Router model: WR1043NDV2.1 highlatency sat link.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Randall45
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:50    Post subject: Router model: WR1043NDV2.1 highlatency sat link. Reply with quote
TL-WR1043ND v2 use this as a standard router on a home network. ISP is Xplornet Via sat with latency of overage 800ms+.Router runs fine pretty well all day and then bogs down and requires a soft boot. This issue in not limited to my wr1043nd v2 but a dir615 E3 and a asus RTN12B1. Have tried factory
, dd-wrt, tomatoe, and merlin. Much the same results. Modem and Tria have been replaced and certified, Any questions or more hopefully suggestions would be much appreciated.
Randy
Sponsor
h-cross
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Location: Thessaloniki

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.vsat-systems.com/satellite-internet-explained/latency.html
_________________
2 x Linksys WRT54GL v1.1
1 x Linksys WRT54G v2.2 [Dual WAN]
1 x Linksys E2500
Randall45
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
h-cross wrote:
http://www.vsat-systems.com/satellite-internet-explained/latency.html


I'm aware of what causes the high latency. When we were using Hughes we never had the issue of the router slowly seizing up. Both the d-link and Asus worked fine on Hughes KA sat. It's just since we were switched to ViaSat. Same bird as Excide uses across the US. Just wondering if there is any special changes I should be making, such as MTU, etc.
jsebean
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 183
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Randall45 wrote:
h-cross wrote:
http://www.vsat-systems.com/satellite-internet-explained/latency.html


I'm aware of what causes the high latency. When we were using Hughes we never had the issue of the router slowly seizing up. Both the d-link and Asus worked fine on Hughes KA sat. It's just since we were switched to ViaSat. Same bird as Excide uses across the US. Just wondering if there is any special changes I should be making, such as MTU, etc.

No.

Xplornet is a rubbish provider. End of story Razz

_________________
Want to get ahold of me? Contact me via one of the links here: http://jseb.ca/ or join our discord at http://discord.teamecmb.com/
---
Current Router Setup:
Linksys WRT1900AC version 2 running DD-WRT v3.0-r29020M kongmv (02/04/16)
jsebean
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 183
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
To elaborate a little further since it's probably not the answer you were looking for.

Xplornet has always had congestion issues... especially during peak hours. They have complex ITMPs which you can look up on their website where they will often throttle you for a short period of time after "x amount of usage". Their network is often overloaded during peak hours... and did I mention they're a rubbish provider? Cool

The fact that you mention you've tried numerous routers and firmwares obviously shows it's not a router problem. I'd suggest if you have higher than normal latency issues to call and complain to your ISP.. but who am I kidding. I'd never do business with that company. Our community operated a CAP site here in Nova Scotia a few years ago with them and it was terrible. Xplornets performance here in Canada and Exede are two different things Razz

It is possible however that perhaps your dish is slightly out of line... so when clouds go over it attenuates the signal more than normal (although cloud cover will always have an influence after a fashion). So calling might help your situation.

_________________
Want to get ahold of me? Contact me via one of the links here: http://jseb.ca/ or join our discord at http://discord.teamecmb.com/
---
Current Router Setup:
Linksys WRT1900AC version 2 running DD-WRT v3.0-r29020M kongmv (02/04/16)
Randall45
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2015 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
jsebean wrote:
To elaborate a little further since it's probably not the answer you were looking for.

Xplornet has always had congestion issues... especially during peak hours. They have complex ITMPs which you can look up on their website where they will often throttle you for a short period of time after "x amount of usage". Their network is often overloaded during peak hours... and did I mention they're a rubbish provider? Cool

The fact that you mention you've tried numerous routers and firmwares obviously shows it's not a router problem. I'd suggest if you have higher than normal latency issues to call and complain to your ISP.. but who am I kidding. I'd never do business with that company. Our community operated a CAP site here in Nova Scotia a few years ago with them and it was terrible. Xplornets performance here in Canada and Exede are two different things Razz

It is possible however that perhaps your dish is slightly out of line... so when clouds go over it attenuates the signal more than normal (although cloud cover will always have an influence after a fashion). So calling might help your situation.


Thanks, Not much I was not aware of before. I live out in the boonies and do not have much choice. Would have to chainsaw a ton of trees to get wireless. I was a certified Hughes Installer in the past and never had this problem. Something to do with ViaSat and Xplornet. They used to recommend changing the MTU down to 1400. Any comments ?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum