then K2.6 mega. Got wifi problems: No wifi after each reboot, until "apply settings" on the wireless page (nas/wland service restart is not helping). Then flashed K3.x mega, wifi is working, but getting only 19.5Mbps on the wireless status page, when N-Only. When mixed - getting only 13Mbps. Any solutions/workarounds?
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: asus rt-ac66u

I Installed this build. Tried erase nvram command to clear settings fresh, didn't work so I reset settings in DDWRT GUI. Then I set router id and password and IP address of router to use 192.168.0.x for LAN addresses. Left everything else at defaults. Then I wired WAN to an ActionTec DSL modem. I found router cannot get a WAN IP address from the modem. WAN is set to Automatic (DHCP) to allow modem to supply an IP address.

This same DSL modem works in this manner with WRT600N on build 14929.

For the new ASUS, I tried this 22118 build, BS21676 and Kong 22060. All seem incompatible with the ActionTec DSL modem.

Any ideas to get it working? And I already made sure router is not on same subnet as IP addresses handed out by the modem. I also confirmed WAN port works by wiring it to a LAN port on the 600N, creating a subnet and computers connected to that reach the WRT600N, the modem, and the Internet. All this testing is with wired connections.
routertinkererer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 18:09    Post subject: Re: Linksys E900 Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
routertinkererer wrote:
Tested K2.6 version by upgrading from build 21676 K2.6 through web interface without 30-30-30 reset.

It seemed to work fine at first and noticed that WiFi speed improved a little (was getting 7.x MBps at first, now 8.x MBps) but then hung, after power cycle there was no wireless (UI shows channel number and TX power but no packets moving at all and no signal). Did factory reset from within the web interface, brought back wireless, but killed LAN ports.

Did 30-30-30 reset, killed wireless again.
Upgraded from within web interface again to build 21676 K2.6, followed by 30-30-30 reset followed by restore of configuration backup (taken before doing anything) and again working.

I should note that build 21676 has stability issues with WiFi on E900 when WiFi set to 40 MHz mode (sometimes channels would appear in the info page -1 + 1) and it would cut out intermittently at random.


This is reproducible on the E2500, what router are you testing on?
What is happening is the wifi driver is getting stuck in ADHOC mode therefor you dont see ssid broadcast, we are trying to narrow down the changeset that had last working driver... so far I have gone back to 22000 and it worked, so it broke sometime after that for K26.

-Fractal


Linksys E900, it is in the post title (forgot to mention in the post text).
jianwei87
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
My E3000 don't get any radio signal after I flashed to 22118_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k
whitebeard
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jul 2013
Posts: 35
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 21:19    Post subject: Race condition? Reply with quote
Flashed this latest version and finally got my OpenVPN running with VyprVPN for all the PCs on the network and then attempted to enter the static IP of one of my PCs in the Policy Based Routing field to force it to be the only user of the VPN and upon reboot I get an OpenVPN error that it (suddenly) can't find the /tmp/openvpncl/user.conf file (which is built as the first step in DDWRT's startup script). Of course it's there now but it sounds like a timing issue that could be patched with a strategic delay somewhere Twisted Evil.
debianmain user
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Oct 2012
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 21:41    Post subject: WNR3500L Reply with quote
I can confirm that K3x_mega.bin will not flash on my WNR3500L. Tried web-update & flash started then the unit rebooted with build 22000.

Update: delete this post--it seems that I can't flash any mega.bin--only .bins below 7000kb...so I can't help test on this.


Last edited by debianmain user on Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:38; edited 2 times in total
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum