"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 42, 43, 44 ... 97, 98, 99  Next
Author Message
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
5G Radio is not working well for this baby. Speed rate dropped a lot about 10 feet away. I disabled it for now. My cpu temperature is ok so far. The picture here show 63c after 1 hour drive.


cpu.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  17.4 KB
 Viewed:  7845 Time(s)

cpu.JPG


Sponsor
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fishrman wrote:
Which build do you have ?

My router is doing only an access point job. No NAT, WAN disabled... and 100+ C on CPU ?
I don't want to think how much would that be under heavy load such as torrent ?


Hi Fishrman,

Did you do a 30/30/30 after you flashed to dd-wrt? Are you comfortable to that? If you didn't mess up the Devinfo, a 30/30/30 reset will not brick your router. If in case something very bad happen, the information in this forum could help you restore your router to default. I've been mess my brick inside out, now it's back to live again. LOM told us that devinfo has the same command as nvram so I restored the devinfo and did a 30/30/30, it still there. Thanks LOM and all folks here to unbrick it. Very Happy
neotion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am a beginner. I have EA6400 and I want to upload that the firmware: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/09-11-2015-r27805/linksys-ea6400/
Can I do this from the Web ?
Sorry for my English, please help, step by step how to do it. I will be very grateful.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 17:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you have not read at least the last 20 pages of this thread, don't put dd-wrt on it.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 1:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi neotion,

Malachi is corrected. You need to know what you'll get from dd-wrt also you need to know the information to unbrick it because it may be a brick.
neotion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I understand without much knowledge should not take up for it. You have to know this subject much better than I do. Thank you very much for the advice. Regards!
fehom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:47    Post subject: Merlin firmware for ea6400 or ea6300v1 Reply with quote
https://www.dropbox.com/s/grtjpxfong12jym/EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx?dl=0
testing Merlin firmware for ea6400 or ea6300v1


Last edited by fehom on Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:58; edited 1 time in total
ghoffman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:52    Post subject: Re: Merlin firmware for ea6400 or ea6300v1 Reply with quote
fehom wrote:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/grtjpxfong12jym/EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx?dl=0
Merlin firmware for ea6400 or ea6300v1

i was dreaming about this as a potnetial solution the the ea6300 mess!
does this require the xvortex cfe like other merlin derivatives?
fehom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 2:30    Post subject: Re: Merlin firmware for ea6400 or ea6300v1 Reply with quote
ghoffman wrote:
fehom wrote:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/grtjpxfong12jym/EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx?dl=0
Merlin firmware for ea6400 or ea6300v1

i was dreaming about this as a potnetial solution the the ea6300 mess!
does this require the xvortex cfe like other merlin derivatives?


Firmware still needs to be tested

if you have ttl
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi fehom,

I've been brick & debrick more than 20 times. I get used to it. I could test it. What performance do I have to pay attention for this built?

Regards
dan368
fehom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:
Hi fehom,

I've been brick & debrick more than 20 times. I get used to it. I could test it. What performance do I have to pay attention for this built?

Regards
dan368

Hi Dan368

I just found it from http://koolshare.cn/forum-72-1.html

If you have the ability of TTL to save brick,you can try to flash this built from dd-wrt Web upgrade page.

If you start a problem , please tell me the TTL log.

Thanks.


Last edited by fehom on Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:39; edited 2 times in total
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi fehom,

First of all this is a mega built. It took very long time for the first time booted up. I got the console watched all the process. Decompressing, check sum, module loading, took very long time. I thought this won’t booted up but it did. Lines below are really interesting. I’ve never seen it before.

ehci_hcdDigital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done

It took about 44 seconds to get to Booting(0): ( because I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin)
Total 2.05 minutes to start seeing the ping reply.

This is a crazy built. There’re many features there. I definitely stay for testing for a while. I’m not sure if this is guilty to talk about this built on this Forum.

Some basic functions tested.

2.4G works ok, 5G is better than the v3.0-r27805 std built
After 1 hour drive temperature is: 2.4 GHz: 47°C - 5 GHz: 58°C - CPU: 68°C
USB share works well.
SSH, telnet, remote web management work ok.
I got full speed up & down.
Vlan ports are corrected

Testing will be continued, it’s 2:18am now, time to sleep.
fehom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:
Hi fehom,

First of all this is a mega built. It took very long time for the first time booted up. I got the console watched all the process. Decompressing, check sum, module loading, took very long time. I thought this won’t booted up but it did. Lines below are really interesting. I’ve never seen it before.

ehci_hcdDigital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done

It took about 44 seconds to get to Booting(0): ( because I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin)
Total 2.05 minutes to start seeing the ping reply.

This is a crazy built. There’re many features there. I definitely stay for testing for a while. I’m not sure if this is guilty to talk about this built on this Forum.

Some basic functions tested.

2.4G works ok, 5G is better than the v3.0-r27805 std built
After 1 hour drive temperature is: 2.4 GHz: 47°C - 5 GHz: 58°C - CPU: 68°C
USB share works well.
SSH, telnet, remote web management work ok.
I got full speed up & down.
Vlan ports are corrected

Testing will be continued, it’s 2:18am now, time to sleep.


Thank you for your testing.
Devianttwo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
**Refer to next post **

Last edited by Devianttwo on Sat Sep 26, 2015 9:39; edited 1 time in total
Devianttwo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright so after hours of work I finally got everything working like it should. I can confirm temperature has also dropped. Here is the consolidated instructions to install XVortex and your flavor of firmware.

Latest Instructions to install DD-WRT or the new Test build of Merlin on a linksys EA6300/EA6400v1 Router.


XVortex CFE for EA6400 & CFEEdit 1.2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=33329

1 ) You have to modify the CFE with your router's MAC addr using CFEEdit.

Code:

et0macaddr -> Your base mac address on the bottom sticker
0:macaddr -> equals et0macaddr + :0x01
1:macaddr -> equals et0macaddr + "0x02

example:
et0macaddr XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:01
0:macaddr XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:02
1:macaddr XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:03


2 ) flash the default stripped down version of DD-WRT

http://d.pr/f/17CIg/5I5UrVmX+
(Credit goes to numinit for the Initial WebFlash)

3 ) do a 30/30/30 with reset button to clear nvram.
4 ) log into DD-WRT. Create a User/Password
5 ) MAKE A BACKUP OF YOUR CFE BY BROWSING TO http://192.18.1.1/backup/cfe.bin
*You will need this if you EVER want to revert back to stock.
6 ) Enable ProFTPD and create a new user (SSHD does not work on the stripped down version)

Code:

 -> Services
 -> NAS
 -> ProFTPD


7 ) FTP your modified CFE with that user

* REMEMBER TO ENABLE BINARY MODE IN FTP. suggestion: Use WinSCP

8 ) telnet into router and run the following commands to flash CFE. Username/Password is your DD-WRT Login information.
*EDIT* (9/29/2015) Username/Password is the information you entered when you first booted DD-WRT.

Code:

mtd unlock /dev/mtd0
mtd write -f /tmp/temp/modified_cfe.bin /dev/mtd0


* DO NOT CUT AND PASTE! Adjust these to match the file link and directory names.

Once done unplug the router. Hold the WPS button while plugging it in. Wait for the LED to blink fast. Release WPS button.

9 ) Go back into DD-WRT, Set back up user and password
10 ) Re-Enable ProFTPD same as before.
11 ) FTP Desired EA6400 Firmware that you want (Either DD-WRT or the test version of Merlin for EA6400)

Links:

DD-WRT Latest Builds: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/
Navigate to latest folder
Navigate to the linksys-ea6400 folder
Download the linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin

Or

Merlin for EA6400: https://www.dropbox.com/s/grtjpxfong12jym/EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx?dl=0
(Credit to fehom)


12 ) Open up Putty (Or any telnet program) and connect to 192.168.1.1

13 ) Flash your new firmware with the following commands:

*EDIT* (9/29/2015) When formatting the linux2 partition it may return an error. This is safe to ignore. It is still writing the firmware.

Code:

mtd write /tmp/temp/link-to-firmware-chosen.bin linux2
(Wait for it to write)
mtd write /tmp/temp/link-to-firmware-chosen.bin linux
erase nvram
reboot

* Once again Make sure to point to the CORRECT File name.

**AFTER THIS IS DONE YOUR ROUTER WILL TAKE A VERY LONG TIME TO REBOOT FOR THE FIRST TIME! IT WILL REBOOT MULTIPLE TIMES AND CAN TAKE 2-15 MINUTES OR MORE!! JUST LEAVE IT ALONE AND GO SMOKE A CIGARETTE OR GET SOMETHING TO DRINK!! **

14 ) Navigate back to http://192.168.1.1 If you see the CFE MiniWeb then Continue to wait. If you see your new firmware then you have successfully flashed to the latest version with the newest CFE files. Configure to how you like it Smile


Side Notes:
1 ) After a factory reset the router will take between 2-15+ Minutes to reboot for the first time. It will also Reboot multiple times. (You can check this with a ping or watching the lights on the router). This is normal. It has something to do with the new CFE.

2 ) After Initial bootup your router will take about 2-3 minutes for a normal reboot. This is normal. Also has something to do with the new CFE.

3 ) If you are having issues with your routers Temperature then this fix is for you.


Last edited by Devianttwo on Tue Sep 29, 2015 18:14; edited 2 times in total
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 42, 43, 44 ... 97, 98, 99  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 43 of 99
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum