Broadcom K3.X testing, test users wanted

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 54, 55, 56
Author Message
moon_pie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2017
Posts: 29
Location: edmonton, alberta, canadia!!

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 15:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
AFAIK, the current (most recent?) known working build for the Asus RT-N66U as of this post is: DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 mega (03/26/18) from the broadcom k3.x folder. prior to that i had wifi issues on builds and had stuck with the 10/20/2017 build, i don't recall the exact number off hand.

perhaps this will save some flashing grief for others, broken wifi has been an issue in recent builds on this device, alas.

_________________
Primary Router for Residential 150Mbps/150Mbps Fiber:
*Asus RT-N66U: running DD-WRT v3.0-r37961 std (12/12/18)*
Sponsor
sampalazno
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 3:54    Post subject: v3.0-r35916 big (5/11/18) report Reply with quote
v3.0-r35916 big 5/11/18 flashed about 4 hours ago on my RT-N66U, no settings reset before or after, working fine so far.

Wifi w/1 physical & 1 virtual interface (2 SSIDs), simple VLAN setup, custom IPtables commands, 2 ethernet + 3 Wifi clients on a quiet SOHO network. Noisy Wifi environment (~25 neighbors SSIDs show up.)

Stable for +5 hours so far, will update this post in a few days & a few weeks.
gentoo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Could someone please tell me what's the difference between the builds https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2018/05-13-2018-r35927/broadcom_K3X/dd-wrt.v24-35927_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNR3500Lv2.chk and https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2018/05-13-2018-r35927/netgear-wnr3500lv2/dd-wrt.v24-35927_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNR3500Lv2.chk? The image from the broadcom_K3X folder does not boot whereas the second one works on my WNR3500Lv2.

Here is the boot log from the first image (non-working):
Code:
Loading: ........... 6697664 bytes read
Entry at 0x80001000
Closing network.
Starting program at 0x80001000
Linux version 3.10.108-dd (root@linux) (gcc version 7.3.0 (OpenWrt GCC 7.3.0 r6867-ce4d2fb5cc) ) #19152 Sun May 13 12:33:42 CEST 2018
CPU0 revision is: 00019749 (MIPS 74Kc)
Found a AMD NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
Determined physical RAM map:
 memory: 07fff000 @ 00000000 (usable)
Zone ranges:
  Normal   [mem 0x00000000-0x07ffefff]
  HighMem  empty
Movable zone start for each node
Early memory node ranges
  node   0: [mem 0x00000000-0x07ffefff]
Primary instruction cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, I-cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes.
Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes
Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on.  Total pages: 32511
Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 root=1f02 rootfstype=squashfs noinitrd init=/bin/sh
PID hash table entries: 512 (order: -1, 2048 bytes)
Dentry cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Writing ErrCtl register=00000000
Readback ErrCtl register=00000000
Memory: 122920k/131068k available (4667k kernel code, 8148k reserved, 1613k data, 304k init, 0k highmem)
NR_IRQS:128
CPU: BCM5357 rev 2 at 480 MHz
bcm947xx_clockevent_set_mode: 1
bcm947xx_clockevent_set_mode: 3
console [ttyS0] enabled
Calibrating delay loop... 239.61 BogoMIPS (lpj=1198080)
pid_max: default: 32768 minimum: 301
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
NET: Registered protocol family 16
Can't analyze schedule() prologue at 8000954c
bio: create slab <bio-0> at 0
PCI: no core
PCI: no core
PCI: scanning bus 0
PCI host bridge to bus 0000:00
pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [io  0x0000-0xffff]
pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [mem 0x00000000-0xffffffff]
pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [bus 00-ff]
PCI: Fixing up bus 0
Switching to clocksource MIPS
NET: Registered protocol family 2
TCP established hash table entries: 1024 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 1024 bind 1024)
TCP: reno registered
UDP hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
UDP-Lite hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
NET: Registered protocol family 1
squashfs: version 4.0 (2009/01/31) Phillip Lougher
msgmni has been set to 240
io scheduler noop registered (default)
HDLC line discipline maxframe=4096
N_HDLC line discipline registered.
Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 4 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
serial8250: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x0 (irq = 8) is a U6_16550A
brd: module loaded
pflash: found no supported devices
ERROR: Unknown flash, device_id:0x00
bcmsflash: found no supported devices
Creating 2 MTD partitions on "brcmnand":
0x000000500000-0x000002000000 : "linux"
0x000004000000-0x000007f00000 : "ddwrt"
Boot partition size = 524288(0x80000)
lookup_nflash_rootfs_offset: offset = 0x500000
found trx at 500000, len =8028160
scan filesys at 74F000
nflash: squash filesystem with lzma found at offset 500000
Creating 4 MTD partitions on "nflash":
0x000000000000-0x000000080000 : "cfe"
0x000000080000-0x000000200000 : "nvram"
0x000000500000-0x000002000000 : "nandimage"
0x00000074f000-0x000002000000 : "rootfs"
mtd: partition "rootfs" set to be root filesystem
add netgear boarddata for pflash if exists
add netgear boarddata for sflash if exists
tun: Universal TUN/TAP device driver, 1.6
tun: (C) 1999-2004 Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
et_module_init: passivemode set to 0x0
et_module_init: txworkq set to 0x0
et_module_init: et_txq_thresh set to 0xce4
et_module_init: et_rxlazy_timeout set to 0x3e8
et_module_init: et_rxlazy_framecnt set to 0x20
et_module_init: et_rxlazy_dyn_thresh set to 0
ET Corerev 3
eth0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 7.14.89.21 (r524987)
PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
PPP BSD Compression module registered
PPP Deflate Compression module registered
PPP MPPE Compression module registered
NET: Registered protocol family 24
Broadcom Watchdog Timer: 0.07 initialized.
u32 classifier
    Performance counters on
    Actions configured
Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (1920 buckets, 7680 max)
nf_conntrack_rtsp v0.7 loading
xt_time: kernel timezone is -0000
ip_set: protocol 6
gre: GRE over IPv4 demultiplexor driver
nf_nat_rtsp v0.7 loading
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
TCP: bic registered
TCP: cubic registered
TCP: westwood registered
TCP: highspeed registered
TCP: hybla registered
TCP: htcp registered
TCP: vegas registered
TCP: veno registered
TCP: scalable registered
TCP: lp registered
TCP: yeah registered
TCP: illinois registered
NET: Registered protocol family 17
Bridge firewalling registered
8021q: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8
startup nvram driver
found nvram
max nvram space = 65536
List of all partitions:
1f00           27648 mtdblock0  (driver?)
1f01           64512 mtdblock1  (driver?)
1f02             512 mtdblock2  (driver?)
1f03            1536 mtdblock3  (driver?)
1f04           27648 mtdblock4  (driver?)
1f05           25284 mtdblock5  (driver?)
No filesystem could mount root, tried:  squashfs
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(31,2)
Rebooting in 3 seconds..

It looks like the root partition specified in the kernel command line is wrong. The other image specifies a different root partition (1f05 instead of 1f02).

Here is the bootlog from the second image (working):
Code:
Loading: ....... 3904224 bytes read
Entry at 0x80001000
Closing network.
Starting program at 0x80001000
Linux version 3.10.108-dd (root@linux) (gcc version 7.3.0 (OpenWrt GCC 7.3.0 r6867-ce4d2fb5cc) ) #19136 Sun May 13 12:18:14 CEST 2018
CPU0 revision is: 00019749 (MIPS 74Kc)
Found a AMD NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
Determined physical RAM map:
 memory: 07fff000 @ 00000000 (usable)
Zone ranges:
  Normal   [mem 0x00000000-0x07ffefff]
  HighMem  empty
Movable zone start for each node
Early memory node ranges
  node   0: [mem 0x00000000-0x07ffefff]
Primary instruction cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, I-cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes.
Primary data cache 32kB, 4-way, VIPT, cache aliases, linesize 32 bytes
Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on.  Total pages: 32511
Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 root=1f05 rootfstype=squashfs noinitrd init=/bin/sh
PID hash table entries: 512 (order: -1, 2048 bytes)
Dentry cache hash table entries: 16384 (order: 4, 65536 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
Writing ErrCtl register=00000000
Readback ErrCtl register=00000000
Memory: 125432k/131068k available (3064k kernel code, 5636k reserved, 486k data, 284k init, 0k highmem)
NR_IRQS:128
CPU: BCM5357 rev 2 at 480 MHz
bcm947xx_clockevent_set_mode: 1
bcm947xx_clockevent_set_mode: 3
console [ttyS0] enabled
Calibrating delay loop... 239.61 BogoMIPS (lpj=1198080)
pid_max: default: 32768 minimum: 301
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
NET: Registered protocol family 16
Can't analyze schedule() prologue at 8000955c
bio: create slab <bio-0> at 0
PCI: no core
PCI: no core
PCI: scanning bus 0
PCI host bridge to bus 0000:00
pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [io  0x0000-0xffff]
pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [mem 0x00000000-0xffffffff]
pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [bus 00-ff]
PCI: Fixing up bus 0
Switching to clocksource MIPS
NET: Registered protocol family 2
TCP established hash table entries: 1024 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 1024 bind 1024)
TCP: reno registered
UDP hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
UDP-Lite hash table entries: 256 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
NET: Registered protocol family 1
squashfs: version 4.0 (2009/01/31) Phillip Lougher
msgmni has been set to 244
io scheduler noop registered (default)
HDLC line discipline maxframe=4096
N_HDLC line discipline registered.
Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 4 ports, IRQ sharing disabled
serial8250: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x0 (irq = 8) is a U6_16550A
brd: module loaded
pflash: found no supported devices
ERROR: Unknown flash, device_id:0x00
bcmsflash: found no supported devices
Creating 2 MTD partitions on "brcmnand":
0x000000500000-0x000002000000 : "linux"
0x000004000000-0x000007f00000 : "ddwrt"
Boot partition size = 524288(0x80000)
lookup_nflash_rootfs_offset: offset = 0x500000
found trx at 500000, len =24702976
scan filesys at 663000
nflash: squash filesystem with lzma found at offset 500000
Creating 4 MTD partitions on "nflash":
0x000000000000-0x000000080000 : "cfe"
0x000000080000-0x000000200000 : "nvram"
0x000000500000-0x000002000000 : "nandimage"
0x000000663000-0x000002000000 : "rootfs"
mtd: partition "rootfs" set to be root filesystem
add netgear boarddata for pflash if exists
add netgear boarddata for sflash if exists
tun: Universal TUN/TAP device driver, 1.6
tun: (C) 1999-2004 Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
PPP BSD Compression module registered
PPP Deflate Compression module registered
PPP MPPE Compression module registered
NET: Registered protocol family 24
Broadcom Watchdog Timer: 0.07 initialized.
GACT probability NOT on
Mirror/redirect action on
Failed to load ipt action
Simple TC action Loaded
netem: version 1.3
u32 classifier
    Performance counters on
    input device check on
    Actions configured
Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (1959 buckets, 7836 max)
nf_conntrack_rtsp v0.7 loading
xt_time: kernel timezone is -0000
ip_set: protocol 6
gre: GRE over IPv4 demultiplexor driver
nf_nat_rtsp v0.7 loading
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
TCP: bic registered
TCP: cubic registered
TCP: westwood registered
TCP: highspeed registered
TCP: hybla registered
TCP: htcp registered
TCP: vegas registered
TCP: veno registered
TCP: scalable registered
TCP: lp registered
TCP: yeah registered
TCP: illinois registered
NET: Registered protocol family 17
Bridge firewalling registered
8021q: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8
startup nvram driver
found nvram
max nvram space = 65536
VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly on device 31:5.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 284K
start service
starting Architecture code for broadcom
cannot open /dev/nvram
cannot open /dev/nvram
udevtrigger[732]: parse_config_file: can't open '/etc/udev/udev.conf' as config file: No such file or directory
boardnum 3500L
boardtype 0x052b
boardrev 02
nvram invalid, erase
Booting device: Netgear WNR3500L v2
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
eth1: No such device
et: module license 'Proprietary' taints kernel.
Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
et_module_init: passivemode set to 0x0
et_module_init: txworkq set to 0x0
et_module_init: et_txq_thresh set to 0xce4
et_module_init: et_rxlazy_timeout set to 0x3e8
et_module_init: et_rxlazy_framecnt set to 0x20
et_module_init: et_rxlazy_dyn_thresh set to 0
ET Corerev 3
eth0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 7.14.89.21 (r524987)
roboswitch: Probing device 'eth0'
roboswitch: trying a 53115! at eth0
roboswitch: found a 53115! at eth0
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
eth1: No such device
[USB] checking...
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
usbcore: registered new device driver usb
ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
ehci-pci: EHCI PCI platform driver
ehci-pci 0000:00:04.1: EHCI Host Controller
ehci-pci 0000:00:04.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci-pci 0000:00:04.1: irq 5, io mem 0x18004000
ehci-pci 0000:00:04.1: USB 0.0 started, EHCI 1.00
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
ohci_hcd 0000:00:04.0: OHCI Host Controller
ohci_hcd 0000:00:04.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
ohci_hcd 0000:00:04.0: irq 5, io mem 0x18009000
hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 2-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
usb 1-1: new high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-pci
SCSI subsystem initialized
usb-storage 1-1:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
scsi0 : usb-storage 1-1:1.0
usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
/etc/preinit: line 44: can't create /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_conntrack_max: nonexistent directory
cannot open /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_conntrack_max
scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     Samsung  Mighty Drive     PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 0 CCS
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 8059904 512-byte logical blocks: (4.12 GB/3.84 GiB)
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
 sda: sda1
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI removable disk
/etc/preinit: line 44: can't create /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_conntrack_max: nonexistent directory
cannot open /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_conntrack_max
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
br0: Invalid argument
device vlan1 entered promiscuous mode
device eth0 entered promiscuous mode
br0: Invalid argument
device eth1 is not a slave of br0
Interface delete failedbr0: port 1(vlan1) entered forwarding state


br0: port 1(vlan1) entered forwarding state
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
ifconfig: ioctl 0x8914 failed: Address not available
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device vlan2 entered promiscuous mode
cp: can't stat '/tmp/mycron.d/*': No such file or directory
cp: can't stat '/jffs/mycron.d/*': No such file or directory
fast-classifier: starting up
fast-classifier: registered
Key is a ssh-rsa key
Wrote key to '/tmp/root/.ssh/ssh_host_rsa_key'
cp: can't stat '/mmc/mycron.d/*': No such file or directory
br0: port 1(vlan1) entered forwarding state
cat: can't open '/proc/sys/net/netfilter/nf_conntrack_flush': No such file or directory
device vlan2 left promiscuous mode
udhcpc: started, v1.28.3
udhcpc: sending discover
Duplicate configuration request

sh: missing ]
/opt/etc/init.d/rcS: No such file or directory
/jffs/etc/init.d/rcS: No such file or directory
/mmc/etc/init.d/rcS: No such file or directory
rmmod: eoip: No such file or directory
killall: proxywatchdog.sh: no process killed
/mnt/smbshare
umount: can't unmount /mnt/smbshare: No such file or directory
rmmod: cifs: No such file or directory
rmmod: fscache: No such file or directory
killall: schedulerb.sh: no process killed
killall: wdswatchdog.sh: no process killed
The Milkfish Router Services
ERROR: Necessary service setting not found: milkfish_username - aborting.
The Milkfish Router Services
Restoring SIP ddsubscriber database from NVRAM...
Empty.
The Milkfish Router Services
Restoring SIP ddaliases database from NVRAM...
Empty.
udhcpc: sending discover


By the way: I get no output when executing dnsmasq:
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# dnsmasq --help
root@DD-WRT:~# dnsmasq -v
root@DD-WRT:~#

This looks like a bug to me.
Louis-Jean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Dec 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 5:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Linksys E1200 rev. 2.0. Flashed with this build v3.0-r36006 mega 05/23/18 yesterday morning after doing a factory reset in build 29519. No problems detected so far after running it for ~28 hours. Internet seems faster too.

Last edited by Louis-Jean on Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:51; edited 3 times in total
Louis-Jean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Dec 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been using this for over a week now. The only issue I noticed was that my Android phone's wifi connection sometimes stopped working. It didn't lose the connection but suddenly couldn't access websites. Disconnecting and reconnecting its wifi would temporarily fix it. That was fixed permanently by merely rebooting the phone, which was connected by wifi to the router at the time I upgraded the build which is probably what caused that problem. No other problems detected.

(Edit: the problem with the phone still happens after all. I'm blaming it more on the older version of Android on the phone, 5.0, and its older hardware/firmware than on this DD-WRT build though. My newer laptop is connected via wifi and has never had a problem at all so far. Maybe it's time to get a new phone (current one is a Samsung Galaxy S5 that's beginning to fall apart.) Meanwhile I'll just disconnect/reconnect wifi on it as needed.)
wishmasterf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Test results with wnr-3500L v1?
denislen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
asus rt-n10u black

no usb-flash support for ext2/ext3/fat
silekonn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 13:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Glitch displaying values for some fields in Web UI. This could be a security problem. My device's username is the value in the first field.

https://imgur.com/a/Ci3srxZ

has some examples. The device, a WNDR4000 with K3X 37582 Mega (NV64K) is functional. Clicking the field displays the invalid input prompt (sometimes repeatedly) then corrects the field for the appropriate value.

This bug was present at least as far back as 35531.

Troubleshooting or logs on request. Thank you for this great project.
iamcoolj83
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Unable to get 300mbps tx rates with e3000 ddwrt37305 k3.x with same config than with k26 exact same build "on k26 37305 300mbps ran fine, tried latest build 38??? remain the same.
thommy181
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 17
Location: Szczecin, Poland EU

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:02    Post subject: WNR3500l v2 bricked Reply with quote
My router Netgear WNR 3500 l v2 bricked after flash with this file: https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2019/03-11-2019-r39144/broadcom_K3X/dd-wrt.v24-39144_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNR3500Lv2.chk Actualy I have boot loop and I can't have any available to router. It is on IP 192.168.1.1 with ttl=100 and after 3-4 pings is boot loop. I can't to debrick device cause I can't flash router via tftp. I try to hard reset with small button, but it don't fix the problem. My flashing proces was from ssh and it end with done information. Then I'm type erase nvram command and reboot. Now device is bricked. I'm flashed from https://dd-wrt.com/support/other-downloads/?path=betas%2F2019%2F02-06-2019-r38581%2Fnetgear-wnr3500lv2%2F How is hint for repair the device
bkaskar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:12    Post subject: DD-WRT v3.0-r38580M kongac (02/05/19) on RT-AC5300 working Reply with quote
Hi,
First of all, I would like to start with Thanking all the Senior members along with BS and Kong for your support, continuous efforts and dedication that you have bestowed over the years. Please let me know if I should post my question in the Advanced Networking section instead of here. Since I am trying out the basic functionality for DD-WRT v3.0-r38580M kongac build on ASUS RT-AC5300, I thought this would be more appropriate forum.

I plan to put a UTM with pfSense between Spectrum modem and this router. But this was my first attempt to run DDWRT on an ASUS. I've used DD-WRT on WRT54Gv2 with SD_Mod back in the days but got swayed between ISP boxes as 'life happens' and ASUS RT-AC series. I got tired after the GFBR network box and started looking for options last year. when I got hold of the RT-AC5300 that I'm working on.

When I tried the very first time flashing this build, I already had Merlin RT-AC5300_384.9 installed. So I reflashed back to ASUS official 3.0.0.4_384_45149-g467037b. On first attempt, the admin UI didn't load after the FW upload and reboot. It took about 3 tries. On the 3rd hard-reset I got the CFE mini browser. Then, I was able to get DD-WRT v3.0-r38580M kongac via the ASUS CFE minibrowser. I ran this build plain vanilla (it's anything but plain!) without any issues for a month. For a default household with couple of computers, smart and streaming devices on one subnet it just works!!
So Thank you :hug:

Now it was time to take a step ahead and really start using DD-WRT as it's meant for. But my first attempt on creating VLANs and bridging them to VAPs failed. That's why I decided to post this issue here instead of Advanced Networking section.

I've read all the posted stickys (and a few other posts) of this section.
My issue is - breaking out each WiFi and its VAPs separately is not working. All radios work fine when on br0 but when I break them out individually in separate bridges (even before adding/applying FW rules) the routing doesn't work. I can't get to WAN. I didn't see getting an IP assigned from the subnet SSID to which I connected.

Code:
root@RTRDDWRT01:~# brctl show
bridge name     bridge id               STP enabled     interfaces
br0             8000.0d----0b--e0       no              eth1
                                                        vlan1
br1             8000.0d----0b--e0       yes             wl0.1
br2             8000.0d----0b--e0       yes             wl0.2
br3             8000.0d----0b--e0       yes             wl1.1
br4             8000.0d----0b--e0       yes             eth2
br5             8000.0d----0b--e0       yes             eth3
root@RTRDDWRT01:~# cat /tmp/dnsmasq.conf
interface=br0,br1,br2,br3,br4,br5
resolv-file=/tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
strict-order
dhcp-leasefile=/jffs/dnsmasq.leases
dhcp-lease-max=352
dhcp-option=br0,3,192.168.1.1
dhcp-option=br1,3,192.168.13.1
dhcp-option=br2,3,192.168.21.1
dhcp-option=br3,3,192.168.27.1
dhcp-option=br4,3,192.168.40.1
dhcp-option=br5,3,192.168.70.1
dhcp-authoritative
dhcp-range=br0,192.168.1.100,192.168.1.149,255.255.255.0,1440m
dhcp-range=br1,192.168.13.16,192.168.13.45,255.255.255.240,1440m
dhcp-range=br2,192.168.21.32,192.168.21.77,255.255.255.240,1440m
dhcp-range=br3,192.168.27.48,192.168.27.109,255.255.255.240,1440m
dhcp-range=br4,192.168.40.64,192.168.40.157,255.255.255.224,1440m
dhcp-range=br5,192.168.70.130,192.168.70.199,255.255.255.0,1440m
bogus-priv
proxy-dnssec
stop-dns-rebind

So far I have only made changes from the UI.

I've followed the wiki https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Multiple_WLANs and before that thoroughly read https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports as I was planning to bridge VLANs to these bridges next.. but got stuck at the very first step itself. There is /jffs on USB and optware initialized. Other than that, there are no changes in any other tab.
If I'm doing something wrong, a trained eye would catch it in a wink. So please suggest if it is broken or there is something I am missing?

Thank you so much for your time.
-bk


Last edited by bkaskar on Mon Jul 01, 2019 22:37; edited 2 times in total
bkaskar
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 5:35    Post subject: Solced Reply with quote
Hi Again, I found my issue(s) STP was set to ON in the assignment sections. Please let me know if that was not the issue..
Then the vlan*hwnames were also not setup for each of the VLANs.



Apart from Switched Ports and Multiple VLANs wiki mentioned above, I'd suggest (to noobs like me Laughing ) first read all VLAN and detached network wiki(s).
And posts as VLAN config, Updated Guide: How to correctly configure <- this really helped.

Now I have 2 questions:
1. I have my basic setup working and as mentioned in the previous post, I plan to do the routing using utm. Then this device will just be an AP. So I would like to know if I define VLANs in the utm, how do I bridge them with the radios/VAPs I defined in my AP? I would like to know how DNSMasq/DHCP setup will change?
2. While creating VAPs and VLANs over UI, I noticed, at times an extra set of VAP and VLAN gets created e.g. wl0.1.3 and vlan3.3 etc. Is that a known bug (if it is a bug), I noticed those additional set appearing right after I added tagging. Did anyone else notice that?

Thanks
-bk
jkyawesome
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Nov 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 21:08    Post subject: E1200 ver2 no repeater, virtual interface unreliable Reply with quote
E1200 router flashed with latest dd-wrt.v24-37305_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k build. When I try to connect to virtual interface which is the AP it is unreliable with no security and useless with WPA2.
I have tried other builds with the same problems. I have tried with windows 10 clients, Iphone clients, other clients no luck.
If I configure in AP mode regular router all clients connect perfectly.
I would like clients to connect to virtual interface as reliably as physical interface.

Thanks
JKY Awesome
jkyawesome
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Nov 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried the mini build same version and the virtual SSID is broadcast when the security is disabled, but the virtual SSID is not broadcast if security is enabled.

On the mega build the virtual SSID is broadcast whether security is enabled or not. but the clients cannot associate with security enabled
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7120
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
jkyawesome wrote:
I tried the mini build same version and the virtual SSID is broadcast when the security is disabled, but the virtual SSID is not broadcast if security is enabled.

On the mega build the virtual SSID is broadcast whether security is enabled or not. but the clients cannot associate with security enabled


Post in the corresponding new build thread.
This is old.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 54, 55, 56 Display posts from previous:    Page 56 of 56
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum