WRT300n V1.1 uncommon (Im assuming) wireless probblems

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
mpire7102
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 21:00    Post subject: WRT300n V1.1 uncommon (Im assuming) wireless probblems Reply with quote
This is my first time posting here so please, don't flame me into oblivion if it doesn't agree with you.

I have used DD-WRT for several years now and NEVER had any problems. Until now.

I bought a WRT300n V1.1 router yesterday with the stock firmware on it. I flashed dd-wrt.v24_mini_wrt300nv11.bin to it after first resetting to factory default settings.

The status screen under wireless just said 'error' as the Radio status... so I said 'Hmmm maybe it has to have a fuller version since this is just the starting point'.

I did the 30/30/30 reset. (WRT300Ns have a lousy reset button... Had to put a new button in its place first)

To ensure erasure of NVRAM I telnetted into it and told it 'erase nvram'

Then I flashed Build 12548 Mega to it because it was reccomended by a user on the forum here as being ROCK solid for WRT300N V1.1.

Still no wireless.

When I type into telnet 'wl restart' or 'wl up' I am greeted with the friendly message 'wl driver adapter not found'

I thought 'maybe not supported by DD-WRT'

Tried Gargoyle Router Management

DO NOT FLASH GARGOYLE TO YOUR WRT300N V1.1! IT WILL MOST LIKELY BRICK YOUR ROUTER!

Learned and built jtag

Dumped CFE

erased nvram

erased kernel

TFTPed the stock firmware 'WRT300N-v1.1_1.51.2_fw.bin' back onto it

rebooted

Stock firmware is functioning except it doesnt make the wireless work either.

Put DD-WRT back on it...

Have experimented with several build including generic mini micro and mega.

The wireless WAS working before I started.

Can someone please tell me how to remedy this?

I HAVE read the Peacock thread. Heck I even saved it on my PC so I could reread it as I worked.

Read it thru and thru again.